We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place for a Wee Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Best Place for a Wee Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Was brought here one April weekend at the start of Spring a few years ago, and the memory of this place has stayed with me ever since! The staff are so friendly, and the kitchen is large and perfect for cooking lunch or whatever. Also, the Carrick-a-rede Bridge is within walking distance and the harbour is just down the road. Bring a jacket as the sea can send a cold breeze every once in a while.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    21
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
7
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batemans Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

To Josie and Shamus and Aileen once again nice to return after 11 years and find them so friendly. Just a treasure of a spot. Nobody could be unhappy here. You could stay a week or more as is it so close to many natural attractions. Plus the historic Bushmills Brewery.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara255316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

What can I say. It's perfect located, cheap, and very friendly hostel. We took ensuite, and was just enough. Nothing special, but nothing bad. View is brilliant, and local pubs just perfect. Sheamus is one of the best old time singers I ever heard, and I mean it. So just go there and take a pint of Guinness and just hear it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morthimor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bnkimbe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

We arrived well after the sun had set, and drove to the front of the main house where we could spy a white-haired man napping on his couch in front of the TV. We tapped, and he didn't stir. Finally, he came to greet us with the friendliest demeanor we could expect for such a late arrival. His daughter showed us to our room where our friends were waiting, and we had the whole place to ourselves (apparently, the chilly December weather scares off tourists). We had to drive 10 minutes to Ballycastle for food, but the pub in Ballintoy offered creamy Guinness and an opportunity to spy on the locals. We woke the next morning to a spectacular view of the Northern Irish coast, green grass, and lots of woolly sheep. We drove to Giant's Causeway, took a trek to the famous rope bridge, and our friends visited the whiskey distillery in Ballycastle. It was magnificent. I highly recommend this hostel for a comfy, quiet stay in the off-season, and Shamus will really brighten your day if you find the opportunity to bump into him. Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnkimbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 1 night. We drove to the hostel after it became dark, and were pleasantly surprised the next morning when we walked out of the hostel. The view from the front is amazing. We had never seen such beautiful hills and sparkling sea. Also, the location of the hostel was great. It was minutes away from the Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge. It is also a great place to stay for a visit to the Giant’s Causeway. We were given a private room with a bathroom, although we only paid for 2 beds in a dorm room. The only negative, it offered no breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lutzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

Bring your own food. (There is a large Tesco (like a Walmart) near Ballymear just south of Ballycastle.) No good restaurants in town according to others in town. You can get some expensive simple foods at one of the pubs. Great kitchen for cooking and a large TV room to relax. Staff does not expect you to check in before 5 pm and may not accommodate you until then. Staff is generally "not there" at all. I waited an hour to find someone to check in. However, it was off season and it was a rainy day so I didn't think they were unreasonable. For 12 pounds ($24 American or $16 Euro, I would have expected linens or a breakfast. No linens other than the mattress liner and the quilt. No breakfast even though my reservation stated otherwise. Ample and safe off street parking. Clean. Very quiet. Good views. Spacious. Close to the Giant Causeways and the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge. There were other hostels in town. If you don't need parking, you may check them out first.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsysince72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

This is my 3rd time staying at this hostel, and this time i brought my mother with us, Shamus and Josy are first class hosts,friendly , accommodating, couldn't do enough for you. We stayed in the "house", very pleased with rooms, kitchen large to accommodate a lot of guests. My mum(74-yold) was that pleased with the hostel she wants to come back on her own!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lennydixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
0.0 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.1 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
6.3 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
4.4 mi away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#7 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
6.3 mi away
Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center

Property: Sheep Island View Hostel and Conference Center
Address: 42A Main Street | Ballintoy, Ballycastle BT54 6LX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Sheep Island View Hostel And Conference Center Ballycastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing