We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility. Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
97 reviews
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility.
Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Tree lined approach
Welcome pack of locally produced bread, preserves and fresh eggs
Picnic table and BBQ
The Bothy oozes cottage charm
Fully equipped kitchen
Curl up and unwind in front of the log burning stove
Relax in front of the Log burning stove with TV, DVD, board games ,free Wi-fi and books.
Twin bedroom with option of super-king
Comfortable beds with scatter cushions and high quality linens
Deluge shower in bathroom over bath.
Private garden and picnic table
Whitepark Bay
Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge
Rathlin Island
Dunluce Castle
Giants Causeway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 97 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
samuel m
Hondon de los Frailes, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The bothy was everything we expected it to be and more. We arrived on a cold wet windy day to be met by the owner. When we entered the cottage we were met with a warming log fire. The table was set with fresh baked bread , scones and Jam. It is perfactly situated for visiting all the tourist attractions in the area. The back garden which was for our use was a bird watchers paradise. The only down side was we only had a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Thrilled that the Bothy was everything you expected and more and that you had a lovely time.
Do hope we will see you again!

Warmest regards from us both,
April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolaineAw...
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“The perfect home away from home!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at The Bothy for two weeks in June with our small boys and it was wonderful. April and Neil were wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and more to make our stay very comfortable. The cottage was super cozy and clean. The beds were super comfortable and we all had wonderful sleeps while there. We couldn't have asked for a better, more lovely place to come home to every evening after a day of sight seeing. I would definitely recommend The Bothy to anyone.
Thank you again April and Neil!! We have spoken often of The Bothy and will always remember fondly the hospitality you showed us while we were visiting.
PS - The homemade scones and the lit fireplace was such a wonderfully warm welcome after our very long, long journey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm, cozy, and quiet.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your super review and we are always pleased and relieved to hear that our guests have had a lovely time and have returned home with fond memories of their stay at The Bothy.
It was lovely meeting you all and if you return to this part of the world please come and stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barossaba...
Tanunda
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Only had 2 nights here but could have stayed a month. Best bed we had on a 3 week trip, the owner was so friendly and helpful, and the cottage has everything you would need. Don't need to say much more really, if you get the chance just book it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the home made scones
Liked least: The lounge was a bit hard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
Please come back again soon!
We love to hear such positive feedback, thank you so much.

Warmest regards from us both,

April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonRambo
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Friendly, charming cottage”
Reviewed 30 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Cosy cottage a few miles outside Ballycastle. It's been recently renovated so the fittings, décor and furniture are of a high standard. There's a good mixture of modern (wifi, well equipped kitchen) with tradition (log and peat burning stove). Big garden, easy parking and safe for children. The family that own The Bothy live on the same plot, and are very welcoming and manage the bookings in a professional manner.
It is an easy to drive to the sites on the Antrim coast. We visited with two small children and it was a perfect size for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Log burning stove
Liked least: This is a nice place: just be aware that the two bedrooms are fairly small, as is to be expected in a bothy.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are always pleased to hear that our guests are happy and enjoy the comfort and cosy atmosphere of our traditional cottage.
The beautiful coast and all it has to offer continues to attract guests from all over the world.
We do hope you will come and see us again soon.

Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyn77...
Greater Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

fantastic place to stay for a self catering cottage in Ireland. Off the main road, very quiet. Home cooked bread, marmalade, scones, jam and cream on arrival. Lovely back area to explore. Close to a lot of main tourist points in Northern Ireland. Would recommend this to any one for a beautiful, peaceful stay in Northern Ireland

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Small Bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a kind review and we are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed our little cottage and all the North Antrim coast has to offer.
Hope to see you again.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare S
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful country cottage, everything down to the last detail was perfect.”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed our stay in this little cottage. After a long drive it was lovely to arrive to a lit stove and homemade scones and jam by the owner April. She has thought of everything you could possibly need for your stay and the decor of the cottage is gorgeous. The pictures don't do it enough justice. We would definitely like to go back sometime and will be recommending to our friends. Also if anyone is looking for a local taxi whiles staying here, I have to recommend noddys taxi, he was so friendly and looked after us all weekend anytime we called. Can't wait to go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
It was lovely to read your kind review of our little cottage and as always great to hear that you want to come back again and are happy to recommend The Bothy to your friends.
So pleased to get such positive feedback on Paddy's Taxie, I will pass it on.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann L
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“May Day at the Bothy”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A charming little cottage in the middle of the country near to all local attractions. The cottage is in beautiful condition was spotless a warm welcome of homemade scones, wheaten bread, homemade jam and cream was waiting on our arrival. April was very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for her. The cottage was quaint with its own large garden and well of the road. The interior was to a traditional character but with all the modern amenities and a proper working Wi Fi. A true 5 star hotel in a cottage, would stay again and recommend to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: The weather.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2015
It was lovely to meet you and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We've just passed our annual inspection by the Tourist Board have have retained our 4 stars. Hurrah!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing