We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!”
other travellers have booked this property
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility. Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility.
Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Tree lined approach
Welcome pack of locally produced bread, preserves and fresh eggs
Picnic table and BBQ
The Bothy oozes cottage charm
Fully equipped kitchen
Curl up and unwind in front of the log burning stove
Relax in front of the Log burning stove with TV, DVD, board games ,free Wi-fi and books.
Twin bedroom with option of super-king
Comfortable beds with scatter cushions and high quality linens
Deluge shower in bathroom over bath.
Private garden and picnic table
Whitepark Bay
Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge
Rathlin Island
Dunluce Castle
Giants Causeway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AliWatt
Gilford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Simply gorgeous cottage, ideal for that perfect weekend away! Beautiful interior and spotlessly clean. Lovely hospitality in form of home-made wheaten bread and marmalade. Also yummy afternoon cream tea on arrival! We would go back at the drop of a hat. Such a super find!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
So very happy you enjoyed your stay in our little cottage and thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review needless to say we love the cottage and it makes it really special to hear such kind words of encouragement please come back again!

Warmest regards,

April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coast-coa...
2 reviews
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A most charming little cottage just 4 miles from ballycastle. We stayed here for a week with our 11month old daughter, Our host April has everything catered for here even down to supplying a changing mat. The place is spotless inside and the attention to detail is second to none. We have stayed in a number of other similar cottages in the past but this one wins hands down. Fresh bread on arrival and the fire lit , can't be faulted

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2016
It was great to meet you all and I am delighted the Bothy provided all you needed to have a relaxing holiday.
Thank you for all your kind words, it means a great deal to know that you had everything to make your holiday a relaxing time and that you enjoyed the little extra touches.
Delighted you are coming back, see you soon.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel O
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family Party”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Very warm welcome from April on arrival, excellent accommodation and location despite the snow when we arrived. Highly recommend this cottage and would quite happily stay again in the future.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
We enjoyed meeting you and are so pleased that you had a lovely holiday and it is super to hear that you would come back again. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronniemag...
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A total gem of a cottage that everyone should experience at least once!”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My wife and I stayed in The Bothy with our 2 boys (aged 4 & 2) as a treat to ourselves after Christmas was ruined due to illness. The weekend stay at the Bothy easily helped us all get over the Christmas blues and we had one of the best , most relaxing, enjoyable weekends we can remember. The boys were entertained with the games, dvds and books which where available and we had access to wifi for their tablets. The lit log fire and the scones and wheaten on arrival set the tone for the weekend. The cottage is warm, clean, and cosy with everything done to a very high spec. The beds are the most comfortable I have EVER slept in and my 2 yr old son agrees as he slept all night both nights(something he neglects to do at home)! There is a very special feeling in this cottage and I can only advise anyone looking for somewhere to stay in this area to book it quick, you will have no regrets.
We have recommended this cottage to all our friends and family and will definitely be back again soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2016
Thank you both so much for your lovely review which made me smile. We are so pleased that you loved the cottage and that you and the children were able to relax and unwind fully.
Always happy to get feed back and pleased to hear that all slept well.
Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to meeting your family and friends.

Warmest regards,

April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn L
1 review
“Christmas at the Bothy”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have stayed at the Bothy in May,and my review is the same as before,
everything you need ,a friendly welcome with tea scones,cream and jam.
The log fire lite,everything you need for a cold day.The cottage is spotless
and has everything you need for modern day comforts.I would recommend
to anyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2015
Thank you again for another lovely review and it was lovely to be able to welcome you both back again.
Hope you had a lovely Christmas and every best wish for a Happy New Year.
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place for a quiet getaway”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Just a few words about our stay at the Bothy. We met April our host as we arrived at the self catering cottage for our weekend getaway. April was very polite and showed us around the accommodation to help familiarize us with the facilities. On arrival, April had set out for us a lovely creamed tea, consisting of, tea, scones, jam, butter and cream. The most amazing wheaten bread and homemade marmalade was also waiting for us in the kitchen. First impressions of the Bothy from the outside was its traditional old world charm. A whitewashed cottage which at one time would have been a very familiar site throughout this part of county Antrim. Inside, it was clean, tidy and very homely. The cottage is set well off the main road so it was quiet and peaceful throughout our stay. In the main living room there was a wood burning stove which had plenty of wood and turf for us to use. It was nice to be able to sit there in the evening and snuggle up by the fire. The kitchen facilities were more than sufficient, and we were able to cook our meals without hassle. We had hot water on tap and the shower was a powerful overhead type, which was especially useful after our long walks along the north Antrim coast. All in all, we could not have asked for a more charming place to rest our weary heads for a couple of nights. We had a lovely time at the Bothy and look forward to our return with great anticipation.

Thank you April,

Robert and Lee x

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage charming.It was lovely meeting you both and I look forward to welcoming you again.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TD2311
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real find - a true treasure.”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Having driven through sleet and snow, to arrive to a roaring log fire, fresh flowers and home made scones was the perfect welcome to our all too short stay at The Bothy. The cottage comfortably accommodated 2 adults and 2 teens and has been thoughtfully and extremely tastefully restored to provide a perfect retreat. There is everything you could possibly need provided and it is in a superb location to explore the North Antrim coast and beyond. The welcome pack is one of the most generous we have ever come across and was especially welcome as time had not allowed for us to stop at a supermarket en route so it was wonderful to have the breakfast essentials provided. Would definitely recommend to others and fully intend to return for a longer stay asap.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We were only there two nights - wished it could have been for longer.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review and we very much look forward to seeing you again.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing