We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couldn't be more perfect!”
other travellers have booked this property
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility. Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
99 reviews
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility.
Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Tree lined approach
Welcome pack of locally produced bread, preserves and fresh eggs
Picnic table and BBQ
The Bothy oozes cottage charm
Fully equipped kitchen
Curl up and unwind in front of the log burning stove
Relax in front of the Log burning stove with TV, DVD, board games ,free Wi-fi and books.
Twin bedroom with option of super-king
Comfortable beds with scatter cushions and high quality linens
Deluge shower in bathroom over bath.
Private garden and picnic table
Whitepark Bay
Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge
Rathlin Island
Dunluce Castle
Giants Causeway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 99 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Scott B
2 reviews
“Couldn't be more perfect!”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage was in a very quiet location with beautiful gardens. The cottage itself was perfect for us as a family. More than fully equipped and importantly very clean. Owner very helpful and friendly. Ideal location for exploring the coastline. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again. Thanks for a lovely couple of nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
I am thrilled to hear that that you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage perfect.
Thank you for your lovely review and I hope we will see you again soon.
Warmest regards,
April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleyand...
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our second visit to the Bothy and it was just as perfect as the last time. We stayed for 7 nights this time and we had such a fantastic holiday. The Bothy has everything and more you need in a self catering unit. It is perfectly located for exploring the area and is the perfect place to chill out and relax.. The visit to Island of Raithlin was definitely recommended. April and Neil were the ideal hosts as before and nothing was too much trouble. We were sorry when it was time to leave but we are already planning a return visit next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
It was lovely to see you both again and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much.
Looking forward to seeing you both again soon. Thank you for such a lovely helpful review.
Warmest regards,
April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollyBowl
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well located, countryside retreat”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Bothy was well situated for trips to the giant's causeway, Bushmills distillery, Glenariff and the coast. It was possible and affordable to get a taxi to the distillery and also to the town of Portrush where we went for a lovely meal one night at Ramore. The Bothy itself had a fantastically well kitted-out kitchen which is rare in self-catering places that we've stayed in. Everything we needed was there plus a delightful cream tea on arrival. What a lovely touch! April, Neil and Lucy (the Labrador) were friendly and there if needed but also didn't encroach on us at all. The Bothy was cosy and comfy and offered a perfect base from which to explore. The shower was another highlight, lovely and powerful and hot!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a most helpful review.
It was lovely meeting you and I hope you will return sometime in the future.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara W
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“HEAVEN ON EARTH”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

It was an absolute delight to stay in The Bothy. The cottage was so cosy and totally relaxing and the décor was just perfect. The kitchen in particular was very well equipped and all those little extra touches such as wheaten bread, scones, jam, cream etc were much appreciated (thank you April) and it was lovely to sit by the woodburning fire and chill. We both look forward to returning again to The Bothy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review and we are very happy to hear that you had everything you needed during your stay.
Not only is it great to get feedback but brilliant news to hear that you will be back!.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joytree
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely and cosy”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My husband and I were looking for a little place in the countryside to spend a couple of nights as part of a birthday celebration, and the Bothy turned out to be the perfect location. It exceeded our hopes and expectations. April's welcoming touches were delightful, and we really enjoyed our stay. The weather was terrible, but the Bothy was cosy and we were glad to be indoors. It felt like a little home rather than a holiday house.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
It was kind of you to write a review and I am so pleased The Bothy exceeded your hopes and expectations , that's what I love to hear!
Do hope we will see you again.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulconno...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply stunning!”
Reviewed 19 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cottage is simply stunning! Every detail is to the highest standard. The scones jam and cream on arrival, the homemade wheaten bread and marmalade are superb. Words cannot really do this cottage justice, has to be visited to fully appreciate. April is a fantastic host. Hopefully the first of many trips to 'The Bothy' !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2017
You can imagine my delight reading that you found our little cottage "Simply stunning" and equally delighted that you plan to come back to The Bothy. IIt was lovely meeting you and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Thank you for writing a lovely review.
Warmest regards, April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G
Lisburn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage is so cosy and April has thought of every detail . The welcome pack and fire lite on.arrival are so thoughtful. The setting is perfect for a relaxing break and the cottage is a great place to unwind with friends or family, I will certainly be recommending it to others and hope to return with my family again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2017
I am delighted to hear that you found our little cottage so cosy and relaxing and were able to unwind, which is just what we want to hear!
Looking forward to welcoming you back again and thank you for such a lovely review.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing