We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy, relaxing cottage with magical garden for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility. Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Escape in the tranquility and rural beauty
Enjoy relaxing in front of the log burning stove, reading your book or just soak up the tranquility.
Welcoming afternoon tea at The Bothy.
Tree lined approach
Welcome pack of locally produced bread, preserves and fresh eggs
Picnic table and BBQ
The Bothy oozes cottage charm
Fully equipped kitchen
Curl up and unwind in front of the log burning stove
Relax in front of the Log burning stove with TV, DVD, board games ,free Wi-fi and books.
Twin bedroom with option of super-king
Comfortable beds with scatter cushions and high quality linens
Deluge shower in bathroom over bath.
Private garden and picnic table
Whitepark Bay
Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge
Rathlin Island
Dunluce Castle
Giants Causeway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballycastle, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Cosy, relaxing cottage with magical garden for exploring.”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Bothy. April was so inviting & the cream tea was delicious. The cottage was beautifully decorated & so charming. The garden was a great place for our 4 year old to explore & look for fairies. A great place to stay & explore the North Coast & the lovely town of Ballycastle. We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2017
Wonderful to hear that you will be back to our little cottage and that you enjoyed your holiday on our beautiful coast. The Faries have been busy in the woodland garden, we discovered a fairy door in a tree the other day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian A
2 reviews
“A relaxing stay in a gorgeous location”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed with friends at The Bothy. Lovely place - couldn't recommend highly enough. Great welcome from April. The weather was bad, but it really didn't matter. Perfect relaxing break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
It was lovely meeting you and great to hear you had a relaxing time inspite of the wet weather.
Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review and I hope we will see you all again.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasha73
lee on solent
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A relaxing haven @ The Bothy”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We are so pleased we chose to stay at the Bothy. It is a very well equipped cottage in a fantastic location for exploring Northern Ireland. Everything was perfect when we arrived...so clean and welcoming. Easy to find as good directions had been given beforehand. A good sized cottage with lovely welcoming owners. Hope to stay here again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Very happy to hear that you found the Bothy at Balnaholish perfect and that you hope to come back. We would love to welcome you back.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barney D
East Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Traditional Irish cottage”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Located just outside Ballycastle a great location for touring. The hosts Neil and April have created a little piece of Paradise, somewhere to relax and chill out. The attention to detail is amazing with you needs anticipated and met. Take a wish and your needs will be granted.

A place you will want to revisit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your holiday at The Bothy. Delighted to hear that you had everything you needed to make it a relaxing holiday and that you will be back.
Warmest regards,
April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel t
1 review
“Wonderful cottage, and fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you are thinking of visiting Northern Ireland then the Bothy at Balnaholish is the perfect place to stay. The cottage is full of character, with a large country garden, superbly furnished throughout with importantly very comfortable beds. The kitchen and bathroom are also of the highest standard. It's a credit to the owners Neil and April. Talking of whom, Neil and April both did a wonderful job of making you feel at home right away and they provided us with lots of invaluable advice. The cottage is in a great location just outside of Ballycastle and within easy reach of all the sites and attractions along the Antrim coast. In short we had a fantastic time and look forward to returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for writing us a great review and it's super to hear that you not only found the beds very comfortable but had everything you needed to enjoy your holiday. I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warmest regards from us both.
April and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Thank you Bel for your lovely review and it was a pleasure meeting you both. We have ordered the plants for the woods, which will make it even pretti Hope you will come back one day.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Westward3...
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Won't disappoint”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked The Bothy because of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and we were delighted to see that it lived up to all the praise. Decor, furnishings and equipment were all high quality, beds were very comfortable and it was lovely to have a fire ready for us to light as the evenings were rather cool for June. All the welcoming touches of fresh baked scones, bread and home -made preserves as well as staples such as milk, butter and eggs were much appreciated. It was a great place to stay while exploring the wonderful North Antrim coast.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2017
Very happy to hear that you were delighted with The Bothy and that it lived up to all your expectations.It was lovely meeting you both and we look forward to welcoming you back should you decide to book the Bothy.
Warmest regards,
April
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing