We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beginnings and great potential” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marine Hotel Ballycastle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good beginnings and great potential”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights over the Twelth. The weather was glorious which brought with it a lot of unexpected customers, residents and passing footfall but they coped admirably. The staff are mostly young and inexperienced.. They lack that certain catering finesse and experience at this stage but I found that charming and indeed I don't think anyone expected the influx of visitors they had as the hotel is only recently reopened after a 3 year closure. What they lacked in training was more than compensated by big bright smiles, great manners and explanations when things ran a bit slow. Meals in Marconi were of a tasty bistro style. The fish tasted of the sea it was so fresh. The breakfast was wonderful. Big bowls of freshly cut fruit- not the tinned variety you are often served up in hotels. The rooms were large and comfortable ( 205) though with sea view rooms can get a bit noisy but that's grand because you are there on holidays and can get a lie in. Overall this hotel has made a great start and will be an asset to the area- not least as it will bring employment to the area and if they are wise and recruit locally, they will gain a loyal following from the local communities which will keep it afloat during the leaner winter months. All in all, a great experience and I will enjoy returning to see how their training has progressed under less pressure- but please, don't get too posh. The big smiles and easy ambience of the staff and hotel is what gives it it's charm and identity in these times of the big conglomerates!! Well done to all.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms great- but not if you don't like the sound of traffic and people enjoying themselv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. We have employed approximately 75 staff for the busy period and they are all local, we feel this is very important to our local community.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    168
    91
    56
    47
See reviews for
173
225
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
north ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We just ate in the bistro. Must say the service was excellent even though they were under a lot of pressure-the bistro was extremely busy. Good food, all arrived together. The staff were lovely. All very friendly and eager to please. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bcastle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments, I am very pleased to read that you had a good experience at the hotel.

I hope you visit us again soon.

Regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

After spending the day in Rathlin myself and 3 friends decided we would try the Marine for dinner. We sat down and waited a long time before our order was taken. When it was taken the service wasn't very friendly and no drinks order was taken. We waited a further hour and still had no food. Note that a few tables that had sat down some time after us were given what seemed to be a starter and an apology for the wait. In the end we left and staff didn't seem too bothered. One muttered "sorry bout that". We then went to the Anzac and had a fantastic meal with fast and friendly service. I won't be back to the Marine in a hurry!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank chubba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
I am very sorry to read that you had a bad experience in the Hotel and I apologise for this. This was a very busy period for us at the hotel but this should never have happened.

I hope that you will return to the hotel again to give us an opportunity to prove ourselves.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
289 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This bright and cheery seaside location is only a few steps from the Raithlin Island ferry dock, and provides a wonderful venue for Marconi's Bar & Bistro in the recently reopened Marine Hotel. It was a perfect stop for lunch before tackling the rope bridge and Giant's Causeway. Named for the nearby site of Marconi's historic radio broadcast to Raithlin in 1896, there's no static here. Not a pub but a restaurant proper, the friendly waitstaff spell off one another in service and are quick with menu advice and recommendations for the daily specials. Simple fare are well prepared and tasty, such as the battered cod and chicken guojons, both served with heaping bowls of thick cut fries and tasty rocket and two dips. Pass on the burger on a brioche and go for the open- faced steak sandwich: sizzling sirloin with caramelized onions also with fries and rocket. Since this is sheep country, try the slow roasted lamb shoulder with roasted roots and champ, with a side of mushy peas. Wonderful flavour and very filling. The only way the experience could have been improved would be to serve the dishes simultaneously. With Guinness and wine, £51. Your supper will be light.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khufu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Many thanks for your very kind words, I am delighted you enjoyed your dining experience at the Marine Hotel.

I hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co antrim n ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Arrived at The Marine Hotel for evening meal really looking forward to trying it since it had been reopened after being closed for over a year I think.Bistro menu was limited but we all ordered to be told 10 minutes later that the dish wasn't on now. We reordered long wait then only 2 meals arrived out we were a party of 3 adults.When the waitress checked the computer the 3 rd meal hadn't been ordered and ours was on the table.Must also say we were taking our friend who is in a wheelchair out for a treat and he had to wait until his meal was cooked!!! Poor service throughout from start to finish...Asked for the bill as our friend has careers put him to bed at 10 pm yet again I had to ask twice for the bill and when it came we were charged for 4 meals instead of 3.... This again took some time to sort out !!!We decided on the way home that we wouldn't be in a hurry to return to The Marine Bistro..Staff need to be better trained....Disappointed...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank normary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
I am disappointed that you found your meal and service in our Bistro to be less than satisfactory, on this occasion and I apologize for this. This is most concerning to read and I will, of course address this matter with my team to ensure that we improve our service and deliver the high quality of food and service we always aim to provide at The Marine Hotel.

I hope you will give us a second chance and return to the hotel for another visit.

Kind regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Great location right on the beach close to all the amenities. Lovely friendly staff- couldn't be more helpful. Had dinner in the bistro- food wad exceptional. and the cooked breakfast was second to bone.Great value. Will make a return stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesghunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thanks for your comments, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

My son, daughter and myself booked in for one night in the Marine. Reception staff couldn't do enough for us - full of smiles and enthusiasm all round. In fact that could be said of everyone we met. Plenty of "can do" attitude & if they didn't know the answer - were not afraid to say so & went & asked. Had a lovely Costa coffee in the coffee dock & my son was more than delighted with his hot chocolate! Room was basic but clean & had a breathtaking view. Had a meal in the a la carte restaurant. Food was faultless - delicious & imaginative (butter with dulse in it was not my bag but you can't please everyone! And to be fair an alternative was brought promptly). Smarties Sundaes were a bit hit! Have to say - the family feel of the hotel was perfect. The children had their sports day the morning we left & the waiter in the restaurant encouraged the kids to eat up to improve their chances. Only beaten by the receptionist - who - on check out said "remember kids - it's not about taking part - it's about winning! Well done guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia-hotel-GM, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments, I hope the children enjoyed their sports day.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Patricia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
11.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
12.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
11.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Inn on the Coast
Inn on the Coast
#2 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
16.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
14.5 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#3 of 8 in Portrush
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel Ballycastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel Ballycastle

Property: Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Address: 1-3 North Street, Ballycastle BT54 6BN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel Ballycastle 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Hotel Ballycastle offers an unrivalled seafront location in the heart of the iconic North Antrim Causeway Coast. Boasting 31 bedrooms designed with space and comfort in mind, a fully licensed Bar & Bistro and versatile event space. A short drive from the world famous Giants Causeway, Bushmills Distillery and Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge, with Game of Thrones Film locations on our doorstep including The Dark Hedges and Ballintoy Harbour. Surrounded by the world class golf links of Ballycastle, Portstewart, Castlerock and Royal Portrush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Marine Hotel Ballycastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel And Country Club
Marine Hotel Country
Marine Hotel Ballycastle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing