We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Carvery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Ballycastle, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My partner and I were out for Sunday dinner recently in the Marine and I have to say that the food was lovely, the choice of cold starters were great and there was also a good range of hot starters including sea food chowder and soup to choose from, the choices for the main course was second to none. The selection of deserts were very impressive and the staff were very friendly and attentive. I will most certainly be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocode1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 9 November 2014
Dear Cocode1979,
Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review it is always great to get positive feed back. I have passed on your kind comment to all the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    192
    99
    60
    52
See reviews for
185
249
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Marconi restaurant at the Marine Hotel, Ballycastle, revised its menu recently and the great majority of dishes are gluten-free; this is a great breakthrough by a far-sighted chef. A great many g-free dishes are indistinguishable from those containing gluten (in either appearance or taste), yet any chefs haven't cottoned on to this. Congratulations to the Marine Hotel, and the chef, for their awareness of the growing number of people who are either coeliac of have a gluten sensitivity and seek g-free dishes. And the quality is excellent too! Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Don,
Thank you very much for your kind review, our menu now has over 80% of the dishes available gluten free something which we are very proud of.
Kevin our Executive chef works very hard on providing a varied menu choice for all our customers and we are delighted with his success on the gluten free range.
The team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Ballycastle

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

What a location, local facilities looking very good. Seafront with beach and childrens play area, all well maintained and looking clean.
Hotel let down by weary looking staff, several female waitng staff gave the appearance they had been working non stop for weeks, if you take a table at lunchtime it does not take 20 minutes to be asked "do you want food" after staff walk about and sort out their private lives. Menu dropped on table and 30 seconds later "what do you want"
Male staff member recovered position somewhat, by polite manner.
Whole hotel experience let down by front of house, given the location this place should be booked out 12 months in advance with repeat customers.

Room Tip: Sea view, location location location!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tyroneretired56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Alan r,
Thank you very much for you review, I was very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the hotel, I can assure you that this is not our normal customer service standard as you will see from other reviewers our front of house staff are a very valuable asset in our business. I apologise sincerely and I hope on your next visit to the Marine Hotel you will see our true hospitality.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Attended my brother's wedding in July. So handy to have reception in the town. Relaxed atmosphere throughout the day. The food was excellent and the staff were extremely attentive and efficient. The perfect location for a Ballycastle wedding right on our doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsobelClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear IsobelClarke,

Thank you very much for kind review we were delighted to host your families wedding, I have passed on you kind words to all the team , and we look forward to seeing you at the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballycastle, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked 2 tables at the hotel for a christening at 2pm. Very little food selection left and told that the turkey would be an additional half hour. By 3:30 there was still no turkey and 5 people had not eaten. Disgraceful service from lack of food. Christening day was ruined. Thanks Marine Hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Donna M.
Thank you very much for writing your review, I sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your lunch with us last Sunday. Unfortunately it is very hard to judge what dish will be the most popular on any given day that is why we were out of turkey, but we do offer a wide variety of other dishes including beef, gammon, pork and salmon.
I know that our food and beverage manager spoke with you on the day and offered you a discount, but I would love the opportunity to speak with you in person about your experience, I would be very grate-full if you would contact me by email gm@marinehotelballycastle.com or phone 028 20762222.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

A great location to tour the Antrim coast. The Hotel is excellently placed at the sea front. Car parking to the rear is handy. The initial welcome was very good and the staff throughout the hotel were courteous and very efficient. The lobby and bar restaurant are nice areas. The bedroom was a bit outdated and needs upgrading. Although it was very clean and practical. The breakfast was very good and the Hake Dish in the restaurant was the best fish dish I ever had. Service was first class in the Restaurant. Wifi was a nice plus.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Cjdoc,
Thank you very much for your review, it was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our Hake dish is probably our most popular dish on the menu and its our chefs signature dish.
We have plans for the refurbishment of the rooms later this year so hopefully on your return visit you will see some great improvements.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Sunday Carvery is good only complaint was that some of the food tasted like it had been heated up a few times or on the heat for a while and lost its flavour! Meat was all great, starters and desserts too. Potatoes and veg were a little disappointing but at a carvery you can't expect them to be perfect. Will definitely be back to try carvery again and hopefully give it 5/5 next time. Have ate in marconis a couple of times and food has always been good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Julie J.
Thank you very much for your review, I can assure you that all our food is cooked fresh and that it is never reheated, but you are correct it is under warming lights as all carverys are.
We like to provide a good selection for all courses and vegetables to offer great value for money.
I look forward to reading your next review 5/5 as we are constantly striving for improvements. I am glad you have enjoyed your previous experiences at Marconi's and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
5.1 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
268 reviews
11.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
753 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
#4 of 8 in Portrush
966 reviews
16.4 mi away
Adelphi Portrush
Adelphi Portrush
#1 of 8 in Portrush
694 reviews
23.1 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel Ballycastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel Ballycastle

Property: Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Address: 1-3 North Street, Ballycastle BT54 6BN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel Ballycastle 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Hotel Ballycastle offers an unrivalled seafront location in the heart of the iconic North Antrim Causeway Coast. Boasting 31 bedrooms designed with space and comfort in mind, a fully licensed Bar & Bistro and versatile event space. A short drive from the world famous Giants Causeway, Bushmills Distillery and Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge, with Game of Thrones Film locations on our doorstep including The Dark Hedges and Ballintoy Harbour. Surrounded by the world class golf links of Ballycastle, Portstewart, Castlerock and Royal Portrush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Hotel Ballycastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel And Country Club
Marine Hotel Country
Marine Hotel Ballycastle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing