We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Called in on a Sunday evening and was able to get a table for two without a reservation. I had the bean burrito and he had the cock and bull dish. Was very disappointed that the menu did not clearly state what dishes were suitable for vegetarians..the goats cheese dish had no "V" so didnt know if it was suitable and the Seafood salad did have a "V" but vegetarians don't eat fish! Food didnt take too long in coming to the table, he could have done with a bit more champ so ended up eating some of my bread, which was really nice and would love the recipe. Took a while to get the waiter's attention to get a sweet menu and the bill, though it was a nice spot at the window and we were able to watch the world go by. Would love to give the place another go, but get really irked when Veggie options aren't clearly marked on menus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Therese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Dear ThereseM,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, i was disappointed to read that you felt our menus did not mark which dishes were suitable for vegetarians, we do always try and mark everything that is suitable to all our guests dietary needs including vegetarian and gluten free, but we will certainly look at it again when we are reprinting our new menu for any errors that we may have made.
I am glad you enjoyed your food, and especially our bread, i have asked the chef for the recipe but he said its an old family one and cant give it out.
I do hope that you will return to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

My partner and I were out for Sunday dinner recently in the Marine and I have to say that the food was lovely, the choice of cold starters were great and there was also a good range of hot starters including sea food chowder and soup to choose from, the choices for the main course was second to none. The selection of deserts were very impressive and the staff were very friendly and attentive. I will most certainly be back again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cocode1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Dear Cocode1979,
Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review it is always great to get positive feed back. I have passed on your kind comment to all the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Marconi restaurant at the Marine Hotel, Ballycastle, revised its menu recently and the great majority of dishes are gluten-free; this is a great breakthrough by a far-sighted chef. A great many g-free dishes are indistinguishable from those containing gluten (in either appearance or taste), yet any chefs haven't cottoned on to this. Congratulations to the Marine Hotel, and the chef, for their awareness of the growing number of people who are either coeliac of have a gluten sensitivity and seek g-free dishes. And the quality is excellent too! Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Don I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Don,
Thank you very much for your kind review, our menu now has over 80% of the dishes available gluten free something which we are very proud of.
Kevin our Executive chef works very hard on providing a varied menu choice for all our customers and we are delighted with his success on the gluten free range.
The team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Ballycastle

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

What a location, local facilities looking very good. Seafront with beach and childrens play area, all well maintained and looking clean.
Hotel let down by weary looking staff, several female waitng staff gave the appearance they had been working non stop for weeks, if you take a table at lunchtime it does not take 20 minutes to be asked "do you want food" after staff walk about and sort out their private lives. Menu dropped on table and 30 seconds later "what do you want"
Male staff member recovered position somewhat, by polite manner.
Whole hotel experience let down by front of house, given the location this place should be booked out 12 months in advance with repeat customers.

Room Tip: Sea view, location location location!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Tyroneretired56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Alan r,
Thank you very much for you review, I was very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the hotel, I can assure you that this is not our normal customer service standard as you will see from other reviewers our front of house staff are a very valuable asset in our business. I apologise sincerely and I hope on your next visit to the Marine Hotel you will see our true hospitality.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Attended my brother's wedding in July. So handy to have reception in the town. Relaxed atmosphere throughout the day. The food was excellent and the staff were extremely attentive and efficient. The perfect location for a Ballycastle wedding right on our doorstep.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank IsobelClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear IsobelClarke,

Thank you very much for kind review we were delighted to host your families wedding, I have passed on you kind words to all the team , and we look forward to seeing you at the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked 2 tables at the hotel for a christening at 2pm. Very little food selection left and told that the turkey would be an additional half hour. By 3:30 there was still no turkey and 5 people had not eaten. Disgraceful service from lack of food. Christening day was ruined. Thanks Marine Hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
13  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Donna M.
Thank you very much for writing your review, I sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy your lunch with us last Sunday. Unfortunately it is very hard to judge what dish will be the most popular on any given day that is why we were out of turkey, but we do offer a wide variety of other dishes including beef, gammon, pork and salmon.
I know that our food and beverage manager spoke with you on the day and offered you a discount, but I would love the opportunity to speak with you in person about your experience, I would be very grate-full if you would contact me by email gm@marinehotelballycastle.com or phone 028 20762222.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A great location to tour the Antrim coast. The Hotel is excellently placed at the sea front. Car parking to the rear is handy. The initial welcome was very good and the staff throughout the hotel were courteous and very efficient. The lobby and bar restaurant are nice areas. The bedroom was a bit outdated and needs upgrading. Although it was very clean and practical. The breakfast was very good and the Hake Dish in the restaurant was the best fish dish I ever had. Service was first class in the Restaurant. Wifi was a nice plus.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cjdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHGenManager, General Manager at Marine Hotel Ballycastle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Cjdoc,
Thank you very much for your review, it was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our Hake dish is probably our most popular dish on the menu and its our chefs signature dish.
We have plans for the refurbishment of the rooms later this year so hopefully on your return visit you will see some great improvements.

Kind Regards
Michael
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
5.1 mi away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
292 reviews
11.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bushmills
807 reviews
16.4 mi away
Portrush Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,884 reviews
12.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portballintrae
699 reviews
16.4 mi away
Magherabuoy House Hotel
Magherabuoy House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Portrush
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel Ballycastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel Ballycastle

Address: 1-3 North Street, Ballycastle BT54 6BN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballycastle
Price Range: £74 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel Ballycastle 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Hotel Ballycastle offers an unrivalled seafront location in the heart of the iconic North Antrim Causeway Coast. Boasting 31 bedrooms designed with space and comfort in mind, a fully licensed Bar & Bistro and versatile event space. A short drive from the world famous Giants Causeway, Bushmills Distillery and Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge, with Game of Thrones Film locations on our doorstep including The Dark Hedges and Ballintoy Harbour. Surrounded by the world class golf links of Ballycastle, Portstewart, Castlerock and Royal Portrush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marine Hotel Ballycastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel And Country Club
Marine Hotel Country
Marine Hotel Ballycastle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing