We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Hospitality for Cyclists”

Review of Crannagael House

The house in autumn colours
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house in autumn colours
Dining room Fully fitted kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The house in autumn colours
Dining room
Fully fitted kitchen
Double bedroom
Twin beds
Single bed downstairs
Clancy waiting for the cooking to start!
One of the walks around the grounds - note the red chestnut on the right.
The arboretum
A good year for clematis montana
Geese dozing
Spring time 2016
Autumn has arrived
View from the double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Armagh, County Armagh, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Clunsy
Carrickfergus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hospitality for Cyclists”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Crannagael House while competing in the Tour of Ulster bike race and we can't speak highly enough of facilities or the hosts. Jane & John couldn't do enough to help us and make us feel welcome. From topping up the wood burner each day, to providing fresh produce from the grounds, to accommodating us with bike wash equipment and storage areas they did it all and more!!

Couldn't recommend the place highly enough - and to other keen cyclists it really makes a great base for cycling weekends and the like.

Thanks again Jane & John!

I've no doubt we'll be back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
These guys were just brilliant and we were delighted to host them - real life top quality cyclists who acquitted themselves very well in the bike race - it was the fresh free range eggs that did the trick!! Looking forward to seeing them again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma D
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We recently stayed here for two nights and had a lovely time. The hosts Jane and John are warm and welcoming. It was especially good to arrive to a pre-ordered casserole for dinner served on warmed plates in the comfort of our accommodation, much easier than negotiating a restaurant with a two year old. The little touches like eggs from the farm's own hens for breakfast and a few chocolate ones, as it was Easter, added to the delight. Once the children were tucked up in their beds, made easier by the dark heavy curtains blocking out the sunlight, my husband and I could light the woodburning stove and relax with the rest of the wine we had at dinner. Jane had shown us round the garden on our arrival and we were made to feel very welcome and free to roam. We all enjoyed walking through the apple orchard, following the guinea fowl and meeting Rita the donkey. Cows and sheep were visiting and my children enjoyed looking at all the animals. Not least the two friendly dogs who were happily roaming their family home. On leaving, although a short trip, it feels we are leaving new friends not just accommodation.

On coming home we were less than an hour to the ferry terminal at Belfast, which made for a relaxed journey home.

An email arrived to let us know we forgot a blanket and Jane is going to arrange to send it back. Maybe it was a subconscious effort to make sure we had to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2017
A lovely family with such well behaved children who really enjoyed the freedom of the place. Pity you missed the apple blossom - it is just starting to look its best, and the smell in the evening is amazing!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joz78
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

A delightful find. Gorgeous owners who went over and above to make us feel welcome - bread, marmalade and eggs provided for breakfast along with chocolate treats. The property is on a beautiful farm with furry and feathered friends galore. Such a pleasant escape. We'll definitely be back next time we're in the area. Thoroughly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2016
Was a delight to meet Josie and her fellow band members (plus helpers/driver!) of Tequila Mockingbyrd who are on tour in Ireland. Lovely people - Rita the donkey really appreciated all the attention!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UKNickGui...
Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This rural idyll is geographically well placed to visit the many attractions that the Province offers”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in December 2014

The hosts have cleverly created a perfect ambience in this cosy attachment to a magnificent country house. The property is well presented, being tastefully furnished and warmed by an efficient log burner. The hosts are welcoming and always helpful without being intrusive. Nestling on the edge of a very old Bramlery Apple orchard within an attractive rural area this really is a great place to unwind, relax and re-charge one's battery. The location offers: Attractive walks, in particular around the area of Ardress House; a nearby golf course at Loughall; easy access to the City of Armagh; and, for those wishing to travel further afield, a short drive to the Motorway. .

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your review - we are looking forward to your return visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJMcNealy
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
“This was a fantastic choice, for so many reasons--just book it now!"”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved staying in the guest house with Jane and John. They were warm, welcoming and super friendly to a family of four they'd never met. Jane helped us with a tremendous hot tasty meal (after our long day of driving around), and the house was spacious, comfortable and with good wifi. The farm-fresh eggs for breakfast were a true treat. The vegetable gardens at the property are magnificent to walk around and see, and the donkey is as friendly as advertised. We loved staying here and will tell EVERYONE to find their place when traveling through Ireland moving forward.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
PJ and his family were absolutely delightful guests - they were like old/young friends! They so enjoyed the peace and quiet of this location and the animals we have around. I do hope they will return and stay longer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing