We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and lovely hostess”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairylands Country House
Ranked #3 of 14 Armagh B&B and Inns
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent and lovely hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Maureen was a lovely hostess during this off-season overnight stay. She was kind enough to accommodate my timetable. The bed was comfortable and the room and bath well kept. The breakfast was fit for a king, and to my surprise, Maureen even poured hot water on the windows of my car rental to de-ice them. If you're planning on staying in Armagh, I highly recommend Fairylands Country House.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FriarChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
24
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Fairylands Country House was such a wonderful place to stay. My husband, MIL, FIL, and my husband's uncle were all traveling from the States in Ireland for 9 days. This was our first stop and it was the perfect introduction to the lovely charm of this country. Maureen welcomed us with a smile and made us feel right at home. Our accommodations were great. Wonderfully sized rooms, nicely decorated and clean, clean, clean. So nice after traveling long hours to feel at home. I wish we could have stayed longer than 2 days. Breakfast was fresh and good and filling! Full cooked breakfast or lighter continental type if you prefer. Nice Internet service is provided in each room along with TV and ensuite bathrooms I cannot say enough good things about Maureen and her bed and breakfast. We all loved her!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiagirl92592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife,son, and I spent two nights at Fairylands. Maureen was the perfect host/ess. She was there to greet us, and was so friendly and helpful.

The rooms were spacious, warm and comfortable. The breakfasts were great, and sustained us for most of the day. Tried soda bread for the first time. Great! Fairylands is a ten out of ten as far as we are concerned, and I would recommend this highly as a place to stay.

Clive B
Auckland NZ

Room Tip: All of the rooms were spacious, and well equipped. Plenty of storage space. Large bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We could not have had a better place to stay. We were treated as family. The food we excellent and the rooms were also excellent. we would recommend this to anyone. The area is very quite and is outside Armagh ($4 taxi fee).
Maureen was our hostess and mad us feel very welcome we used the living room to watch T V and generally relax.

Room Tip: all rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garthdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Fairylands. The rooms were clean and comfortable. All rooms were a good size and the bathroom was also large. It felt like a home away from home. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a hairdryer was supplied which was a useful addition! Breakfast was traditional Irish, you could order as much or a little as you wanted. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordRie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakwood, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed at the Fairylands Country House on June 7, 2013 and were so very pleased with our time there. The accommodations were spacious, very clean and more than comfortable. The view up the hill from our room was so inviting. Maureen is an exceptional host. She gave us several very good tips on how to negotiate the small Armagh City, and where to go for a great dinner. Our breakfast was so very good. Northern Ireland was just beautiful and this Bed and Breakfast just added to our stay. I would agree wholeheartedly with another reviewer, this is an Armagh gem. Di and Pam

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here, on the may bank holiday 2013. unfortunately we only got to stay one night. We were very warmly welcomed by the lovely maureen, who is a true lady. It was like home from home. The rooms were big and spacious, lovely and warm. lovely ensuite bathroom, there were four of us in one room and we still had tonnes of space. Maureen really couldnt do enough for us, she was the hostess with the mostest, nothing was too much trouble. we will definitely go and stay there again, even if we dont have plans to visit armagh. Thank you maureen see you soon

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sointerestblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
1.3 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
8.6 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
6.9 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
6.0 mi away
Dundrum House
Dundrum House
#1 of 14 in Armagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hillview Lodge
Hillview Lodge
#2 of 14 in Armagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairylands Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairylands Country House

Property: Fairylands Country House
Address: 25 Navan Fort Road, Armagh BT60 4PN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Armagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairylands is a family run Bed and Breakfast set in quiet surroundings 5 minutes outside Armagh city centre and within walking distance of the Navan Centre and Fort. We are a prime location for travelling being 1 hour from belfast and under 2 hours from the famous Giants Causeway. All rooms are en suite with tea/coffee making facilities, we pride ourselves on our hearty breakfast cooked fresh to order setting you up for the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fairylands Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairylands Country House Armagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing