We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“check in”
Review of Armagh City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Armagh City Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Armagh
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Checked in Fri.@1500 hrs for 2 night b/b with 1 dinner booked through supervalu.Asked how we decided to pay and said by direct debit.card. Immediately asked for card and continued to take the money.Travelled all over the world and this was a first even before seeing the room.wouldnt let us use our card to order food or drink yet other people were.Told them a disgrace, told them i wouldnt be back and their response was hotel policy. !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trish228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Hotel. It is company policy that, when a guest is checking in, a pre-authorisation of a credit card is taken as a guarantee of payment. Should no card be available regrettably, the Hotel is not in a position to extend credit to that guest and charge items on account to their room. We are sorry if this offended you but this is a standard practice across the industry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night last week (July). Our room was clean and the staff first class. However the food in the bar area left a lot to be desired. A very disappointing discovery was the lack of ventilation in the room. It is surprising that such a modern hotel did not install air conditioning in the bedrooms. It's in the public rooms so why not the bedrooms. There is a food buffet area in the reception hall which lowers the overall tone of the hotel. When we arrived to book in several people were slurping soup and it seemed like we were in a restaurant. Finally I feel the room rate is much too high for hotel and its location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyHarry1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We attended this Hotel for a wedding and stayed overnight. Hotel looked very smart outside and inside. Was very impressed with cafeteria just off the reception area.they served freshly made sandwiches, scones, soup etc. We had Coffee and scones before we left and they were really nice and quite reasonably priced.
Bedrooms were clean, tidy, spacious, had tea/coffee facilities, flat screen Tv etc. Shower was above bath which I personally wouldn't be a lover of. The only downside was the colour of bathroom door, it was cream, old fashioned and grubby looking. Otherwise fine.
Breakfast was excellent. It was self service with a really good variety.
Unfortunately we didn't get time to use Leisure facilities, but area for wedding was fantastic, although tables could have been a little more spaced out. Meal was nice although Turkey very thickly sliced.
All in all a really nice, friendly Hotel

Room Tip: Very noisy at front of Hotel where we were, and there was no air con so we had to keep window open a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Hotel Reviewer,
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Wedding. The Hotel's popularity as a wedding venue has grown year after year and we are delighted with all the positive feedback that we receive from brides, the bridal party and their families and friends.

Our Autumn / Winter offers will soon be available on the Hotel website and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again very soon.

Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night for a wedding. The hotel is overall lovely, food and service was excellent, room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast buffet was very good, top notch hash browns! The noise in the night however was nearly intolerable.

Our room was number 202, located above the front of the hotel. You could clearly hear the bass from music for several hours which was followed op by the well known chorus of drunken people at the end of the night. The unwanted sonic bombardment ended around 3am. Sleep until then, and this was after a few beers, was not possible.

I've no idea if this is the norm, however it lets an otherwise excellent hotel down. Perhaps rooms located in a different part of the hotel don't suffer with this problem. I would be more forgiving people shouting as they have less control over this, but the wall pounding bass from music, no excuse.

My advice, specifically ask for a room unaffected by any music that might be playing. If you get a room away from this then you'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baggy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Naturally, we are sorry to read that it wasn't completely to your satisfaction. The Hotel is a popular weekend stay choice and usually, there isn't a problem with excessive noise. Your comments are well made and we will certainly ensure that all staff are vigilant about any band instrumentation.


Yours sincerely,

Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed at the armagh city hotel at the weekend (june 2012) for a hen party. We had got the activity package which included an overnight stay in the hotel with evening meal and breakfast free entry to their nightclub plus our activities, it was really good value for money. The reception staff were really helpful and friendly when we arrived and were able to accommodate us with anything we asked. The meal was a set menu but there was something on it to suit everyone, it was really tasty and everyone was full after. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. The nightclub was good and played really good music to suit everyone. The night staff were excellent, especially Pat who really looked after all us hens. Had a great stay will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise80corey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your "girls away" stay at the Armagh City Hotel. Sounds like you had a really great time. Staff have gained a reputation for being friendly and helpful and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with your friends. The Hotel will have Autumn and Winter offers available soon...
We hope that we can welcome you back again.
All the best,

Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We got married here just over a year ago an still we visit every few weeks for food, the staff are friendly the atmosphere is great and the steak is to die for! They done a wonderful job at our wedding and I couldn't have asked for any better! Having stayed overnight the room was also immaculate, nothing to fault on this hotel whatsoever! I will be returning for years to come :) A very happy couple!

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank CJM1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed here on June 9th for 3 nights. Our room looked out towards the Police station but also partial vews of the golf club. The room itself was spotlessly clean and consisted off a queen sized bed and also a single bed. The usual coffee, tea and bics were provided and replenished daily. There was a flat screen tv, an ipod dock and also an ironing board and iron. The bathroom had a decent sized bath with a good overhead shower plus all the usual wee soaps, shampoo's, etc. The room and hotel were spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
The breakfasts were buffet style, you just helped yourself to anything and everything! Coffee or tea was served. We ate out most of the time but had one meal there which was good and reasonaby priced. In the main reception area there is a snack bar which sells homemade soups, toasties, panini's, etc and again the food and choice was really good.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We had a little problem with the toilet which was promptly dealt with and a courtesy phone call the following evening to check that everything was ok.
We have stayed in more expensive hotels and to be honest the Armagh City is one of the best. We would have no hesitation in returning or recommending this hotel to others.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank fiona r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive positive review of your stay in Armagh City Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed every aspect of it and in today's climate, we can delighted that you found it such good value.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,

Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
0.4 mi away
Charlemont Arms Hotel
17.2 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
11.2 mi away
Seagoe Hotel
Seagoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portadown
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Cross Square Hotel
Cross Square Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crossmaglen
198 reviews
13.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
20.6 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armagh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagh City Hotel

Address: 2 Friary Road, Armagh BT60 4FR, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Armagh
Price Range: £93 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Armagh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Armagh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagh City Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing