We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel, food delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armagh City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Armagh City Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Armagh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, food delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely rooms, very clean, nice decor. Bathroom has lots of little shower gels which was handy for taking children to swimming pool. Restaurant staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Food was absolutely gorgeous.
Hotel is large and quite busy giving it a great atmosphere. Foyer has great buzz and makes for good people watching/relaxing
No complaints at all....extremely satisfied

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T13avy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    174
    80
    48
    40
See reviews for
96
163
16
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Had reason to visit Armagh yesterday,went to hotel for a bite to eat got a table with no problem,menus were delivered and order taken promptly, food was ok edible ,but not top class.Everything went pearshape after this waitress returned to table and partially cleared table with no comment " was your meal ok or would you like a dessert menu", eventually we asked for a dessert menu decided what we wanted and then waited and waited and then watched while 4 staff dandered up and down past our partially cleared table with 2 menus on it and no-one returned to our table staff did occasionally stop at the bar to chat one even went to the bother of moving a dirty glass round a tray whilst she stood there, we waited 15 mins went up to fetch the bill and the penny dropped 3 of them standing at the till gawping at us as if to say we forgot

Room Tip: Giro d,italia here over weekend get your act together
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annie3754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel promised a lot from web site and reception staff, but rooms are tired not that clean and the food is terrible.
I arrived just before nine on a Thursday night and was lucky to get food, well that was debatable as I think it was probably the poorest steak I have had in years.

Breakfast was the same it looked like it had been under the lamps for days and the head waiter was terrible I watched hassle elderly guests to hurry up and get out of his way!

I must say the girl on the coffee bar and the reception staff were excellent most friendly and tried there very best.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had to go to Armagh recently for a family funeral, called into the hotel after the service to get Lunch.

You have two choice Cavery which I personally do not like and Bistro type food in the hotel reception area.

We ordered 2 Caesar Salads Some assorted sandwiches and coffees, you have to queue up to be served which is fine but staff like to chat to each other rather than serve customers.

We ordered 3 Latté and 2 tea we got the tea while we waited the Latté arrived 20 mins later but yet again staff we giggling behind the counter, we had to send 1 latté back as it was cold, to which the member of staff replied oh they were all made together, what has happened to customer service!!!

our food was fine and quite tasty just let do by staff.

may be supervision of staff would make an improvement

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahbbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hello Sarahbbz
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent lunch visit at the Armagh City Hotel. To clarify, the lunch service operated by the Hotel is an extensive carvery lunch with choices of roast meats, pasta dishes, fresh vegetables and potatoes which is a very popular choice with locals and meeting delegates. In addition, the hotel offers a light lunch alternative (we call it the Deli), close to the Reception area which serves teas, speciality coffees and light snacks all day. It's misleading to call it a "Bistro" .... We are surprised by your review and comments and are investigating the issues raised by you regarding staff. All reviews are taken seriously and of course, should action be required to improve the service we offer, it will be taken.
Many thanks,
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel screams average. I arrived at 9.pm and tried to get a bar snack and was told kitchen was closed. Breakfast was very poor with little choice. Only real thing that was above average was the friendliness of the staff.
I would only use this hotel again as there isn't much choice in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My daughter had her wedding reception here last week and It was excellent from beginning to end.
The food, the service, the venue and the staff could not be faulted. They pulled out all the stops to ensure we had a lovely day and I would thoroughly recommend it. Nothing was too much trouble and our friends and family all commented on how well organised and professional it was.
Thank you all- what a day!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank smac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed for two nights recently at the Armagh City Hotel - good location with plenty of parking and within walking distance of shops. Very friendly staff at reception. Nice room with good linen and towels. Breakfast was adequate but I felt there could be a better selection but what we got was very nice. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feemar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
14.0 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
17.2 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
20.6 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
9.8 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
21.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armagh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagh City Hotel

Property: Armagh City Hotel
Address: 2 Friary Road, Armagh BT60 4FR, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Armagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Armagh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Armagh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagh City Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing