We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding Venue”
Review of Armagh City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Armagh City Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Armagh
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Recently attended a wedding at this hotel in May. Great atmosphere in the main foyer area when we first arrived to the hotel and this wasnt even from the party of guest from the wedding. We were pointed in the right direction to the wedding by a cheery receptionist. The reception area where we had tea/coffee and shortbread (although most opted for a cold pint from the bar) was nicely dectorated with candles and the red carpet awaiting the Bride & Groom. We then entered the main room for our meal which was top notch from soup right through to dessert. Such a great night was had by all attending and staff were so friendly, the place had a really feel good factor about it. Cant wait until my next stop at Armagh Hotel.

Room Tip: Take a trip to the pool the next morning (Helps with all the partying from the night before)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterRichardsonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    194
    89
    54
    40
See reviews for
108
177
17
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for one night only. Had the carvery at lunch time which was very nice and then had an evening meal which was ok. Staff were not very busy but it was difficult to get their attention to order drinks. Rooms were average and spotless. Breakfast was a disaster. A good variety but the cooked breakfast brought to us was disgusting. My husband ordered his eggs scrambled, which had a blue tinge to them and he said they tasted awful. I ordered soft poached that came hard and cold. Hash browns were cold and the bread was dried up. I dread to think what tourist who stay there think. Considering we paid £85 for one night b/b I don't think we got good value. Learn by my mistake and never stay there again

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smoothoperator54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

unfortunately there is very little to praise this hotel for. Management is non existent, staff training is clearly abysmal and the whole feel about the place is 2 star at best. The sad thing is that the owners and managers are completely unaware that they have serious problems throughout the hotel,i.e service, food quality, decor etc etc. Ordering a drink at the bar is an experience in itself, lots of staff doing nothing, cant see the need to serve people quickly and quite often 4 staff could be huddled around the till, sorting out 1 problem while customers are queuing for a drink. Then order a bar snack. some days it could be described as just about acceptable and the next day go in and order the same thing and it will be inedible, over cooked, greasy and accompanied by a salad garnish that looks like it has been on several other plates before yours. T he waiting staff look totally disinterested in what they are doing and at times you would think they had eaten their dinner off the front of their uniforms, dirty and untidy at best. The floor and tables round the bar area where people eat are not kept clean enough with old food lying on the carpets and the staff behind the carvery dont inspire confidence in their cleanliness or hygiene. For whatever reason the beer on tap generally tastes different than the same beer on tap in any other establishment, neither myself or anyone i know will order draught beer in the hotel, bottles only!!!! The foyer looks like and has the feel of an airport departure lounge exacerbated by the cheap and nasty new settees that have been recently installed, has no-one in the hotel got any taste in decor? All in all its very easy to criticise Armagh City Hotel and if there was anything positive to say about it i would but its very difficult to find anything. The staff lack motivation and the managers lack vision and understanding and until they get a new crack manager in the place , well then i'm afraid it will still remain Armagh's 'Fawlty Towers'. Its 1 of the few hotels that i have ever been to that the reception staff sit behind the reception desk instead of standing and greeting their customers professionally and with a smile but i suppose i shouldnt be surprised at that. Sorry Armagh City Hotel but you fall way short of expectations on all fronts and you should take this sort of criticism on the chin and accept it and ultimately try to do something about it.

Room Tip: go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KeenCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed overnight at this hotel on a Saturday evening.Our rooms were not made available to us until 4.30pm although the advertised time for booking in was 3:00pm.The reason given by the receptionist was that `the hotel had been full the day before and housekeeping had`nt caught up.
The staff throughout the hotel were pleasant but obviously under duress due to the high volume of traffic.Our room was clean and comfortable with a well appointed bathroom on suite.The evening meal was standard hotel fare,huge helpings served by once again pleasant staff.
The breakfast is a buffet with a good variety of food to choose from.
This is a hotel ideal for a stopover or when attending a conference.
.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skyranger912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel is showing it's age. Room was pretty standard, but lacked finesse. Rust on the shower fittings, tub caulk stained. Service was very perfunctory and lacked any genuine hospitality. Service at dinner was very slow - restaurant did not appear to be that busy. Front desk staff at check-out actually kept me waiting for several minutes before they looked up from their work to attend to me and then there was little friendliness. Was not overly impressed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smckay090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

one thing that impresses me or in this case unimpresses me is the staff of a hotel...Front desk reception was the frostiest I have ever received! There was no warm welcome and because we booked through a third party I think we were made to feel bit unwelcome! The receptionist even mentioned oh right you have booked through someone else ...!!

The rooms are very basic ...travel lodge style....bathroom was very grubby and towels were the tiniest towels ever seen !! The Bar had music and was very lively and good craic....again the bar staff are wanting in a little customer service !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbellaw, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This review is for the carvery only.

It's a busy hotel, so the Sunday carvery is well attended. The food is standard fare, but with better service and surroundings than most.

It's good value, though, at £12.50 for two courses.

As a fairly new establishment, the hotel has good carparking and toilets, and it's best feature is the service. One niggle; the coffee's good, but relatively expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
17.2 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel and Leisure Club
18.6 mi away
Cross Square Hotel
Cross Square Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crossmaglen
189 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banbridge
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armagh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagh City Hotel

Property: Armagh City Hotel
Address: 2 Friary Road, Armagh BT60 4FR, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Armagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Armagh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Armagh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagh City Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing