We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon tea!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Charlemont Arms Hotel
Ranked #6 of 14 Armagh B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a very well-presented afternoon tea here - they put us in a lovely room all on our own - see photo. We felt like lords and ladies of the manor. And it was a very reasonable price - £25 for two of us.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Omaghgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    47
    24
    19
    12
See reviews for
24
47
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Daejeon, South Korea
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I didn't get the chance to stay here but I am very familiar with their restaurant, bar and meeting rooms. They serve very good quality food with a fair price. Their serving time is also convenient for lunch breaks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTugcaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We went to charlemont on Mothers Day Evening for Bar snack. waited over 30 minutes to place the order, then waid another 1 1/2 hours to get our meal. if this wasnt bad enough we waited over another hour to get desert!!!! very disappointed, would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jade m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Armagh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kells, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Didn't feel welcome at all on arrival.
Rooms are spot on and clean. TV remote didn't work at all.
Had to ask if wifi was available.
While eating dinner in the bar, I was still on the starter, my main course was brought and left on the table.
When I was ready to check out at 9am, there was no one at reception & it took 10 minutes to find someone who could help, only after I phoned the hotel from the reception desk. Check out took another 10 minutes & I was the only person checking out.
For a small hotel, this is not the kind of service that you would expect.
I will not be going back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craigpscott63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We went to The Bistro recently with my family. We hadn't booked and even though the bistro was very busy the staff still accommodated us. My son wanted something that wasn't on the kids menu and the waitress reassured us very professionally that this wouldn't be a problem she didn't even have to check with the chef.Again I asked for something a little different for starter and it was no problem. I was looking forward to the evening already. My husband had the steak and said it was cooked to perfection, one of the best ever he had. We were made feel relaxed and nothing was a problem.We regularly visit this restaurant (I don't always write a review) but thought praise is well deserved about this very friendly, family run hotel which consistently delivers the highest quality food every time. When you decide to visit The Bistro you really can look forward to a great evening from start to finish. We had some pre dinner drinks in the main hotel bar and it was packed with diners clearly enjoying their meal in the bar area as well. Waitress's were bringing out beautifully presented food and taking away empty plates which I think speaks louder than words. The Charlemont Hotel and Bistro is clearly a popular venue. I wish you all continued success and can't wait to visit again very soon.

Room Tip: I suggest that this is the perfect hotel in Armagh, especially if you are staying a number of nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ear2ear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed at the Charlemont in Nov/Dec 2013 and had a great time. Very welcoming owners and staff, friendly and helpful - Donna , you are a star and helped make our stay very special. Excellent room which was huge, bed was fab and the food was excellent. Very central with easy access to all sights of interest. We will be returning in 2014 - see you all soon. Gerry and Debs Brady

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Having visited Armagh on many occasions and had meals at the Charlemont Arms, had the occasion to need to stay in Armagh for a few nights, so booked in here. The staff are the most helpful and pleasant we have ever come across in a Hotel, from Donna on Reception (girl of all trades) to the lovely night porters and the waiting staff and barmen. The Hotel is a bit old fashioned, (the Bistro downstairs is much more modern) but I find that in its favour, it is warm, welcoming and very cosy. We had a room on the first floor at the rear, which was a fantastic size, was very clean, had all you needed. The en suite bathroom appears to have had a leak from the room upstairs so there were cracks on the ceiling, but was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was great, choose what you want for a full Irish breakfast and it is served with a smile. The food served in the lounge is also well worth visiting for. It was a shame that there was no live music on in the bar on the other side whilst we were there, but it was just after the festive season. Top marks to the Charlemont Arms of Armagh.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms at the rear are quieter than at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolLovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
0.5 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
578 reviews
6.7 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,453 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dundrum House
Dundrum House
#1 of 14 in Armagh
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
7 Houses
7 Houses
#4 of 14 in Armagh
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlemont Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlemont Arms Hotel

Property: Charlemont Arms Hotel
Address: 57 - 65 Lower English Street, Armagh BT61 7LB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Armagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlemont Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charlemont Arms Hotel is a third generation family run hotel situated in the centre of the historical City of Armagh.The hotel provides guests with the best of both worlds, traditional and modern and it still upholds its old fashioned values of impeccable service, comfort and superb dining.The hotel is perfectly located, situated between the city’s two famous Cathedrals and near the Market Place Theatre. Located in the centre of the town, it is beside the local shopping area which is host to individual boutiques and high street stores. Other visitor attractions within walking distance of the hotel are Armagh Planetarium and Observatory, the Armagh County Museum, the old Armagh Women’s Gaol and the beautiful Mall.Armagh’s two premier golf courses, The Loughgall Country Park and Golf Club and The County Armagh Golf Club are also close to the hotel.The Charlemont Arms Hotel offers a choice of traditional and modern cuisine with The Charlemont Bistro located downstairs, Turner's Bar and The Dining Room. Facilities include 30 spacious ensuite bedrooms, conference facilities and a large function room which caters for all occasions such as Christenings, Weddings and Anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Charlemont Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlemont Arms Hotel Armagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing