We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and hospitality”
Review of Hillview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillview Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Armagh B&B and Inns
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay and hospitality”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed with Alice and Dermot for two nights. They are the perfect hosts in every way nothing is too much trouble. The views from the conservatory a simply stunning. We experienced a five star stay all round. Would not hesitate to highly recommend and hope to return ourselves one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to review Hillview Lodge and for your kind comments. Regards Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
42
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Hillview Lodge is well positioned for those who want to explore the area around Armagh. It is close to Armagh city, and has good parking. We had a lovely two night stay, and enjoyed the comfortable rooms and the friendly service, especially when we had a flat tyre and needed repairs. Many thanks for making us so feel so welcome.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
It was lovely having you stay with us at Hillview Lodge and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards. Alice. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for 1 night in June on business. Fantastic B & B, my room was spotless, bed comfy, lovely shower and a great view outside. Alice and Dermot were very welcoming and I felt very at home. Great selection for breakfast, also tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Will be sure to stay here again if I'm working in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan8530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We chose this place because it was within easy reach of places we wanted to do research, Alice and Dermot were very welcoming making us feel at home from the start .. The rooms were equipped with Fridge, kettle and tea and coffee.. Breakfast was amazing and gave us a great start to the day .. I will definitely be going back to Hillview Lodge

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELVISENGLANDUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to review Hillview Lodge and for your kind comments.
Kind Regards Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Alice and Dermot were like family for me here. Ironically, I was relodged from Fairylands due to a family emergency, but Providence placed me here. There's even a driving range on the premises complete with oodles of cottontail rabbits. Again, I love to stay in the country in simple style, so this was perfect for all my outings, etc.

Thanks again Alice and Dermot for making me feel so at home and loved.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnpontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for you kind comments. Kind Regards Alice & Dermot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here in March 2014, for just one night, to visit the St. Patrick Cathedrals. We arrived by bus from Dublin, and took a taxi to the lodge, which is about a 5-10 min. drive from the bus station. Our room on the first floor was very clean. Alice and Dermott were pleasant and hospitable. She offered to make just about any type of breakfast we wanted. Her husband insisted on driving us into town in the evening, where we had dinner, and also to town the next day for sightseeing. They went out of their way to make us comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrissyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to review Hillview Lodge it was lovely having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind Regards Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marchwiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Found this place by chance on hotels.com, glad I did, clean room, lovely hosts, very friendly and chatty.

There is the added benifit of a driving range (didn't use it) but maybe next time
Great cooked breakfast, you also get the normal cerials and such. which is always a good start to the day, will be back in November as long as I'm still working.

Also at the price I payed it was a bargain, thanks again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gregg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermac, Owner at Hillview Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to review Hillview Lodge it was our pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Alice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
1.4 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
578 reviews
8.6 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
9.6 mi away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Westenra Arms Hotel
Westenra Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Monaghan
220 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
4.4 mi away
Dundrum House
Dundrum House
#1 of 14 in Armagh
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Lodge

Property: Hillview Lodge
Address: 33 Newtownhamilton Road, Armagh BT60 2PL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Armagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillview Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hillview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview Lodge Armagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing