We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most beautiful cathedrals I have visited”

St. Patrick's Cathedral (Roman Catholic)
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Armagh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Construction of this imposing Cathedral was started in 1840, dedicated for worship in 1873, and its magnificent interior décor completed in the early 20th century.
Herts
Level Contributor
849 reviews
506 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful cathedrals I have visited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Although the present building is fairly modern - Victorian, the inside of the Cathedral is stunning. There is floor to ceiling mosaic which must have taken years to complete. It is quite simple but so beautiful in its simplicity.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mouseHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    32
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Was there for mass on St. Patrick's Day - plenty of pomp and ceremony - cardinal, bishop, priests and deacons on altar. Very powerful organ .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Feemar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Armagh Cathedral.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My friend and I stopped by the Cathedral on Sunday morning, a funeral mass was under way. The architecture is very imposing, the interior décor wonderfully ornate, we'd go back to explore properly at a more opportune occasion. I would highly recommend a visit. Many steps at front, so if you're not too fit, drive up to the back, where there is parking facility.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Myrtle_Beech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cathedral”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Beautiful building. Great church service, specially with the full choir singing. Christmas crib and decorations still in place whilst I was there, which made it even more enchanting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolLovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Armagh City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This a place that everyone should visit while on a day out in Armagh City. it is a beautiful building with an extraordinary history to it. If possibel get the service of a guided tour who will provide all the information. then after that you can enjoy a few silent monents of your own before walking down those magnificant steps and enjoy a cuppa or lunch in the many restaurant/pubs in the town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank carmelm445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Patrick's Cathedral (Roman Catholic) also viewed

 

Been to St. Patrick's Cathedral (Roman Catholic)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing