We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is not a Families only campsite.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gosford Forest Park

Gosford Forest Park
Ranked #4 of 37 things to do in Armagh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is not a Families only campsite.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went camping in Gosford Forest Park this weekend, and although there were very few tents pitched, the noise level after 11pm was horrendous.
I voiced my opinion to the Ranger regarding 5 young men pitched at the bottom of the field. They had several cases of beer beside their tents, and were playing loud music.
The Ranger stated that he knew them, and that there would be no problems. He also stated that at least one of them was a youth leader.
They left the campsite and went into the forest with their drink about 8.30 pm and returned about 1.30 am shouting and screaming obscenities about people's religion and singing sectarian songs. This went on for about one hour.
Considering that the occupants of the other tents on site were families, this type of behaviour was wholly unacceptable.
The Forestry Dept. needs to ensure that Gosford is properly policed by the Rangers, and if groups of young men are admitted, they should be fully advised of the rules regarding noise and anti social behaviour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank yrret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    33
    5
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Having read the negative reviews I was very hesitant when my husband announced that he had booked for us to spend the night at Gosford. We are just home and I must say I was very pleasantly surprised!! We experienced no "long term residents" as others had last year and although the facilities are dated, we found them to be kept very clean with hot water.

We had pitched a tent without much in the way of restriction which we had experienced in other caravan/camp parks.

A number of youth groups were also on site which was great to see.

No literature or maps are handed out at the gate but we had gone onto the website and downloaded the maps and ecotrail which was available for download.

Fab weekend and I would definately recommend anyone to try it out!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Family_Dunseath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great weekend visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We went camping here this weekend. After reading earlier reviews about noise and travellers, we were a little hesitant but after talking to the ranger, he reassured us and we booked our site over the phone. We arrived late morning and the ranger at the gate told us where to set up and about the facilities. We had downloaded the Ecotrail activities booklet for our 9 yr old and spent most of the afternoon doing this. It is a great way for children to learn all about the park, it's history and the wildlife. Took us about 2 1/2hrs and she had great fun measuring trees to find their age, drawing pictures and finding items along the route. At the campsite, we had plenty of space. The toilets and showers were clean and well kept. We had no problems with noise and slept brilliantly. Overall, this is a beautiful park, well maintained, brilliant Ecotrail for kids, good facilities for campers and well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I went this afternoon with my Mom, Dad and two and a half year old daughter. Lots of lovely forest walks, although found sign posting a bit limited. The sheep and poultry were a highlight for my daughter, but because the deer enclosure is so large, we couldn't see the deer up close, which was a disappointment. The cafe was closed, which was shame too. However, the forest was beautiful and offered an enjoyable jaunt in nature. One thing to note, the castle is just for residents (as it is apartments) and the walled garden was not open.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Beasmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not as well kept as it should be .”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The grounds are not as well cared for as they should be . Their once was a cafe - the building is still there but empty .This place could have so much going for it, if they had someone so cared enough to run it . The trees are not taken care of , the animals even look sad . It once was a lovely place were brides would have their photographs taken in the walled garden , which is no longer open to public and is now unkept.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Irish008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gosford Forest Park also viewed

 

Been to Gosford Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing