We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carvery Sunday disappointing. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cartin's Mill Restaurant - CLOSED

Cartin's Mill Restaurant
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Carvery Sunday disappointing. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Always loved this restaurant but carvery wasn't great. The staff are really pleasant and attentive. Smiles all around. But.... The carvery wasn't great. Very few customers said it all. I must've been the last person in country to find out. Dessert wasn't great either. It has potential as my daughter had been at an evening function and thought the steaks were amazing. IF I'm back it will only be the evening to try a steak. New owners recently so it's tough building the business back up. It's on a very busy road so some smart pricing is a hint ...

Helpful?
2 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Some of the best fish and chips I have ever had. Crispy batter and lovely moist fish. Well done. Service excellent especially as it was the day the Giro d'Italia was in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank veteran_sculler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Would not recommend it!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant and had one of the worst dining experiences I ever wish to have! The food was bad, the service was bad and when it came to customer service it got even worse! Had been looking forward to trying this restaurant but was so disappointed! Will never go back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MatildaBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I booked a table for 11 for Sunday lunch and despite the restaurant being extremely busy we were served our starters promptly and all were delicious. Our main course was equally good with very generous portions. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very satisfied large party.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Went to Cartin's Mill to celebrate my daughter's holy communion today - there were 18 of us in total. We received a warm welcome on arrival and the staff made a fuss of my daughter who was chuffed with the attention. I had pre -ordered our food and it was served as soon as we were all settled - it was of very good quality and the service was 1st class. Will definitely be returning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cartin's Mill Restaurant also viewed

 
Armagh, County Armagh
Armagh, County Armagh
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing