We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hats Off to Larry and Liz!”
Review of Dundrum House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dundrum House
Ranked #1 of 13 Armagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My Mum and I enjoyed a wonderfully warm Irish experience whilst staying at Dundrum House. Our stay there was second to none as we enjoyed both our spacious room and the equally beautiful view from our bedroom window, not to mention a fabulous brekky served in their stunning dining room, Larry's wonderful sense of humour and an ever present sense of being welcomed by both our gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Picked Dundrum House from a map simply because it was handy for the recent Giro d'Italia cycle race. What a wonderful place it turned out to be! It absolutely oozes quality, having been completely refurbished recently. We really loved the work that had been carried out as we are keen supporters of the National Trust and it looked just like a NT property, from its wood floors to its skirtings, architraves, ceiling plasterwork and beautiful pine doors. Larry has filled a niche in the market as he offers a light meal ( we had home made soup and lots of wheaten bread) in the evening. We slept well and breakfast next morning was one of the best I have ever had - the usual starters (orange juice, choice from many cereals) followed by fried soda, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, tomato and lean bacon. Other half had full Irish as she normally has a strictly healthy diet regime at home! We thoroughly enjoyed the Dundrum House experience and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeGee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were only here two nights and we wish we had rearranged our schedule to spend more time here. Liz was very welcoming and Larry kept us entertained with his stories and jokes. We (four) stayed in the self-catering cottage, which was spacious and spotless.

While we were there, Larry invited us to watch him feed a 3-day old lamb. While he was getting the little guy a bottle of milk from an accommodating mommy cow, my sister noticed that the cow next door had two little hoofs coming from her. She shouted for Larry, and we then witnessed her giving birth. It was quite an experience. Thanks, Larry, for arranging that. Haha.

Being animal people, we really enjoyed Spot and Jack and Lucky, the resident dogs. Especially Spot, who loved to show off for us by herding some sheep. Good boy, Spot!

I can't recommend this B & B highly enough. But do get specific directions from Liz. We tried just going by maps and got quite lost.

The Forge just down the road has excellent food, too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here 2 nights for the Tandragee 100 motorbike racing. We stayed B&B. The rooms very comfortable and homely. The pub down the lane was great for dinner and Guinness. Larry we loved the stories. LIz, the breakfasts were tasty and plenty! See you next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaxWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My family recently spent 3 days at Dundrum House. What a wonderful experience. We were made to feel welcome by Liz and Larry from the moment we arrived. We stayed in the spacious self catering rooms. Three bedrooms, very large kitchen and living room area. The views from the house are amazing. The animals on this working farm for our family were an added bonus. Larry invited us to watch him bottle feed a newborn lamb and while we were in the barn we watched as he assisted in a delivery of a baby bull! If you want a beautiful location, cozy inviting rooms and friendly hosts, the Dundrum House is for you.

Room Tip: For a family visiting, the self catering rooms are the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLewis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

First rate , stayed a night after a wedding, Larry made us feel just at home as if we'd known him for years. Staff were very friendly especially to our 11 month old son.breakfast was very good and we were well fed, would highy recommend this . David & tanya and levi jackson (glengormley)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tacko7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Liz and Larry could not have been more welcoming - more like staying with friends than running a business. Dundrum House has a feel of elegant country living about it: the rooms are large and comfortable, the breakfasts generous. It's not a boutique B&B, so don't expect radiators that would roast an ox, dinky toiletries with fancy names, or towels you could lose yourself in. But do expect the warmest of welcomes.

Tassagh has a sort-of post office with a petrol pump from the last century, and a pub/restaurant (Basil Sheils) from this century. It won't take you long to explore its delights before heading off!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpmcc_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armagh hotels
5.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
636 reviews
6.1 mi away
Charlemont Arms Hotel
6.1 mi away
7 Houses
7 Houses
#4 of 13 in Armagh
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hillview Lodge
Hillview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Armagh
122 reviews
5.9 mi away
Fairylands Country House
5.7 mi away
Courtyard Mews
Courtyard Mews
#2 of 7 in Armagh
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundrum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundrum House

Address: Dundrum Road | Tassagh, Armagh BT60 2NG, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Armagh
Price Range: £67 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dundrum House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a stay in this early 18th century country manor, set on an 80 acre beef and sheep farm. Recently restored to it's former glory, with many classic Georgian features.6 miles from Armagh City and 2 miles from local town, Keady.Tea/coffee on arrival. Wheelchair user friendly. Free internet access.Free private car parking. Ideally located as a base for visitors to discover the north, including the Giant's Causeway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dundrum House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundrum House Armagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing