We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly personal b&b”
Review of 7 Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
7 Houses
Ranked #4 of 13 Armagh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2011

A group of us stayed here for one night whilst visiting armagh for a wedding. The B&B is well located in the town and is a pleasant place to stay. Good breakfast. Very friendly service making it a welcoming place to stay. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarethTurnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

We reserved a room through a popular booking service. The web site stated that there were only two rooms left, that there was free secure parking and that credit cards were accepted.

When we arrived at 4pm on a Sunday we found no staff on duty whatsoever. Not traveling with a cell phone, we had to walk 3 blocks to use a public phone in order to call the staff to come and let us in. Other than one other long-term boarder, we were the only ones staying in this fairly large establishment. There were many empty rooms.

We did get free secure parking, but if others had been there, only one other car could have been accommodated. The parking was in a very dumpy back lot behind the hotel.

When we tried to pay by credit card, we were told they did not have a processing machine there, but they could take it several blocks away to another location to process it. We were not comfortable giving anyone our credit card to take offsite, so we walked a couple of blocks to the nearest ATM to get cash.

Needless to say, if we had not pre-booked, we would have left at this point. But once these hurdles were overcome we were very surprised to find a nicely furnished, very spacious and clean room! One of the best rooms we'd found in several weeks in Ireland. Wi-fi worked great.

Furthermore, we were treated very well by the staff. Breakfast was a good Irish meal with many choices. We kind of felt like royalty, being the only ones in the hotel and having them fix breakfast just for us.

I hope the De Averell can garner more business soon. They have lots of potential, but are hampered by lack of customers, it would seem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JamesDMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huckabee, Owner at 7 Houses, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Hello,
I felt that as the new operator of this business I needed to address the points in this review-
1. A duty manager is onsite during the check in times of 2pm and 8 pm to ensure that guests receive a warm welcome
2. We can process debit and credit cards onsite
3. DeAverell house was built in 1765, and as such is a listed/protected building. When it was built the space at the back was designed for horses, not cars. Whilst the space is relatively small we can still provide free, secure city centre parking for 3 average sized vehicles.
I hope that by addressing these points, we can help people make a more informed decision.
I do want to thank you for taking the time to give feedback, and hope that the improvements we have made would encourage you the revisit DeAverell House
Cate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Stayed two weeks. Wonderful hospitality. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnryals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2007

What a welcome to Armagh. Tony (owner) truly knows Hospitality and a warm welcome is waiting for anyone who stays.
The rooms are a good size and very clean and comfortable.
Our 2 night stay was on a Monday and Tuesday, while working for the Armagh Planetarium to install a new interactive exhibit (Well worth a visit) ,so the town was fairly quiet but there are some great pubs nearby and McKenna's down the road was no exeption being lively and freindly.
Tony's restuarant menu is lovingly prepared using the finest of local produce and The steak prepared for us was first class, in the mornings a finer cooked breakfast will be truly hard to find.
All in all great value, great food and full of Northern Irish Charm.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mlgboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2006

We stayed at the De Averell House in July 2006 for 4 nights as we were visting family in the city. Situated by a busy main road, the Georgian style and decor was pleasing to the eye. We had a large family room which comprised of 2 king size beds and 1 single and there was ample storage space. A seperate bathroom with great overhead shower was very clean with plenty of towels provided.
Breakfast was downstairs in the basement/cellar. The children had cereal and toast,whilst the adults had a nice hot cooked breakfast(personally could have done with some beans).Tony the manager/owner was a typically friendly Northern Irishman-you cant beat the Irish for hosptiality -that is unique to them.
The only down side I have to mention is our first night and following nights we were awoken firstly by traffice noise and cars honking horns which was bearable.However at chuck out time the noise from people was truly awful-rowdy and drunken. Im all for a good night out on the town,having a few pints and being a bit loud with friends. But this seemed never ending and went on until the early hours with total disregard for anyone who may have been asleep. At home I know for a fact the police would be driving around and making a few arrests for breach of the peace. And with the children woken up by drunken noise,I had to purchase earplugs as so many people hung around outside the hotel,screaming and shouting until 2a.m. Perhaps if you stayed in a back room I doubt the noise would affect you. This is just something to bear in mind if you chose to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lilacqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brageirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Vincent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
0.4 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 2 in Armagh
636 reviews
0 mi away
Charlemont Arms Hotel
11.2 mi away
Seagoe Hotel
Seagoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portadown
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hillview Lodge
Hillview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Armagh
122 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dundrum House
Dundrum House
#1 of 13 in Armagh
201 reviews
1 mi away
Fairylands Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 7 Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 7 Houses

Address: Handel House 3 Upper English Street, Armagh BT61 7LA, Northern Ireland (Formerly De Averell House)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Armagh
Price Range: £72 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 7 Houses 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeAverell House is an 18th century townhouse. Each bedroom is individually designed with en-suite facilities. Breakfast is served in our intimate cellar restaurant. Free parking is available on site, booking required. Free wifi is offered to all residents.Set in the heart of Armagh city, a stones throw from the grave of Brian Boru, DeAverell House is the perfect base from which to explore Armagh and research your ancestry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 7 Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Houses Armagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing