We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service but check the cleaners!”
Review of Hillyard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlewellan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillyard House
Ranked #3 of 4 Castlewellan B&B and Inns
Banbridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Service but check the cleaners!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Was staying here as near to conference I was attending. It is a guest house but the service and friendliness of the manager and staff would put some of the big hotels to shame. A real lesson in customer service and it shows. Nothing is too much trouble. The food was great, good size portions and well cooked. The room seemed very clean and the beds comfortable,even the (slightly dated) furniture was perfectly functional.
Unfortunately on my last night I dropped my pen down between the bed and side table and.... Well it was a bit of out of sight out of mind. There were biscuit crumbs and even a jelly sweet down the side and underneath the bed apron, none of which I was eating. Perhaps in future u should pull out the bed from the table and properly hoover. Its the little things like that which could lose customers.
All that said I did enjoy my short stay and if they just pay a little more attention to those little things this would be a first class establishment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PearlgirlBanbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
8
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I was over for my mother's funeral and everyone of the staff here were superb. Dominic did everything thing possible to make a difficult time very comfortable and the service at the funeral reception was incredible. Stephen could not have done any more for us and was just brilliant. The food is excellent, the flexibility of the team to ensure your stay was very comfortable was amazing. This is a wonderful place to stay in the best wee town in Ireland! Just ask our wee westie, Finbar. Hillyard House is all that Ireland is about! Thanks guys!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JMLennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Our Walking Club, The "J" Walkers had a meal last Sunday in Hillyard House after a very wet walk in Tollymore Forest. We were all made very welcome by Dominic and Marie who provided all with a delicious meal, especially the steaks and the fish. Nothing was any bother to the staff and it ended a very wet day on a high note. We will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Was over in Castlewellan staying at Hillyard House last week, I genuinely couldn't fault it! The hospitality was second to none and Dominic and Stephen couldn't do enough for us! The function on Tuesday was also lovely, the stuff really went above and beyond to make sure all the guests were catered for! The location is also amazing, just outside Castlewellan forest park and in view of the coast and the Mourne Mountains, you couldn't ask for more! I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stl91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Over for my mother's funeral. Not only did we stay for three days, we also used them for the refreshments after the funeral. We would like to thank all the staff for excellent care,service & food. A special thanks to Dominic, the manager and Stephen, night manager both of who couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sxlireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Myself and a few a couple of mates would frequent the cafe here after cycling or running in Castlewellan Park, maybe a couple of times a month. We go here for a few reasons, the first being the sign saying they welcome muddy bikers! Great move!
The second being the excellent customer service from the waitress, waiter and the manager! We're normally in on a weekday and the friendliness and craic from them is brilliant.
Furthermore, the food is fantastic and reasonably priced. Coffee is well made and tastes great too.
Don't pass by this place when out and about Castlewellan, you'll be treated very well and be very happy with the food and beverages.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stratman90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had lunch at Hillyard House, Saturday 22/01/14
The restaurant is nicely located right by the entrance to Castlewellan Country Park.
All the staff, especially Dominic, were very welcoming and helpful - even down to making the Northern Ireland accent more understandable for our visitors!
Food was lovely - the seafood chowder being one of the best I've ever had. Desserts were great as well and the meal was excellent value for money.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlewellan
2.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.7 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
3.7 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillyard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillyard House

Property: Hillyard House
Address: 1-5 Castle Avenue, Castlewellan BT31 9DX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Castlewellan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castlewellan
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hillyard House Castlewellan, County Down

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing