We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Pleasant Pony Trekking and Horse Riding Centre
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Having booked a two hour hack for my mum's birthday, we were not disappointed. My mum is an experienced horse woman who taught me to ride, she used to train horses but has been out of the saddle for 12 years. She was very impressed with Duchess and how she responded to leg commands (have come across horses in other establishments that are as stubborn and used to routine and provide a very dull experience). The horses were excellent and very responsive but safe. The hack was very enjoyable, having experienced riders out on the hack we were treated to trots, canters and gallops. It was great getting back in the saddle and we will certainly be back :)

Thank aftermathofmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Declan k, Public Relations Manager at Mount Pleasant Pony Trekking and Horse Riding Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted that you and your mum had a great time getting back into the saddle. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hour hack"
in 4 reviews
"couldn't fault"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful horses"
in 2 reviews
"sally"
in 3 reviews
"guinness"
in 3 reviews
"forest"
in 6 reviews
"commands"
in 2 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Bought 3 x 2 hour gift vouchers as a gift for my adult son's birthday. When the vouchers arrived they were dated from Apr-June. He managed to use 2 of the vouchers and had an enjoyable ride. However he was unable to use the last voucher within the time due to work committments etc. So he phoned to see if he could get an extension to it and was told that he had to use it within the next 7 days and was only entitled to one hour ride. Unfortunately due to another committment like work he was unable to use it and it has now been wasted. £48 worth! Shocking. I was not told that the vouchers had such a short a time frame for usage when i purchased them. I would like to see their Terms and Conditions of sale!. Disgusted!.

1  Thank MCCN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Declan k, Public Relations Manager at Mount Pleasant Pony Trekking and Horse Riding Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that your son has enjoyed using his first two vouchers with us but am sorry to hear that he has not been able to use his last voucher. The date of expiry is clearly marked on all vouchers, and the unused voucher was for a 2 hour session worth £38 not £48. Please contact the centre via email with your full details so that we may resolve this issue with a more agreeable outcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Took my kids horse riding for the first time here. Had a great afternoon, staff were very patient with the kids that were a little nervous. Lovely scenery in Castlewellan forest park also. Will definitely visit again when in the area.

1  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

All the staff were very welcoming & friendly, allowing people 2 pick a horse of their preference if they had 1! Given the full hour out on the trek where they were reassuring & calming 2 us novice riders then very informative after about the equestrian centre & the area! Will 100% return!

Definitely suitable for couples, families young & old, friends, solo or even business!

3  Thank weeangel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My grandchildren had been looking forward to this for months and had even used some of their pocket money to pay for what is a very expensive day out.
The trek is billed as "£20 for an hour session". They don't make it clear that this hour includes the time taken to saddle the horses etc . On this occasion there were 6 people on the trek so it took quite a while with the result that actual the trek lasted 37 minutes.
On complaining I received a small refund but this did not compensate 2 very disgruntled children. £58 for 2 children and an adult for just over half an hour's entertainment is way too much

4  Thank stephenandcharis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Pleasant Pony Trekking and Horse Riding Centre also viewed

 
Castlewellan, County Down
Castlewellan, County Down
 

Been to Mount Pleasant Pony Trekking and Horse Riding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing