We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic spot - couldn't ask for better!”
Review of Turnip House

Turnip House
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Castlewellan
Price range: US$7 - US$26
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Description: Turnip House is a Tea Room and Craft Workshop. Situated in the Dromara Hills in the Mournes Area Of Outstanding Natural Beauty, this is a place to relax with a hot drink, a piece of home made cake (lemon drizzle cake our speciality) and take in the stunning views. We also serve home made soups and breads. There is free wifi in the Tea Room. In our workshop we make knitwear and felt products. Visitors can see the making process, purchase craft made by us and other local artisans, or commission special pieces.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot - couldn't ask for better!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Absolute wonderful place - like a home away from home. From the minute we set foot through the door to the minute we left we were made feel welcome with fabulous cake (could have sat eating lemon drizzle cake all day, will have to work my way through the rest of the menu on future visits!) and company. Like other visitors, Charlie quickly became our best friend, the owners Elaine and John are warm and fabulously talented people.

Beautiful views and a peaceful location - a wonderful spot which I hope to return to again many times!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenrawJohn, Owner at Turnip House, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments!

It's always a pleasure to meet new people and to share our wonderful setting.

Looking forward to seeing you again

John & Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little gem!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Popped in on a friend's recommendation while visiting the Mournes with my new partner on Sunday.

We enjoyed amazing lemon drizzle cake fresh out of the oven, a big pot of tea and a lovely natter with Elaine and John who immediately felt like old friends. We also had a great welcome from Charlie the rottrador (or is he a labweiler?)!

We only stayed for an hour or so, but could happily have settled in for the whole day - it's a cosy retreat with the log burner on and there are great views over the hills with lots of crafty bits and pieces to peruse - the McCombes are a very talented couple.

This will not be our last visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvieOKeeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenrawJohn, Owner at Turnip House, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thanks Evie

what wonderful words!

We really enjoyed the chat, and are delighted you had a good time

Looking forward to seeing you again

Elaine & John

Turnip House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The atmosphere and friendliness was just brilliant, really enjoyed visit, hope to go back before Christmas!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The perfect coffee stop.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Paid a visit to the Turnip House yesterday after hearing about it on a Radio Ulster programme. What a nice place, you are welcomed like a friend, even the dog makes you welcome. A warm fire and friendly chat was followed by great coffee, lemon drizzle cake and sultana bread. Together with the views it was a memorable visit and one my wife and I will repeat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank robyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Marvellous cake and breathtaking views”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We love visiting Elaine, John and Charlie dog up in the hills. Always great soup, bread, cake and craic! Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Minky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turnip House also viewed

Castlewellan, County Down
Maghera, Castlewellan
 
Castlewellan, County Down
Castlewellan, County Down
 

Been to Turnip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing