We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little place of peace and nature”
Review of Turnip House

Turnip House
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Castlewellan
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Turnip House is a Tea Room and Craft Workshop. Situated in the Dromara Hills in the Mournes Area Of Outstanding Natural Beauty, this is a place to relax with a hot drink, a piece of home made cake (lemon drizzle cake our speciality) and take in the stunning views. We also serve home made soups and breads. There is free wifi in the Tea Room. In our workshop we make knitwear and felt products. Visitors can see the making process, purchase craft made by us and other local artisans, or commission special pieces.
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

What a charming, homely little coffee/,craft shop. We visited on the 26th July. Met immediately by a lovely friendly Lady Elaine, who informed us what was on the menu. My husband had Mushroom soup, I had Golden vegetable soup.. Absolutely gorgeous with fresh ( just out of the oven) wheatend scones. The portions were very generous - I really shouldn't have anything more to eat, but when I saw the array of delicious home made sweets, I melted you could not resist! All just baked, Ginger cake, Chocolate brownie cake, and Lemon drizzle cake all really, really delightful. With a full cafetiere of coffee (freshly ground) Heavenly!! I have to stress it's not only the food that is excellent, the whole experience. I have never been to a place quite like this before. The amazing surroundings, with every fruit and vegetable growing outside. It is definitely a different world. You would be mad , not to visit this wonderful place.

3  Thank Janet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenrawJohn, Owner at Turnip House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you Janet for your lovely comments.

I'm sorry that I missed you, but glad that Elaine looked after you both so well!

Hope to meet you some time.

Many thanks

John

John McCombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Visited today and was so impressed... the little place is the cutest. John was lovely and his food hit the spot. Charlie the dog is gorg too.

Thank jolenecolgan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenrawJohn, Owner at Turnip House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you so much for the lovely review

I'm pleased you liked the place, and look forward to seeing you again

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

A home from home with views which rival lord of the rings! I may be biased but I cannot think of a warmer, more beautiful place to have got married! Also have to mention the amazing fresh soup and wheaten scones, and the most delicious lemon drizzle cake!

1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenrawJohn, Owner at Turnip House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you Lauren!

It was an honour to have your wedding here.

Looking forward to seeing you back here

John & Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Delightful stop as we toured the area.
Best of home made produce and famous for their lemon drizzle cake
Relax and unwind in the homely setting,chat by the fire,browse the craft hop full of unique items, perfect as as treat for oneself or gift for a loved one.
Excellent hosts John and Elaine will make your visit memorable...inspirational couple.

Thank Marbarspearc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenrawJohn, Owner at Turnip House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stop off.

Look forward to seeing you again if you're around the area

Best wishes

John & Elaine McCombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

My friend and I visited the Turnip House after a trek round Castlewellan Forest Park after finding it on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that we did! A bowl of steaming hot broccoli & leek soup & two wheaten scones each, followed by chocolate brownie cake & tea. Bellissimo! We will be back.

Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenrawJohn, Owner at Turnip House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Thank you Nicola

we really appreciate your kind comments.

Looking forward to seeing you again

Best wishes

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turnip House also viewed

Castlewellan, County Down
Castlewellan, County Down
 
Maghera, Castlewellan
Castlewellan, County Down
 
Castlewellan, County Down
 

Been to Turnip House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing