We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best day of our lives” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ballydugan Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downpatrick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballydugan Mill
Ranked #2 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best day of our lives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had our wedding reception in Ballydugan Mill on Saturday 3rd August and as the title says, it was the best day of our lives. On the run up to our wedding, the staff at the mill were amazing, I was dealing with Maureen in particular and she was an angel, helping me with anything I needed and nothing was ever a bother to her. On the day, the mill looked spectacular, there is no other wedding venue like this in Northern Ireland, its got so much charm and character. My guests were warmly welcomed by the staff and all commented on the relaxed and informal nature of the venue. The food was delicious, everyone cleared their plates! Bacon salad, roast beef and yorkshire puds, followed by Bailey's cheesecake - all fantastic! The service of the food and drink was excellent and done with military precision!
The party at night was rocking! and the good times and drink flowed. A lot of our guests stayed over and all commented on the cleanliness and comfort of their rooms and all had a good nights sleep and wakened to a full ulster fry in the morning. All in all, I couldn't recommend Ballydugan Mill enough as a wedding venue, the staff make it very special and I will never forget all that you did for us. Thank you - Mr & Mrs Mason xx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CeePee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    31
    12
    11
    8
See reviews for
50
55
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Having just visited The Mill for the first time, viewing it on behalf of a friend as a potential venue for her wedding. We were given a very warm & genuine welcome by a girl, Anne, who was on duty. She had great pride in the building, and rightly so. Each of the three floors were very tastefully restored, they would need very little in the way of decorating. The stonework, exposed beams & open fireplaces made the whole building feel comfortable, homely, yet "special". We did not have the pleasure of having lunch as it wasn't open for catering today. However, if the building, beautiful grounds & the staff are anything to go by we will have a treat in store on our return visit.

Room Tip: Bedrooms are not huge, but are spotlessly clean and look comfortable.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BernieYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
261 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding here and was quite impressed. The Mill created a relaxed and intimate environment for a wedding. The food was really excellent tasty and hot. Service good and staff friendly. Think The Mill is ideal for a small quite informal wedding.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had a fantastic day on Friday for our daughters wedding at the Ballydugan Mill. This is a wonderful venue and very homely. The staff are so helpful which made the day carefree and the food was delicious with excellent presentation. All our guests were very impressed with The Mill and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lil_hezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere to stay for a wedding held close by. The mill was hosting two weddings on the nights we stayed & as we weren't attached to either the owners accommodated us in the newly converted granary - away from the main building so we wouldn't be disturbed. Our room (7) was heavenly - beautifully & sympathetically converted with a separate sitting area. Comfy bed, linen sheets, stacks of towels. Only minor complaint was low water pressure in the shower, but really not a huge problem. Breakfast great & service friendly & efficient. Really recommend this place, not only as a comfortable, good value place to stay but as an exceptional example of a restoration project. This was a flour mill operating in the 18th century and it's been beautifully renovated retaining many original features - a fascinating piece of social history combined with great comfort. Stay here, it's wonderful

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The owners of this establishment make your wedding very special. They give a great family feeling to the whole day. On arrival you are welcomed with open arms and warmth. The food was outstanding, plain and nice with plenty on the plate. The only critisism I would have was the serving of the dinner. On a day when there is a wedding they should have more staff so that all the tables can get served quicker.
The bed that I slept in was very hard and squeeky and the walls are extremely thin but all in all I had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a soft mattress away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30Maddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We attended a wedding reception at the Mill in March. It was a very cold day so an open fire was most welcome, but as there were so many guests we could just see it.
The meal was served on the next floor. The portions were rather small, and service very slow so we were seated for three hours in an extremely cold area of the dining room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jss79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
2.3 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 4 in Downpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
9.9 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
20.4 mi away
Merchant Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
2.8 mi away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
8.5 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballydugan Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballydugan Mill

Property: Ballydugan Mill
Address: Drumcullen Road, Downpatrick, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Ballydugan Mill Hotel Downpatrick
Ballydugan Mill Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing