We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best day ever!!!”
Review of Ballydugan Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downpatrick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballydugan Mill
Ranked #5 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Mill is a brilliant place to have any event. food is out of this world ,the staff are even better ,the building is outstanding,the surrounding area is beautiful !! I had my wedding here and cannot fault the mill in any way .greatly priced and excellent all round,theres even a lift to make life easy,brilliant place!!!

Room Tip: its all fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed twice, once for a "getaway", the other times after functions. Called several other times for a bite to eat.

This place is absolutely lovely and great credit to its owners and the team who run it. I would very highly recommend it for a "getaway" place, situated out in beautiful countryside within easy reach of the beaches in the area, or for an unusual venue for meetings or the like. As for weddings, I cannot think of a better place. A relative of mine attended a wedding here and said it was one of the best she was ever at. having been in Ballydugan Mill, I can see why.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We got married on 6th September 2013 and it was a fabulous day! The staff are friendly, fun and fabulous! Lol! Mary and Maureen made us so happy and feel right at home right from the very start! We always felt relaxed wen we went to visit and wud even give ya hugs when u arrive! :) our wedding day went without a hitch....it was fun, relaxed, friendly and homely! The food was gorgeous! I cud without a doubt live in the mill all the time! Lol! I would recommend the mill to anyone!xxx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Smilyems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had our wedding reception in Ballydugan Mill on Saturday 3rd August and as the title says, it was the best day of our lives. On the run up to our wedding, the staff at the mill were amazing, I was dealing with Maureen in particular and she was an angel, helping me with anything I needed and nothing was ever a bother to her. On the day, the mill looked spectacular, there is no other wedding venue like this in Northern Ireland, its got so much charm and character. My guests were warmly welcomed by the staff and all commented on the relaxed and informal nature of the venue. The food was delicious, everyone cleared their plates! Bacon salad, roast beef and yorkshire puds, followed by Bailey's cheesecake - all fantastic! The service of the food and drink was excellent and done with military precision!
The party at night was rocking! and the good times and drink flowed. A lot of our guests stayed over and all commented on the cleanliness and comfort of their rooms and all had a good nights sleep and wakened to a full ulster fry in the morning. All in all, I couldn't recommend Ballydugan Mill enough as a wedding venue, the staff make it very special and I will never forget all that you did for us. Thank you - Mr & Mrs Mason xx

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CeePee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Having just visited The Mill for the first time, viewing it on behalf of a friend as a potential venue for her wedding. We were given a very warm & genuine welcome by a girl, Anne, who was on duty. She had great pride in the building, and rightly so. Each of the three floors were very tastefully restored, they would need very little in the way of decorating. The stonework, exposed beams & open fireplaces made the whole building feel comfortable, homely, yet "special". We did not have the pleasure of having lunch as it wasn't open for catering today. However, if the building, beautiful grounds & the staff are anything to go by we will have a treat in store on our return visit.

Room Tip: Bedrooms are not huge, but are spotlessly clean and look comfortable.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank BernieYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding here and was quite impressed. The Mill created a relaxed and intimate environment for a wedding. The food was really excellent tasty and hot. Service good and staff friendly. Think The Mill is ideal for a small quite informal wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had a fantastic day on Friday for our daughters wedding at the Ballydugan Mill. This is a wonderful venue and very homely. The staff are so helpful which made the day carefree and the food was delicious with excellent presentation. All our guests were very impressed with The Mill and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lil_hezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
1.9 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
111 reviews
2.3 mi away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
97 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ballymote Country House
Ballymote Country House
#4 of 10 in Downpatrick
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Inch School B&B
Inch School B&B
#6 of 10 in Downpatrick
26 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nutgrove House
Nutgrove House
#3 of 10 in Downpatrick
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballydugan Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballydugan Mill

Address: Drumcullen Road, Downpatrick, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Ballydugan Mill Hotel Downpatrick
Ballydugan Mill Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing