We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Ballydugan Mill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downpatrick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballydugan Mill
Ranked #2 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We celebrated our wedding at the Mill on Easter Monday and had a fantastic day! The Mill lends itself to a relaxed atmosphere. We had 90 guests. It was lovely weather and so most guests stayed outside in the grounds for the arrival drinks reception which was great. The manager Maureen acted as MC for us and did a great job of creating a happy and relaxed atmosphere. Our guests were very complimentary of the meal served - it was good hearty food that was cooked really well. Many said it was the best meal they had ever had at a wedding! The Mill building itself is so different to most hotel wedding venues and it was so great to hear our friends and family comment on what an interesting venue it was. We were able to decorate the Mill as we liked although it really didn't need much to look special. The staff were very good on the day and in the planning of the big day I always received prompt and positive responses to my emails. We didn't stay the night but friends did and were more than happy with their stay. We would definitely recommend the Mill for a relaxed, quirky wedding - it impressed our guests and the food was excellent.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sdoon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    32
    12
    11
    9
See reviews for
51
55
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We attended a wedding here, it was a lovely venue!
The room (34) however was dated, with torn bed linnen, broken windows, cracked tiles and wasn't overly clean!!! The food at the wedding was good considering the amount of people they had to feed! The waitresses were friendly but the girl who I presume is the manageress has a total attitude problem and didn't deal with situations very well, I seen her arguing with people at the night doo over alcohol!!
Breakfast was greasy and wasn't a great selection comparatively to £80 night hotels I've stayed in before!!
The wedding was great but the management staff let the place down!!!
I believe u get what u pay for but that wasn't an £85 room!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ambo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We attended for a friends wedding, greated with a stunning building carefully restored, the staff where extremely friendly and helpful. The food was first class. Location was very piece full and tranquil. Highly recommended for a relaxing break.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

An amazing venue and staff. Stayed here for a friends wedding, a stunning place to stay with exceptional service. The staff are so friendly and helpful especially Maureen. The food was brilliant and the drinks very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartceltsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We went to our friends wedding at the mill and had a fantastic time. From we arrived until we left the staff were amazing and couldn't do enough to help. The food was amazing and the room that we stayed in was lovely and cosy and the bed was very comfortable. Hats off to all the staff at the mill for making it a brilliant experience, we would highly recommend staying here :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jilly-Annebelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

This is surely one of the most amazing, beautiful, unique and charming wedding venues in Ireland....we had our wedding here on 11/01/2014 and from the moment we arrived at this truly stunning location we were met with the most professional, caring, helpful and friendly bunch of staff....the food was awesome, the setting was awesome and the staff couldn't do enough to make sure our truly special day for us, our friends and family was a fantastic experience and we can't think you all enough......Paul & Michelle Haggan

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rueban
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Attended our Grandsons wedding reception on the 27th Dec 2013. Very wet day ,however the warmth and welcome we received at Ballydugan Mill made up for the weather.
Staff were excellent. The food was excellent. Main course was Sirloin of beef,everyone commented on the tenderness of the meat. With 100 plus guests,that speaks for itself. Many stayed overnight and enjoyed a hearty breakfast
Would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a self contained apartment which was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rueban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
2.3 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
8.5 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
15.9 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Merchant Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
9.9 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.8 mi away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballydugan Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballydugan Mill

Property: Ballydugan Mill
Address: Drumcullen Road, Downpatrick, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Ballydugan Mill Hotel Downpatrick
Ballydugan Mill Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing