We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for touring”

Swan Lodge Country House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Lodge Country House
Ranked #10 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Waverly, Iowa
2 reviews
“A good base for touring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our group of friends stayed two nights at Swan Lodge. We found our accommodations to be comfortable, attractive and sparkling clean. John and Liz love to cook and it shows in their delicious offerings for breakfast. It was a good base for touring Belfast, providing a quiet, restful place to be at the end of the day. It's one of the best B&Bs.

Room Tip: All rooms about the same for size, amenities, views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    3
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We are two couples staying in the area to visit relatives and historic sites. Staying in one place makes sense so we opted for Swan Lodge. We remained there for 4 nights. If we want to enjoy Irish cuisine, this is the place. The rooms are comfortable and clean with all the amenities. Liz and John were perfect hosts. I must say, we were spoiled and enjoyed their company. We sure do miss those amazing breakfasts. You will have many choices and if that doesn"t suit, you can make up your own. Don"t forget to try the porridge and of course wheaten bread and soda bread.

Room Tip: They are all just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beesy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 after our grandaughters wedding and a two week tour of Northern Ireland. The first nights experience was enough for us to decide to stay three more nights. We agree entirely with the good reports of swan lodge and John and Liz. Everything and I mean everything you may need is provided in the bedrooms and it was not rocket science finding the "Nania" bathroom it was quirky and with a beautiful coloured window. Breakfast great choice of cereals fruit etc and fantastic choice of hot second course and to top it gorgeous breads jams. What a start to the day!! They even wrapped some for us to take for lunch. The curtains actually kept out the light which was a bonus for me so many places we have been they dont fit and you wake at dawn!! I personally have travelled extensively and including hotels my stay with John and Liz is in my top 3. On our first night there were two other couples staying.One couple went early but we did not hear them even though we were at the front. The other couple were Australian and we all had a good chat but Liz and John did not intrude on us. Other mornings when we were alone they were very friendly. Liz took me round her garden and told me to dig up a plant that I liked as she had a spare. I did B&B in my home in kent for 8 years and really feel that I know a good B&B when I find it! In many the people are nice but not all the boxes are ticked.For me every box was ticked at Swan Lodge and I hope that many more people will enjoy the hospitality of these two lovely people. Just one more thing they supply real value for money Liz said she chose to charge less because of the location.Yes it was off the main road but it was stunning and quiet the real Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandybart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a very pleasant B&B, clean, comfortable, located in the middle of nowhere in beautiful surroundings. A nearby pub (very quirky!) could provide dinner, which was delicious. Breakfast was delicious with home-made bread and jams, and extensive choice of menu. We had a delightful stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Very hospitable couple, absolutely delicious breakfast, best I've had. Homemade bread, freshly squeezed orange juice, lovely omelette, all ready for us at 7.30! Very convenient to castleward, where we were running a race.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keiraoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with 2 colleagues while on business in downpatrick, we only stayed for one night as our.original hotel was booked that night. It's literally in the middle of nowhere which is good for some but not for 3 people who.have just finished a 14 hour shift. House looks lovely in very nice gardens.
Arrived to a older gent greeting us who asked us what we wanted for breakfast as soon as we walked in the door??? Selection was very good for breakfast but I felt rushed. Was shown to my room and that was it, felt very uncomfortable as I wasn't told where the code was for locking the door, I felt like I was invading someone's home, a colleague had to find the owners to ask where his bathroom was ( hidden in the wardrobe, like Narnia).
About 12pm we all separately hear the owners come and listen at our doors, felt like a child and turned my already very quiet tv off.
Breakfast the next morning again felt uncomfortable, we were given our breakfast and just left alone. Our taxi arrived and we couldn't locate the owners, as we were getting in the taxi they came out and said we had to sign the comment book before we left.
This b and b is very clean and well looked after but maybe it's for a different clientele.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p_land_sherrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed 5 nights in late August and had a wonderful experience. John and Liz were very accommodating and helpful hosts with recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing in the Downpatrick area. These restaurants were very good. Liz's breakfasts were some of the best we had in Ireland including Liz cooking delicious gluten free bread for breakfast. Our queen bed was extremely comfortable - no problems with the shower there was hot water day and night. This place also had the best wifi connectivity of any B&B we stayed at during our 6 week holiday in Ireland. As golfers we were looking for the best golf courses and John was very helpful with his suggestions for driving to Royal County Down and some of the smaller local courses. Yes it is a little out of town but for those with a car the B&B is an easy drive to Newcastle, Ardglass, Strangford and Belfast. We had a great Northern Ireland experience and really enjoyed our evening conversations with Liz & John on life in NI.

Room Tip: All the rooms here are very quiet with rural views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfers2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
2.9 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 4 in Downpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.6 mi away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bayview House
Bayview House
#4 of 4 in Killinchy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Cuan
The Cuan
#1 of 2 in Strangford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
6.5 mi away
Burford Lodge Guest House
6.3 mi away
Nutgrove House
Nutgrove House
#7 of 10 in Downpatrick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Lodge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Lodge Country House

Property: Swan Lodge Country House
Address: 30 St. Patricks Road, Downpatrick BT30 7JQ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Swan Lodge Country House Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing