We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent country retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downpatrick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ballymote Country House
Ranked #3 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent country retreat”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A charming country house which is home to Nicola and James and family. So very friendly and especially charming to be able to meet their animals including newly hatched chicks. Nicola's breakfasts are to die for - home produced food served to your own requirements. So much choice!
James provides excellent advice on where to visit.
You won't find a better country house experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! The chicks are growing very fast getting ready to lay lots more blue eggs (Arucuna) for the guests to enjoy at breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
18
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Calling Ballymote House a 'farm,' as was done by a previous reviewer, is like calling a Westin Hotel a B&B. The owners of Ballymote House believe in a lifestyle that revives the traditions of the past. Nicola was raised in the area at a country house which was self-sustaining. She keeps a garden with fruit trees, from which she produces amazing jams (cherry-chocolate), and chickens to supply fresh eggs for breafast. James manages their woodlands, with the help of his son and a draft horse, for use by pheasant hunters. Staying at Ballymote House makes you feel like the clock has been turned back, which does not mean any modern amenity is missing. We had tea in the drawing room when we arrived, the bedroom was clean and comfortably heated, and breakfast was beautifully served in a pleasant dining room. Both James and Nicola can provide a wealth of information about the area, Irish history and customs, and almost anything else you want to know. Staying at Ballymote House was a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DansMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Wow, what a lovely review! Aren't we lucky to have this lifestyle, and we love sharing it with our guests, especially when they "get" it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Ballymote for a weekend break. The room was clean and well laid out. However, the house is part of a farm and the night was over once the cockrel woke up. Also be aware there are two dogs living in the house. One was licking my hand at the breakfast table which I find unacceptable. The owners are friendly and very sociable. Overall I left there thinking for this sort of money I could have done better.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank shlomo97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
I'm so sorry you didn't appreciate the dogs and hens during your stay, but glad you enjoyed our company and the house.

We do try and persuade guests not to feed Damm and Dash under the table however they have learnt that many guests are extremely soft touches, and they do live in hope! If people do not like dogs I will of course lock them up.

Unfortunately we have no control over the cockerel's timeclock! This was rather mucked up with the change to Winter daylight saving times, but I am glad to say he now seems to have settled back into starting his day at a more civilised hour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our first night in Ireland. What an amazing experience it was! Nicola & James are fantastic hosts and we didn't want for a thing. From the welcome tea and biscuits to our introduction to Irish breakfasts, everything was perfect. We can't say enough wonderful things about Ballymote. It gets our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL3366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights and it was really wonderful. Great welcome, interesting house, lovely family and most marvellous breakfast. James booked a table for me at a nearby fish restaurant and provided a map for me to get there, which I thoroughly enjoyed. They have thought of everything for one's comfort. Most of all though I enjoyed the interesting conversation and the wonderful welcome when I returned every evening!
RH

Room Tip: Just let Nicola decide for you - she knows what's best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roma15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

After a long journey I reached Ballymote House and was pleasently surprised by this beautiful house and most warmly welcomed on my arrival. I stayed at Ballymote for a few nights as I was doing a course. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Nicola and James are a lovely couple and were more than helpful to me. The accommodation is charming and I have to say the food was fantastic!
I would love to return and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisvegas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

We changed plans at the last minute & were lucky to find Ballymote House just outside Downpatrick.James & Nicola made us feel part of the family for the 2 nights we were there. They helped with restaurants nearby & golf at Ardglass which is really worth doing if you're into golf. Also recommended a black taxi tour of nearby Belfast which we found quite enlightening.Thanks for showing us Northern Ireland hospitality.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BeachshackBrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
2.3 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
8.2 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
9.8 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.0 mi away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
9.6 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymote Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymote Country House

Property: Ballymote Country House
Address: 84 Killough Road, Downpatrick BT30 8BJ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballymote Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A Hidden treasure....a real find" Irish Times Not just 'a country house' this is our family home. We are delighted to extend its warmth to all our visitors from Ireland and around the world. Ballymote delights in continuing the best of that renowned country house tradition, informal and apparently effortless hospitality. We understand just how valuable our guests' free time is with today's hectic way of life. That's why, from the moment you arrive, we make sure the outside world feels a world away. Ballymote is as restful, or as relaxingly active, as you want it to be. Your only decision will be how you want to enjoy yourself next! "No where nicer than Ballymote...... Resplendent, elegantly faded charm, blissful beds and great cooking from Nicola are the Ballymote signatures". 100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland Bridgestone Guide. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts; apart from the de rigeur Ulster fry (ours has sausages made by a local butcher to our family recipe and 8 or so other things on the platter) we offer homemade jams, (3 or 4 different types), local honey, fruit from the garden and masses of other delicious things. It will set you up for a day of exploring! One of the many extraordinary things about County Down is the extraordinary amount it offers for visitors to do! But never forget that while at Ballymote, simply doing nothing is as good a way to pass your time as any! We are in the heart of St. Patrick's country; it is an ideal base for exploring one of the most historically and culturally rich parts of Ireland, with wonderful gardens, challenging world renowned links golf courses, spectacular mountains, deserted coastline and unspoilt countryside for walking and horse riding. Come and experience it ... relax, enjoy, above all make yourself at home! Ballymote..... Enthusiastically dedicated to your relaxation. James and Nicola Manningham-Buller ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ballymote Country House Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing