We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
43
4
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family history drawing room log fire warm welcome excellent hosts base for touring place to stay nicola dogs retreat wedding
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2017

My wife and I were in Northern Ireland for our wedding, and our stay at Ballymote House before and the after the wedding were a delight. The country house is full of old world charm, the bedrooms were beautifully appointed (we stayed in the Curtis Room), and our hosts Nicola and James were warm and welcoming, making us feel like part of the family. On our arrival James met us with tea and biscuits, and spent some time getting to know us and what our plans for our holiday were, with ready recommendations for places to eat around the area.

Breakfast was generous with fresh or poached fruit, varying from day to day, yogurt and a selection of cereals, freshly baked breads, home made jams and conserves (the peach and rose petal was divine), and the cooked breakfast was outstanding to say the least.

The bed was soft with plenty of pillows and a thick, warm duvet.

James and Nicola were immensely helpful moving cars around, and fitting in to our schedule for photos around the house and grounds on our wedding day.

To re-iterate what reviewer Cranley said, as I could not say it any better: "There are a few things that make Ballymote House different from other B&Bs. Firstly it's a true countryhouse experience. The building is a proper old country house with sash windows that rattled slightly in the wind. No double glazing here, but the heavy curtains mask out any noise you might hear, and keep the room cosy. There are no modern power showers, only a giant bath with a shower attachment - just as good. Furniture is not Ikea, it's traditional, antique, comfortable and solid, from when things were built to last. Nicola and James have thought of almost everything to make your stay as good as possible. Don't worry at all if you've forgotten to bring something from home, chances are it'll be there somewhere. The only thing that may possibly put people off is the fact that the house has a couple of dogs, but they are friendly and quiet and only add to the homely atmosphere."

We would wholeheartedly recommend Ballymote House, and would stay there again in an instant.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

What a lovely review, many thanks indeed. We really enjoyed playing a bit part of your big day, and Daisy says she enjoyed your company as well as photobombing the pics. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here so much and looking forward to seeing the photos. All the best in your new life together, Nicola and James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

My wife & I stayed at Ballymote House for four nights. Not only was it a wonderful and quite unique experience, we were made to feel part of the family. The breakfasts, pots of tea (coffee if preferred) and biscuits notwithstanding, throughout our stay, Nicola & James added to the overall experience of staying in a fabulous old house in a rural setting second to none. Furthermore, James’s personal knowledge of his illustrious heritage, family equestrian and farming added to our engaging conversations.

Our next trip to Ireland will no doubt include a stay at Ballymote House – if only to conclude the in-depth discussions I had with James concerning structural efficiencies of ultra-high-strength steels and off-road vehicles … and his home-baked bread and biscuits are rather good also!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TT-NomadMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

So glad you're enjoying your stay at Ballymote , and James really enjoyed talking about off-road vehicles, steel etc! Would love to have you stay again and thank you for taking the time and trouble to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Ballymote house for two nights as we were in town for a wedding and were immediately greeted with warmth and kindness. This was my first time staying at a bed and breakfast and must say it did not disappoint! We booked the Curtis room and it was immaculate. Filled with everything we might need including wifi and phone recharging cords in case we needed them.

The bed was incredibly comfortable. I've never had a better sleep. The owners James and Nicola were great hosts! It was a pleasure to have met and stayed with them.

If we are ever back in Downpatrick again I would highly recommend this place for a couple of nights.

Thanks again James,

-Katelyn and Chris

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you for your lovely review and very glad enjoyed it so much! We are so lucky here at Ballymote and really enjoy sharing it with out guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Sorry Tripadvisor, the usual 'marks out of five' score isn't enough here. I was looking for something a bit out of the ordinary for my wife's birthday and Ballymote House seemed to fit the bill. It turns out I made the right decision. I initially spoke to Nicola on the phone and confirmed there was a room available. Getting sorted was simple and quick, just my card details needed to secure the booking.
On arrival we were warmly greeted by owner, James, who took our suitcase upstairs and showed us our room, then offered us a welcome cup of tea and some home made biscuits. While we enjoyed our tea he chatted with us and asked what sort of things we were hoping to do during our visit. He was then able to offer us a host of suggestions for places to see, things to do, where to eat, and more. We didn't want to stay out too late so we headed into Ardglass for something to eat and then returned to Ballymote around 9pm intending to just chill out with a bottle of wine then early to bed. Unfortunately that plan went by the wayside when we got talking with James and his son Edward. James' knowledge on numerous topics is encyclopedic and we ended up sharing wine and chat until after midnight. As the old saying goes 'a good night was had by all'. We finally headed to bed around 1am (so much for the early night) and we'd probably all have stayed up longer if we hadn't had to be up for 9am next morning for breakfast. The room we stayed in was The Curtis Room and the bed was one of the softest and comfiest I've ever slept in. Breakfast was excellent, with a selection of cereals, yogurt and fruit compote, freshly squeezed juice, home made bread and jams, followed by a full cooked fry-up. As with the previous night James took time out to chat with us while we enjoyed our meal. The welcome we received was second to none and we felt like we were staying with long time friends.
There are a few things that make Ballymote House different from other B&Bs. Firstly it's a true countryhouse experience. The building is a proper old country house with sash windows that rattled slightly in the wind. No double glazing here, but the heavy curtains mask out any noise you might hear, and keep the room cosy. There are no modern power showers, only a giant bath with a shower attachment - just as good. Furniture is not Ikea, it's traditional, antique, comfortable and solid, from when things were built to last. Nicola and James have thought of almost everything to make your stay as good as possible. Don't worry at all if you've forgotten to bring something from home, chances are it'll be there somewhere. The only thing that may possibly put people off is the fact that the house has a couple of dogs, but they are friendly and quiet and only add to the homely atmosphere.
Ballymote House is slightly more expensive than most B&Bs but it's worth every penny. I can highly recommend staying there and will definitely be back.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PaulHFromCranley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Glad you found us so special,we try and make everyone's stay truely memorable, made so much easier by Ballymote being so fabulous! We are so fortunate to be able to share it with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We found Ballymote randomly on the web and almost booked somewhere else . We are so glad we didn't!

Ballymote and the family who run it, offered us a very warm welcome, a fantastically comfy stay and delicious breakfasts. Our girls in particular loved the fact that there were horses in the yard, dogs to play with and hosts who had time to talk to them and tell them all about life in this beautiful house.

Would highly recommend if you are looking for the personal touch and the opportunity to stay in a genuine, working country house.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panzapony, Owner at Ballymote Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

So pleased you found us! We thoroughly enjoyed showing the girls all the animals and the horses and I'm so pleased that they had such an enjoyable time. Thank you for reviewing us and hopefully see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews