We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place and the Best Breakfast EVER!”
Review of The River Mill B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Downpatrick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The River Mill B&B
Ranked #7 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Ok this place is a little of the normal path but it's well worth the stay. Make sure to call and get verbal directions because our GPS had us in a different place. The breakfast was unbelievable. We enjoyed the hosts and the rooms were beautiful. Super great place!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

What a great review! Thank you so so much.
It was a pleasure to have you to stay. We are delight you enjoyed your breakfast so much and the time you spent at The River Mill.
We are aware of the problem with some GPS systems. So you are absolutely right to advise other guests to follow the directions that we supply with each booking.
Once again many thanks and we hope you can return again to Co Down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for The River Mill B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

It's a bit hard to find, even with GPS because it's kind of in the middle of a field :-) So don't even consider it if you don't have a car. Very pretty b&b, nice room design, caring owners - welcoming cup of tea/coffee with a muffin was a good bonus. Our room had exit straight to the street which was great, because we came back after party and wouldn't be great to awake all the house.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breath777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit.
We are aware of the problem with some GPS systems which is why we supply directions with each booking and offer transfers.
You are welcome back anytime and once again thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

we stayed only one night at this b&b and were very happy with the entire experience. It was a little hard to find but well worth it. It was down a narrow country road but no traffic.

We were greeted on arrival by the owners with beautiful scones and tea. We stayed on the bottom floor in a very large bedroom and "wet" room.

Breakfast was great with homemade produce. The hosts have spent a lot of time on renovating the old mill and have done a great job. Very accommodating hosts who also recommended a local pub nearby for dinner that night as we had had a very long day. The dinner at the pub was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teebee49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

What a fantastic review thank you very much we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the homecooking. It was a pleasure to have you to stay hopefully you will return again to Co .Down you are welcome back anytime. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here while over for a wedding. The location is great- quiet countryside but close enough to town that you can go to restaurants etc. We were really impressed with the modern, clean room complete with king size bed and power shower and the owners could not have been nicer. The breakfasts provided were fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

What a wonderful review thank you so very much for taking the time to do this. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and we are delighted you enjoyed your time in The River Mill and in Co Down. Thank you and you are very welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My husband, myself and our two children, ages 3 and 9 stayed here for two nights for a weekend away to discover the area of Downpatrick. From the moment we stepped into Aiden and Theresa's beautiful home, we felt like family, a warm welcome along with warm home made scones and jam awaited us. They had even gone so far as to dig out a couple of dvd's for the kids to watch, not that we needed them in the end as we had so much to do thanks to their thoughtful and spot on recommendations of local attractions. The River Mill was beautifully presented and designed, our family room with two large double beds and very large shower/wet room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean with the added bonus of having our own door to come and go as we please. Breakfast was a feast fit for a King (and Queen!!). We've stayed in B&B's before with the children but nowhere with such a warm and friendly atmosphere and yet still able to have our own space. We are definitely planning to visit again, Thank you so much for a lovely experience. Cathy, Nick, Sophie and Jack.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

What an amazing review thank you so very much. It was a total delight to have you and the (very well mannered children) to stay and you are welcome back anytime. We are pleased you enjoyed Co Down and all it has to offer. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife, 4 month old son Abe, and I stayed here for a night on our way through Downpatrick as part of a month loop through Ireland. We had never stayed in a B&B in our lives (we usually camp or stay in hostels), so we weren't sure what to expect. If all B&Bs are like the River Mill and all hosts this wonderful, we may never stay in another type of place ever again.

Theresa and Aidan were great hosts. They made us feel very welcome when we got there (and doted on the baby) and happily talked to us throughout our stay (later on, we stayed at a few B&Bs that, while very nice to stay in, were a little more business and a little less social). My wife was offered fresh strawberries from the garden. The room was very large and very nice with a private door out to the driveway where the car was parked. The bed was comfortable and large as well (good for us with the baby, and needs to be fed during the night). The building and immediate area were also very pleasant to look at and wander around.

And of course, there is the breakfast part of B&B. Breakfast was delicious and large. I couldn't eat it all, although everything was great!

All of this just a few miles south of Downpatrick (maybe a ten minute drive, if you drive slow like I do).

Some things to check out while you're at the B&B:
- the photo book of when the mill was being fixed up and remodeled.
- there is a stream running through the garden with a cow pen on the other side of the fence, for those that like gardens, streams, or cows (I happen to like all three)
- the large pastures just a two minute walk down the road.
- as previously mentioned by others, don't miss the 20 minute short film "The Shore". Very well done (obviously, as it won an Oscar) and entertaining. - http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2201259/

The only minor issue we had was in actually finding the B&B, largely because we didn't check the "location" section of their website (whoops) the day before. If you are taking the Killough Road south out of Downpatrick as we did, wait and make the left turn onto Grange Road, then the right onto Ballyclander Rd.

Can't thank everyone enough, definitely one of the best places we stayed our whole trip!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikebickerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivermill, Owner at The River Mill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Oh what a fantastic review. Thank you so much for taking the time to do this review it is so kind of you and has great detailed helpful information. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and baby Abe was an utter delight. Your welcome back anytime and we are delighted that you enjoyed visiting Downpatrick, Co Down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We started out our adventure in Northern Ireland at the port city of Ardglass. We stayed just outside, a mere couple of kilometers from town, at the River Mill. What a great place - down a beautiful (albeit very, very narrow) country road to a spacious B&B with great large rooms, wonderful gardens and gracious hosts! This was the perfect place for a bunch of golfers who played Royal County Down and Ardglass (two different days). Aidan and Theresa recommendations for things to do were spot on, their breakfasts excellent and their home made jelly to die for! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you so much for the great review. We very much enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return if you come to play the magnificent Ardglass Golf Course again . The jam/jelly we make is from the fruit growing in the garden we are delighted you enjoyed it. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
3.8 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
108 reviews
8.1 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ballymote Country House
Ballymote Country House
#4 of 10 in Downpatrick
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 10 in Downpatrick
95 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nutgrove House
Nutgrove House
#6 of 10 in Downpatrick
17 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Cuan
The Cuan
#1 of 2 in Strangford
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Mill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Mill B&B

Address: 43 Ballyclander Road | Ardglass, Downpatrick BT30 7DE, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Price Range: £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent newly restored Mill - a hidden treasure in the heart of Co. Down Ireland.The River Mill is situated in the countryside 2 miles from Ardglass in St Patrick’s Country. Television tea/coffee making facilities in bedrooms. Historic & Ancient sites. Restaurants and golf courses. Herbal Healing Clinic on doorstep. 45 minutes from George Best City Airport, 75mins from Belfast International Airport, 2 hours from Dublin. Transfers can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The River Mill B&B Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing