We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunches!”
Review of Daily Grind

Daily Grind
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Lunches!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

You have to try the Daily Grind, the food suits everyone and are some of the best salad combinations I have ever had. The food is fresh, there is a wonderful aroma of coffee and the staff are welcoming and very friendly. Nothing in the café is a problem. It is a very busy spot so do expect to queue if you are going from 12:30 to 1:30pm. The prices are reasonable but due to its upstairs location may not suit all customers. If you are in Downpatrick I would definitely give it a try!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CathJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    18
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little gem of a place! ”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Great menu, lots of interesting choices. Well priced, friendly staff, tasty food. Worth a visit. Just remember to keep your eyes open for the entrance, it's not the easiest to find.

Helpful?
Thank krb-1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Down
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best place in town!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Great food and service are always guaranteed in the Daily Grind.The menu suits all tastes and is freshly prepared.It's definitely the best food in town.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ger111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Came in to get lunch was greeted at door and sat to table.
Coffee arrived quickly food not far behind.
But staff never came back to check on us or offer a top up of coffee.
Also had to leave to come back to pay cash as there is no card facilities.
Clean and tidy but not overly friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Cazpf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth the search”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It took a while to find the Daily Grind as apparently the sign had blown off a few days before in one of the storms. Nevertheless the locals obviously knew where it was as it was packed when we arrived. We were quickly allocated a table by very friendly staff and our order was taken right away and delivered shortly afterwards. We both chose one of the many salads on offer and thoroughly enjoyed them. The choice on the menu was certainly impressive and the prices were very reasonable. Next time we are in Downpatrick we won't think of going anywhere else for lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyjames81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daily Grind also viewed

Downpatrick, County Down
 
Downpatrick, County Down
Crossgar, Downpatrick
 
Crossgar, Downpatrick
Downpatrick, County Down
 

Been to Daily Grind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing