We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very weird experience.”
Review of Raw Spice - CLOSED

Raw Spice
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very weird experience.”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Popped in with daughter on way to cinema. Front of house man was quite unpleasant. Made a whole show of looking in the diary to see if he could give us a table in the empty restaurant. During our meal only 2 other tables became occupied so I don't understand the problem. Anyway, he continued to be quite abrasive. To top it all when I asked to have the leftovers of the meal as a take away he suddenly appeared with 2 foil containers and a plastic bag and literally plonked them down on the table in front of me. To top it all, following payment my credit card was not returned and I had to search round the front desk where it was left lying. The one good point was the food was delicious plus there was another lovely man who I wish had served us as he was extremely pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately we will not be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Puzzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    2
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Indian for takeaways”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We usually get a takeaway for delivery from Raw Spice and they have been great every time. Always fresh and tasty and not too greasy which is a rare event for a takeaway! My favourite is the chicken tikka puri starter and the lamb balti.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great every time”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Never disappointed. Mainly takeaways for collection. Always tasty and on time. Have sat in on one occassion on a quiet weekday, Food delicious. Waiter attentive but not intrusive. Will definitely go again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best India cousin ever”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The best Moth watering food. I new the chef for along time. I what there today and he made the best indian food ever I well never go any where ales but raw spice. And u get a good meal deal
Can anything get better

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Mahir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Down
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Only started eating Indian lately (even though this is a local to me) but had this place is great food was beautiful good sized portions quickly served and nice staff.

Would defo be back !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Nic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raw Spice also viewed

Crossgar, Downpatrick
 
Downpatrick, County Down
Downpatrick, County Down
 
Crossgar, Downpatrick
Crossgar, Downpatrick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing