We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Denvir's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Denvir's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downpatrick
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed in Denvir's while visiting friends in the area & have to say we had a great time!
Accommodation was spacious, clean & comfortable.
We had dinner & breakfast during our stay, both of which were excellent. Great portions & very tasty!
A relaxing & enjoyable stay, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDMINX21181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Over the past number of years we have been frequent customers at Denvirs and would have been very happy with our meals.We ate at Denvirs on Sunday 3.11.13 and to say we are disappointed would be an understatement. The food served was awfull not only was it bad it was only fit for pigs to eat.The young man who served us needs also to be told not to call his customers "mate" and when a meal is not eaten he should at least ask himself why. To give a balance to this review the pate and toast was fairly good
Should the management wish to meet me I would gladly speak directly to them.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lorraine059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We arrived too late to get a room but the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful in recommending a nearby b&b (number nine B&b- see my review of this great place) and phoning to get us a room. then, even though the dining room was closing they took pity on us and said they would keep it open so we could eat as there was nowhere else in town. They sat us down in the historic atmospheric dining room and advised that the best deal, the one the locals ate, was the special of two courses at virtually no more than the price of a main off the menu. While we waited for the food they chatted about the local sights and landmarks and gave directions. The dinner could hardly have been better and washed down with a Guiness or two we felt great. If only all pubs and their managers were this good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RolandWorldTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My children & I stayed in Denvir`s on 10th & 11th August for a short break. We found the staff to be very friendly & attentive. Our room was very spacious & well laid out. Our meal was lovely & great value! The kids really enjoyed it & we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coraline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

we had two rooms booked as we were attending a wedding close by in downpatrick when we arrived and checked with the staff where the car park was we were told it was in the tiny area at the back in among picnic tables which only had space for about two cars. then on entering the hotel the first greeting at reception was a very dirty mat at the door and the awful smell of whatever oil they use to cook. after standing waiting for a while i had to look for a staff member,the girl looked less than enthusiastic however she did change our rooms so the younger ones in the group had the room on the higher floor. on going upstairs the carpet was filthy i think it was supposed to be green but was more black and the smell from downstairs was even stronger. the rooms were disgusting there was enough dust under the beds that i could have written this review in it!!! the dust was also piled in the corners of the room especially behind the doors, the bathroom had mould growing in it and hairs in the bath. the whole place needs a really good clean. we then checked out a few minutes later, on giving the keys to a different staff member she didnt look surprised and never said a word. i would not recommend this hotel to anyone it is disgusting and the service is really bad especially as the young guy i spoke to on the phone when booking was lovely. i will never stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aniska14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here as we were attending a wedding at the Ballyduggan Mill and we could not get a room anywhere else. The whole hotel is very run down and dirty. The bedroom was really bad. Everything was thick with dust including the decorative cushions on the bed. The floor was really dusty and there were cobwebs all round the windows. The bath was the worst though, the shower curtain around it was black with mould and mildew, it was so gross I was afraid to touch it so ended up soaking the floor! It was remniscent of dodgy student accomodation! However, the bed itself was clean and there were clean towels and hot water. The staff were friendly and helpful but this hotel is definitely not worth £70 a night and we could not recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gallpoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hospitality at Denvir's is top notch. The music after dinner is fun, but if you don't plan to attend look up the dates ahead of time to avoid it or bring earplugs. We personally were not bothered and the teenagers enjoyed it. Breakfast was my favorite out of all the B&B's we stayed in N. Ireland. Rooms are spacious and it has an ideal location in the middle of lovely Downpatrick.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
5.6 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
280 reviews
10.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
130 reviews
7.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
160 reviews
15.7 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
18.4 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denvir's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denvir's Hotel

Address: 14-16 English Street, Downpatrick BT30 6AB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Downpatrick
Price Range: £68 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A country home away from home! Established in 1642, Denvir's Hotel is steeped in history and is the perfect setting for a relaxing break. Offering old world charm in the heart of Downpatrick, Denvir's has a long tradition of sheltering travellers and will endeavour to ensure that your stay will be a memorable one. Now part of the award winning Botanic Inns group, Denvir’s is the oldest surviving coaching inn in Ireland and is now a grade ‘A’ listed building. The building itself has been extensively and sympathetically renovated while retaining its original character. With six attractive and beautifully restored bedrooms, a restaurant, lounge and snug bars as well as two function rooms for hire; there are many reasons to visit Denvir’s. All of Downpatrick's best historical attractions are located on the same road as Denvirs. St Patricks Grave, The Catherdral and the Gaol are all located on English Street. So we're in the heart of the action! We look forward to welcoming you to Denvir's Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Denvir's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denvirs Hotel Downpatrick
Denvir's Hotel Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing