We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waste of money for children”

The Saint Patrick Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$7.49*
and up
Saint Patrick Centre Admission Ticket
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Downpatrick
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Waste of money for children”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Not worth paying for. This is a very small modern attraction with little information. Paid extra to see a film which made people feel sick it was like sitting in an helicopter and I would not recommend to anyone. Go to the free museum instead which is a 5 star free attraction.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank accountsclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim C, General Manager at The Saint Patrick Centre, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Sorry you didn't enjoy it. The exhibition is actually quite large and takes over an hour to go around but we advise anyone with children that they might get most enjoyment and value for money by going to our Imax instead - which is the final part of the presentation. I'm guessing you saw the Northern Ireland Environment Exhibition in our foyer, which is free - as is most of the building. We always advise those who have motion sickness to sit closer to the back as it is indeed a helicopter ride. At £3 it's as cheap as chips and we often have children's events for free- still, again sorry you didn't like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    10
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice stop in downpatrick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

wonderful Peace Garden

entry fee appropriate. little cafe served nice food.
film about St Patrick very informative

small gift shop with gifts & books

a good start

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LBVictoria2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

we started off our trip to Downpatrick in the Centre cafe well worth a visit, then we took the self tour this was very good and the story of St Patrick was well told well layed out and easy to follow . give it a visit when in Downpatrick

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank flex43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Autumn break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Very bright and cheerful, informative, displays good, good value for money but no concessions for Seniors, Good tea room

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Well, this is Downpatrick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

A fine focal point in this town.Helpful staff and some good publications. I called to the church in Saul , which is nearby, as well as the reputed grave .of St.Patrick. A nice place that does not overly use its historic importance to sell goods and services.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CorkTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saint Patrick Centre also viewed

Downpatrick, County Down
Downpatrick, County Down
 
Downpatrick, County Down
 

Been to The Saint Patrick Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing