We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 10 Downpatrick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Just returned from a family event in Downpatrick and stayed in Number Nine. This place was very comfortable, first class breakfast and the beds were so comfortable. We wanted to tour the town and were so delighted that Angela accompanied us around all of the attractions, an added bonus. Her knowledge of the district was second to none and if anyone is looking to book accommodation in downpatrick dont pass this place.

Room Tip: Angela has many years experience in the Tourist Profession. She definately goes the extra mile
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela G, Owner at Number Nine Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Delighted you enjoyed your stay in number nine and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming your family back to Downpatrick sometime in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
29
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

lovely place to stay clean and home from home Angela very helpful with my visitors , set in a beautiful area five min walk from town centre and five min to the famous healing wells(struel ) will use again spring for visiting family ,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela G, Owner at Number Nine Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Delighted that your guests were happy with our accommodation. We look forward to welcoming many more to Number Nine where they can be assured of a very warm welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magheralin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Lovely place to stay, Angela was very welcoming and made us feel right at home. Room was perfect and breakfast was lovely. Only a fiver in the taxi to ballyduggan mill. Will definitely be back next time we need to stay in downpatrick.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela G, Owner at Number Nine Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Delighted to have welcomed you both to our accommodation and thanks for your lovely comments. I look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future and I can then accompany you round the many attractions Downpatrick has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

This wonderful and homely bed and breakfast was a wonderful place to stay. As a solo traveller I stayed in a twin room that had a large and spotless ensuite. The bed was so comfortable, very soft and warm, and I slept very well. The rooms had everything you would need. Angela was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There is a view of the Mourne Mountains from the breakfast room. The breakfast was generous and delicious, including fresh fruit, croissant, and bacon and eggs. Angela kindly drove me to the bus station after a little tour of Downpatrick. Number Nine feels like a home away from home and I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenia101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela G, Owner at Number Nine Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful endorsement, It was great to welcome you to our home and I enjoyed very much showing you some of our sights in Downpatrick. Hope you can come back sometime again and explore more of Downpatrick and County Down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I was delighted to find this little gem of a B&B. I travel a lot with work and felt very at home here and had a great nights sleep, a nice (big) breakfast and a very friendly chat with the owner. I will stay here again whenever I am in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela G, Owner at Number Nine Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. it's good to know you enjoyed your breakfast. I hope sometime in the future you can return and I can take you in a tour of this area and you can discover many of our hidden gems. Thanks once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We ended up, by chance, in Downpatrick pub in the evening and tried to get a room but it was full. The staff recommended this B&B and we turned up late after dinner, tired and just wanting bed. We were helped with our luggage (the first and only time it happened on our Irish trip) into a large, clean, comfortable and cosy room by the owners who took the time to show us the facilities, offer us tea/coffee and a chat but withdrew discreetly when we said we needed sleep. The next morning, after a shower in a spotless and well equipped bathroom, we sat down in a small, bright and airy dining/kitchen area and chatted to Angela while she prepared our breakfast to our order and it was big and good and not at all greasy like our previous B&B's. In a bit her husband Edmond and their son appeared and soon it was like having tea and good times with your family and friends so that before we knew it half the morning was gone. So this is what the real Ireland is all about! Highest recommendation. Lovely.

Room Tip: Our room was that of their daughter who is married and gone which explains the quality. Ask for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandWorldTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela G, Owner at Number Nine Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Delighted you were pleased with your welcome, accommodation and breakfast. We really enjoyed meeting you both and trust you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I am sorry my stay was only for one night. Very friendly and helpful. Was picked up and taken to the bus. The house was well kept and I was made feel very welcome. I look forward to making a return visit and recommend this accommodation to any one looking for a clean friendly place to stay. A real Irish welcome awaits you.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela G, Owner at Number Nine Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Margaret it was our pleasure to welcome you to our home. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to Downpatrick and I hope you do visit us again when you have more time to visit the surrounding area and enjoy many of the local tourist attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downpatrick
0.5 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 4 in Downpatrick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
7.3 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
10.8 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
10.6 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
6.7 mi away
The Cuan
The Cuan
#1 of 2 in Strangford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Nine Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Nine Bed and Breakfast

Property: Number Nine Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Knockchree Road, Downpatrick BT30 6RP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Downpatrick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Downpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This accommodation has a double en-suite or standard twin room which have a colour television; central heating; tea/coffee making facilities; free Wi-Fi and hair-dryer Guests will also have access to a residents lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Number Nine Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Nine Bed And Breakfast Downpatrick, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing