We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best nights dining ever . FACT .”
Review of Castillo - CLOSED

Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Description: We have the finest locally reared meats, vegetables in season, world class dairy produce, and incredible fresh fish. Every day it is a joy to see what is fresh and interesting and create a menu around that. To experiment and try new things, as well as to make classic dishes." Castillo draws on the French tradition, real fine dining, combined with the flavours of Morocco, Spain and Italy served with modernity and flair. Everything freshly prepared, every dish unique - passion and taste on a plate.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best nights dining ever . FACT .”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

An absolute hidden gem ....
This has to be the finest restaurant we have every came across .
And really don’t know where to start with this review . but let’s go

13 of family & friends arrived all at the same time to start a wee night out in the village ..

On arrival we all got greeted by the friendliest staff and were seated ..

The place is really cool .comfortable ambiance and unique decor .no 2 walls the same ??
just feels right and very comfortable …at weekends Castillo have bistro nights and byo with no corkage charge sometimes with music ..this was our wee night ..
Starters main course & desert !!!

Ok my starter .
Crispy duck with a soft egg & bacon bits OMG I mean you can taste it right now ??? yea !!!
Main course
Again mine …Rib eye steak medium .. TO DIE FOR…and that’s no understatement .potatoes and fresh and crunchy veg …triple cooked chips ..what else can I say just fantastic ..

I didn’t have I desert but others did and the feedback was tremendous ..

With all said …if you don’t try Castillo you haven’t lived .. & I challenge any critic to come back and reply …

"Team Castillo you guys rock "


Its 10 outta 10 for us guys

Enjoy ..over and out ..

Ellablue

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellablue2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    9
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
saintfield
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“king of the castillo killough”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

this hidden gem of a restaurant is located near ardglass have seen 5 times or more .the room is small and very quirky with unusual bottled water containers. as for the food there are daily specials recommend the duck and chorizo chicken the desserts are great value and top class. service is excellent by very friendly emer georgina and others. at weekends Castillo have bistro nights and byo with no corkage charge sometimes with music , closed on Mondays highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You must experience this place”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Castillo is a fantastic restaurant situated in the picturesque village of Killough,Co,Down.
If its great food and friendly service you enjoy then you must pay Castillo a visit.
The Chef has a professional eye for presentation making each dish a feast for the eyes aswell as being delicious on the palate.
Our waitress was warm and friendly and as soon as we walked into Castillo we felt right at home with its comfortable ambiance and unique decor.
Whether you choose from the lunch menu or the fine dining menu in the evening Castillo won't disappoint .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
killough downpatrick
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the quirky little bistro by the sea .”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

just had a quick take away out of castillo in killough and all i can say is eat ur heart out betties,the belmont and even richies they are not a patch on castillo
the batter was light and fluffy batter, the home made chipped potatoes were to die for no grease
i invite any one to try the menu if you dont like it i will pay ur bill myself.. they are taking bookings for xmas and new year limited seats so hurry and book ,is the atmosphere is chill time and the staff are charming!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Castillo in a new restaurant with quirky decor and an off- beat but relaxing atmosphere. We joined friends for dinner on Saturday. The food was freshly cooked to order. My starter was a mouth-watering warm black pudding scotch egg and my main was roast duck with spicy linguine. The menu is limited but changes frequently and the choices are a very welcome change from the usual restaurant fare available around here. We have been for lunch before and will definitely re-visit for dinner. I urge you to go and support this new restaurant if you appreciate really good cooking.The service was very friendly and efficient and its really great value!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank raymondc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castillo also viewed

Crossgar, Downpatrick
Crossgar, Downpatrick
 
Downpatrick, County Down
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing