We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newcastle Country Cottages
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We just love staying at Horsewalk Cottage! We have already booked for next year and looking forward to it already. Excellent accommodation and the location is excellent! I would love to try it at Christmas!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizWhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2011

In one word Fabulous! My mum and I had such a marvelous time here in Horsewalk Cottage. Top marks for Comfort and the cottage is so clean and tidy and they have thought on all comfort's. The service is second to none. A great welcome and anything you need you only have to ask. The rooms are so comfortable and peacefull just what we needed. The location is so handy to the town itself. A Tesco store is just a short distance down the road for all your shopping requirements. Beautiful views of the Mourne Mountains from the cottages. This is our second stay here and hopefully there will be many more in the furture! I can highly recommend Newcastle Country Cottages for your stay, no problems here at all!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mou92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My partner and i wanted a quiet weekend away and was reccommened newcastle country cottages, it was absolutely brilliant, very quiet, lovely views of the mourne mountains, and very relaxing. Jacuzzi in the bathroom was a brillant added bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank kathshears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in McKnights cottage for a weekend in January and it was absolutely perfect. The cottages are immaculate, comfortable and well-equipped with everything you could possibly need. The shower was fantastic!!
They are close to surrounding towns and villages so its peaceful but convenient to the local attractions, bars and restaurants. The staff are friendly and the booking service was easy.
We had a really lovely stay and will definitely return - highly recommended for couples, solo travellers and families alike.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesmax41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Just back from a Lovely Halloween break at Newcastle Country Cottages. It is just situated a very short drive from the Town Center of Newcastle, County Down. It was handy to a big tesco for getting the food and also there is loads of resturants and food places within a short drive.

From the minute you arrive, you get the feeling of luxury and attention to detail with the perfectly cut hedges and well kept grounds. We parked the car and where warmly meet by Sarah (one of the owners). She showed us to our cottage, where all the eseentials where like turning the heating on, how the showers work, etc. and then left us to get settled in.

The cottage was done to a very high standard and also very family friendly which is essential with young children. Outside of the cottage was a massive green area for the kids to run around in and also had a outdoor play area with swings and slides.

The view of the mourne mountians took our breath away, great for sitting and relaxing with a cup of coffee.

One of the nicest places I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewBFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.4 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
3.4 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#17 of 18 in Newcastle
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
162 reviews
2.7 mi away
Slieve Donard Cottage
Slieve Donard Cottage
#12 of 18 in Newcastle
11 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newcastle Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newcastle Country Cottages

Address: 8 Church Hill, Newcastle BT33 0JU, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Newcastle
Price Range: £82 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newcastle Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newcastle Country cottages are situated one mile from Newcastle town centre and offer breathtaking views of the Mourne Mountains. This former farm estate has a variety of 4 and 5 star accommodation to suit every taste. We have a total of 8 properties ranging from one to three bedroom including Rockmount Country House. All properties come fully equipted with modern appliances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Newcastle Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newcastle Country Cottages Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing