We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Enniskeen Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Stunning Stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at this boutique hotel on a short break to Northern Ireland.

On arrival we had the Mourne Honey Afternoon Tea on the balcony, with a great view of the Mourne Mountains. The afternoon tea was very good and included homemade sandwiches, scones, brack, cakes and desserts and a selection of teas.

That night we had dinner in the restaurant and were again very impressed. The set menu was reasonably priced and even included steak without a surcharge.

We both ordered the full ulster fry for breakfast which was excellent.

The next evening we ordered off the early dinner menu, and we both ordered the Ardglass Scampi after hearing good things. It lived up to its reputation.

There is a short walk down to the river (on the grounds of the hotel) and it is worth your while to venture down.

The room had great views of the mountains and was very spacious.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 which has excellent views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desigoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    59
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
53
104
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful location. Our room had stunning views on all sides. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. It was a short walk in to Newcastle town centre and there was a beautiful walk within the grounds of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here overnight on our way to a wedding. Easy to find, our sat nav brought us right to the door. We got a very warm, friendly welcome at reception and were pleasantly surprised to discover a passenger lift to the accommodation floor. We opened the door of room 15 and were literally stunned with the panorama of the Mournes sweeping down to the sea. Our bay window actually afforded views down the expansive garden over the sea to Murlough Bay from Newcastle.

Once we set the bags down we just sat by the open window where we could actually feel the silence and peacefulness of the location - our room had flat screen TV, clock radio and a kettle with tea and coffee - WiFi worked well. The room was spotless, white bed linen and immaculate windows. The bathroom was spacious with a good shower over the bath, lots of fresh towels, and plenty of toiletries, again it was spotless.

After just sitting for half an hour or so we headed 5 minutes down the road into the centre of Newcastle before returning for dinner. The dining room was cosy and intimate and on the same side of the house as our room, so had the same wonderful panorama looking up Slieve Donard. Staff were friendly, warm, efficient and very approachable. The menu was very local with a great choice off the set menu or an a la carte option - we were very well catered for. There was a bit of a buzz as the place was quite busy, so that passed the evening very pleasantly.

When we retired for the night it was such a shame to close out that view that we left the blinds open - that night was so peaceful, the bed very comfortable, and no noise from anywhere inside or outside the house. Waking with the sunrise was the highlight of my stay - closely followed by rolling over and going back to sleep!

Breakfast was in the same dining room with a great selection of fresh juice, fruit salad, cooked items etc, all served by the friendly, enthusiastic (but not intrusive) staff. We had arranged a late check-out in order to get ready for the wedding and reception was very accommodating.

I have stayed in retreat houses that were less peaceful than the Enniskeen - I genuinely didn't want to leave - we'll be back! If you're considering a stay here - go for it! It would make a fabulous base for touring the Kingdom of Mourne, or for just escaping from the world.

Room Tip: The side facing away from the car park faces the Mournes and those lovely gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REVGDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Beautifully located hotel on the outskirts of Newcastle with superb views of the Mourne Mountains. Although an older hotel it was very clean and tidy. Food was excellent and varied and could be tweaked if necessary!. Staff were very friendly and attentive especially Eileen who seemed to work 24 hours a day. Ian the owner/barman was a treasure. Would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed one night in a deluxe room with fantastic views of the Mournes from the windows. The building and surroundings were absolutely beautiful. The garden was lovely and the walk to the river at the bottom of the garden was very peaceful. The room was basic but very clean and the views made up for anything lost in luxury. Good food and extremely friendly staff. We will definitely be back - a hidden gem!

Room Tip: We paid the extra to ensure we got a room with a mountain view - it really was worth it, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grainne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

On 17th June 2014, my wife and I had lunch and the 5 stares were Eileen the attentive manageress, Ian the raconteur barman, Christopher the pleasant waiter and the chef and sous-chef who produced the quality food we ate. There was an ambience second to none in the dining room, with views of Donard and Commedagh as we enjoyed our 4 course lunch listening to saxophone solos in the background.
With our melon fan starters and main course of spring lamb tucked under our belts, the rhubarb crumble dessert was delectable. We finished with Assam tea. As we left we knew we would return for the 5 star treatment!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMOBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

we stayed for two nights 13 -15 June and had a deluxe room which was lovely. The view of the Mourne Mountains from the room was fantastic. The bathroom was excellent with a good shower above the bath.
The grounds of the hotel have a good walk to the Shimna River and you able to wind down the path to it and walk past plants and shrubs that are sold by the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a deluxe room which overlooks the Mourne Mountains. rooms on other side of hotel overlook th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
0.9 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
123 reviews
0.5 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
150 reviews
16.3 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
2.7 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#13 of 18 in Newcastle
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enniskeen Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enniskeen Country House Hotel

Property: Enniskeen Country House Hotel
Address: 98 Bryansford Road, Newcastle BT33 0LF, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newcastle
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enniskeen Country House hotel; a mountainside hideaway, this family-run hotel rests in the lush Shimna Valley just outside Newcastle Co Down; Explore the hotels stunning 12 acre estate and winding woodland trail down to the Shimna river; And enjoy the striking views over Northern Ireland's highest mountain Slieve Donard and the Irish Sea. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Enniskeen Country House Hotel Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing