We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Enniskeen Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cherryhill Lodge(Newcastle)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donard Hotel(Newcastle)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
143
63
10
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
63
10
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmourne mountainsriver walkresidents loungestunning viewsfamily run hotellike stepping back in timehome cookingsash windowsafternoon teastayed recentlyperfect hotelpreservessalmonhome madeshort breakwine listpavlova
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We stayed in this lovely hotel for a weekend, Saturday to Monday. It was very relaxing, lovely atmosphere, attentive staff and excellent food. The surroundings were beautiful, our room looked out to the mountains, which was very nice, especially when the clouds lifted. That was the only problem we had....the weather, but the lovely hotel made up for that. The dining room was very olde worlde , with lovely wood panelling on the walls and nice soft background music. The menu was varied and very well cooked and presented. Our room was comfortable and a very satisfactory shower en suite.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthreid26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Enniskeen Country House Hotel for your weekend getaway.

It's great to know that you are impressed with every aspect of the stay. Your kind compliments are much appreciated and the staff team benefit greatly from being congratulated for getting it right.

We are delighted to receive such positive feedback and look forward to your return visits.

Kind Regards
Eileen and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We stayed here on a lovely sunny bank holiday weekend and booked the room with the balcony which looks out over the Mournes. Would highly recommend this room.

The staff were excellent and couldn't be more helpful, we've returned since then to have some afternoon tea on their terrace. The hotel is nicely situated about 10 mins walk from Newcastle, with lovely well maintained grounds.

As others have stated it has an old world charm about it, but does updating in some areas. The bedroom we stayed in was fresh and modern, and would rather stay here than the impersonal Slieve Donard nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it is only by listening to our customers that we can learn how they feel about their experience.
Indeed, the balcony room truly has a spectacular view of the Mourne Mountains and can be fully enjoyed when the weather is warm and sunny.
The groundsman and staff really do appreciate acknowledgement from guests for their input and we thank you for your contribution to share your experience.
Rest assured improvements and upgrading are ongoing on a gradual basis to progress the business onwards and upwards.

Looking forward to welcoming you on your return.
Kind Regards
Eileen and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the enniskeen for our wedding weekend and loved it. My bridesmaids and I stayed the night before the wedding too and the staff were so accommodating on the morning of the wedding. The room we stayed in had stunning views, we had breakfast every morning and Sunday lunch before we left - food is lovely. Beautiful grounds and surroundings with a lovely wee river walk. Very friendly staff. Great hotel for a quiet/peaceful weekend in Newcastle.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank JoMoo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Enniskeen Country House Hotel for your Wedding Weekend.

It's wonderful to know that you were delighted with your stay with us on such a special occasion for you both.Your high recommendations are very much appreciated and of course shared with all members of staff it certainly boosts staff morale.

We are so pleased to receive your lovely review , it was our pleasure to welcome you to stay with us and we hope to welcome you again and again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Eileen and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Just returned home from a pleasant stay at the Enniskeen Hotel, formally the country home of R J Murray the tobacco magnate whop originally came from Virginia. He built his country residence in a fabulous place on the outskirts of Newcastle in the late 1890s
later occupied by Major Panter and before being bought by the family who have been running it aas a hotel since 1960 was lived in H Lidell a well know figure in the linen industry
The exterior and interior are in keeping with having been a country house of some renound. as a base it is fairly central to Castlewellan Hilltown Newry Kilkeel Rosstrevor and Warrenpoint , if you travel roungd these places a good lunch stop would be the Lough and Quay. The staff at Enniskeen are friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. The balcony bedroom looks out onto Slieve Donard, Tomases Mountain and also the back od Commedah mountain. If you are seeking Old world charm, tranquility and friendly hospitality it is worth booking into the Enniskeen House Hotel

Room Tip: Balcony bedroom costs 20 pounds extra but worth it for views of mountains
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit to Enniskeen Country House Hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we will proudly share your positive feedback with our team.
It is our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Eileen and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

In August, 2016, 19 golfers took over all the beds at Enniskeen Country House. Overall our experience was very good. Breakfasts are great as was the group dinner that we started our trip with. Considering the relatively small size, the food is outstanding. Especially liked that there are several sitting areas to relax and visit. The bar is an added attraction. This was my second trip, so I knew that this is an old country home and is a bit dated; however, is very comfortable. The staff is considerate, well trained and exceptionally hard working. For golfers, this is a great alternative to the much more expensive and impersonal Slieve Donnard.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen J, Front Office Manager at Enniskeen Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your views with us and affording the time to do so. Our entire team of staff thank you for choosing Enniskeen Country House Hotel for your Golfing Break.
It was our pleasure to welcome the Golfing Group to Enniskeen and it's marvellous to know that the entire group were impressed and returned positive feedback to all departments.

As regards our product and decor, upgrading is gently ongoing, never stagnating. Our focus is in delivering the best possible experience for our discerning guests.

Our entire Team enjoy aiming to achieve high standards and this too is ongoing.
We really do look forward to accommodating you all again and assure you of a warm welcome.

Kind Regards
Eileen and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews