We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed in fairy glen on 20th april for 2 nights i found it a lovely place yet again !! my friend and i were able to walk into newcastle no problem. the b & b itself was lovely we had the upstairs room which showed off a excellent view of the mountains.the bathroom was great and the bed was very comfortable to sleep in.We are thinking about going back in september time i hope teresa and john and doggies have space for us. On a scale of 1 to 10 i would say 10

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie1984059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review we're very happy you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to recommend us in the future, and we hope to see you back again soon
Many thanks again Teresa and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

this is our 2nd time now and wont be our last . difference was we had our two daughters with us a 3year old and 4 month old. teresa & john yet again made us feel at home and catered for the kids excellent . food is 100% the best 2 nites sleep in years ... where the fairyglen is its only 5mins from the beach and few mins from the mourn mountians . i reccommend this place to any 1 or and family . thx again chris n lisa n family

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_lisa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review we're very happy you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to recommend us in the future, and we hope to see you back again soon
Many thanks again Teresa and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is a homely spot, although we did have a few concerns about parking our car on the side road (no off road parking) however our car was fine. Never got to meet the lady of the house however John was very helpful and looked after us very well. Tasty breakfast and bed very comfortable, room was downstairs but we got the room on a web special of £55 and although comfortable as budgets go, the room was a little tired and somewhat grubby in places. However this would not put us off returning to a friendly little spot, with some freshening up has the potential to be a little gem of a place.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room as downstairs was a little noisy. Lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarke4Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Hi just Thanking you for your review .. sorry that you found the room "grubby" that room in question had a new bathroom extension only put on 2 years ago and our rooms are freshened up every winter unfortunately for you that room was used quiet a bit over the winter which in turn prevented us refreshing it up for the new year .. it has however been sorted thanks to your helpful comments.. grouting and paining has finally been done .. so we hope that it meet your expectations in any other future visits .. but i do question your use of the word "grubby " sorry the lady of the house was not around to meet you but she was unwell on that occasion.. and as for the noise i have no idea about that .. we don't use that part of the B&B you were all on your own .. we have no idea where that could of been coming from .. But B&B's as in Hotels can be noisy there's other guests about from time to time .. We apologies if there was a problem you should of contacted us .. and there is also off road parking on request but as u said there's no problem leaving you car on the road we do it all the time , looking forward to your next visit
regards John and Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This B&B is a little gem, the bed was really comfy and the full irish breakfast was great. The spa bath is a lovely addition to the double room since other B&Bs in the area don't provide a bath at all. On top of the facilities, Teresa and John were really welcoming hosts, the location is only minutes from the main street and the price is reasonable. I would recommend to anyone - many thanks!

Room Tip: We were in the double and it had a spa bath, good for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thanks for your lovely review glad you enjoyed your stay :) yep you can't beat the spa baths there a nice extra ... hope to see you's both again soon x
Teresa and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Teresa and John were most welcoming and attentive to our requests, even moving their wi-fi router so that we could get better reception!

My partner has coeliac disease and needs a gluten free diet and Teresa prepared special breakfasts for her that accommodated this.

The surrounding area is lovely and a short walk up to the end of the road leads to one of the routes into the Mourne mountains - they really are just at the end of the road!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for your 10 out 10 review :) much appreciated that you took the time .. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay there was no problem with the gluten free requests, turned out to be less complicated then we thought :) would not have a problem doing it again :)
hope to see you's back with us again soon
Teresa and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Good:
- personal service
- good banter with Teresa and her hubby
- accommodated my continental breakfast request -> excellent!
- central location
- reasonable priced
- very recommendable

Bad:
They should do something about the weather. It was raining on both days of our stay.
I want my money back!! :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely and funny review .... you want your money back because of the weather lol ummm let me think .. sorry did have a word with the Fairies about that they did there best but the Gargoyles kept making it rain ... :0S I'll have a word with them !
sorry about the mix up with the rooms next time the wee man will get his bunk bed :)
It was lovely having you's stay with us
Thanks again Teresa and John :0)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is a most friendly, quiet and comfortable family -run small hotel in a delightful resort. The welcome is very warm and every effort is made to make you feel at home - with superb breakfast to match. Very much recommended and it's in easy walking distance to the sea, shops, bars, restaurants and cafes.
Can't wait to return!
Neil A. from London

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Thanks Neil for your review it's was great having you stay was more like a mini break for us and a real pleasure . Your welcome back anytime :0) x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.8 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#11 of 18 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 18 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast

Property: Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10 Tullybrannigan Road, Newcastle BT33 0DX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairy Glen Luxury bed and breakfast in NewcastleNestled between famous The Mountains 'O' Mourne and the Irish Sea lies the popular Fairy Glen B&B. The Fairy Glen is a mere five minute walk from Newcastle Main Street, sandy beech, promenade and Donard Forest leading into the Mournes, ideal for mountain walkers! The Fairy Glen is also a two minute car drive from the world-renowned Royal County Down Golf Course, a must for all golf enthusiasts.The Fairy Glen is a treat for children and adults alike as Fairies are a feature throughout the house, it is the perfect place to allow you to get away from it all or even ‘go away with the fairies’. All rooms offer tea and coffee facilities and a colour television. Each room has en-suite facilities, both with ensuite facilities where you can lie back and relax in the Jacuzzi bath. Together with an attractive guest lounge, laundry facilities, varied breakfast menu and off road parking, the Fairy Glen is a magical and special place to stay. Come and experience our warm, friendly atmosphere and if you are very lucky you may just see a little fairy for yourself... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing