We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely well run family B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely well run family B&B”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My little girl and I stayed one night and wished we could have stayed longer! Staff were friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean and tidy. Our room had a lovely mountain view, and the bed was very comfortable! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charliebear05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here our first two nights in Ireland. If I been able to, I would have stayed here my entire time in Ireland. We had a rough first day as we had a flat tire an hour after coming into the country. However, John made us feel right at home and very much at ease from the very moment we walked in the door.He was so warm and kind and gave us all sorts of advice on where to eat in town, where to take walks in the mountains, etc.

The room. It was absolutely WONDERFUL. We had a very nice sized bedroom with a very comfy bed and the bathroom was a little slice of heaven after a very stressful and tiring first day, as well as great after a ton of walking the second day. The bathroom had a large jet tub AND a separate shower. Of all the B&B's we stayed in during our trip, not one of them had a bathroom that could come close to competing with this one. lol

We got to meet Teresa the next morning. She is so vibrant and bubbly and fun! It was a joy to go for breakfast and have someone so friendly and fun to greet you.

Then there's the breakfast. The massive, delicious breakfast that had us so full that we weren't even hungry until 8 or 9pm! (we did have a very small snack of some leftover bread from breakfast during the afternoon) I cannot say enough good about this couple and their hospitality and their lovely B&B. It was second to none. I highly, highly recommend you stay with them. :o)

Room Tip: Go to their website and check out the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyric113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Belfast, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We have stayed in Fairyglen a number of times and I have to say Teresa and John always make us feel very welcome and at home! Clean comfortable & spacious rooms and most importantly, close to all amenities - the beach, the Mournes, Tollymore Forest Park, shops, amusements but still quiet enough to recharge batteries!!!
Breakfast is always delicious with lots of choice...the decor is welcoming too! Tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer/iron was available too! There is also a jacuzzi with the upstairs ensuite which is my favourite part.
We have travelled as a couple but Fairyglen is also family friendly. Totally recommend this B&B!! Ten out of ten!!

Room Tip: Upstairs room has a view of the Mournes, book it if scenery is important to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Applepie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was our second stay at the Fairy Glen and as always had a lovely time. Theresa is a fantastic host, quite mad and very funny and welcoming. She even let my daughter out into the garden to visit her newly acquired hens. Breakfast as always delicious. Fairy Glen in a great spot a few minutes walk to the centre, as a bonus we had great weather too. Hopefully booking for another few days next month before school starts. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kittyNewcastle, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thanks Kelly for a great review :) looking forward to seeing you's again in a few weeks :)
Teresa and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

we had a wonderful stay at the fairy glen every1 was lovely and friendly....the main fairy herself was very chatty and bubbley :) room and food was also great...us 3 fairy lovers will defo be back and also telling every1 else to go stay there x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princessshereen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kittyNewcastle, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us a great review :) glad you enjoyed your stay its a good thing when we get to make our guests feel at home if your happy we're happy :)
Thanks again Teresa and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtownards
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight at Fairy Glen and we were made very welcome.Our room was clean, bed was very
comfortable and the house is close to the seafront.Were given a hearty breakfast in the morning and would
recommend Fairy Glen to anyone visiting Newcasle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kittyNewcastle, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Thanks very much for your great review, glad you enjoyed your stay hope to see you back again soon. Feel free to recommend us Teresa and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here three nights. Room and bedding was fresh and clean. Ensuite was lovely with a spa bath. Great electric shower also. Had our dog with us and we were all made very welcome. Breakfast was lovely Teresa and the blackberry home made jam was delicious John. Larry (our dog) misses his bacon in the morning now.

Very relaxing place to stay, well priced and a three minute walk takes you into the centre of Newcastle. I would certainly hope to go back to Fairy Glen again.

Thanks Teresa and John.

Sharon C

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kittytatt2, Owner at Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your great review we're very happy you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to recommend us in the future, and we hope to see you back again soon
Many thanks again Teresa and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
120 reviews
1.4 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#13 of 18 in Newcastle
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 18 in Newcastle
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast

Property: Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10 Tullybrannigan Road, Newcastle BT33 0DX, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairy Glen Luxury bed and breakfast in NewcastleNestled between famous The Mountains 'O' Mourne and the Irish Sea lies the popular Fairy Glen B&B. The Fairy Glen is a mere five minute walk from Newcastle Main Street, sandy beech, promenade and Donard Forest leading into the Mournes, ideal for mountain walkers! The Fairy Glen is also a two minute car drive from the world-renowned Royal County Down Golf Course, a must for all golf enthusiasts.The Fairy Glen is a treat for children and adults alike as Fairies are a feature throughout the house, it is the perfect place to allow you to get away from it all or even ‘go away with the fairies’. All rooms offer tea and coffee facilities and a colour television. Each room has en-suite facilities, both with ensuite facilities where you can lie back and relax in the Jacuzzi bath. Together with an attractive guest lounge, laundry facilities, varied breakfast menu and off road parking, the Fairy Glen is a magical and special place to stay. Come and experience our warm, friendly atmosphere and if you are very lucky you may just see a little fairy for yourself... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairy Glen Bed & Breakfast Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing