We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service, very nice people”
Review of Amble In B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amble In B&B
Ranked #2 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Review Amble Inn

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Amble Inn.

- Large ensuite room, well furnished with massive bed. Neutral and simple style with lots of wood.

- Good facilities: the Wifi was sufficiently fast for streaming TV from the internet, and a flat screen TV was provided. Kettle with teas and cookies, etc.

- New bathroom with a good shower, good ventilation and a window. There was a selection of shower gels provided, which was great for me because it's something I always forget to pack, and is an annoying thing to take through security (the 100ml rule) if you only travel with hand lugage.

- Lots of maps, and practical and historical literature to borrow. The hosts clearly explained the maps, and for a fell runner staying even marked out a route on a plastic overlay.

- Good, strong and plentiful real coffee served at breakfast.

- The breakfast and times where very flexible, with nearly everything sourced locally. I asked for the full works and consequently couldn't eat a lunch.

- The room, house, and bathroom was very clean, tidy and nicely laid out

- Centrally located easy to amble to resturants, shops, beach, etc (pun intended)

- Fair price, great value for money

- The best thing about my stay was the host and hostess, kind, friendly, funny, and genuinely proud and happy to make sure the stay was as pleasant as possible.


I stayed for quite a long break; 5 nights, and it was nice to get to know the host and hostess. When I return, which is a certainty, I'll not only look forward to the excellent service, but also seeing the host and hostess again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamDHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Hi Sam,
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lengthy review for us it. It was great to meet you and we are glad you have good memories of your visit to Newcastle and our little chats after breakfast.
Our books and maps of the mountains and the area are available to all our guests and we are always on hand to explain and give safety advice on the mountains.
It would be lovely to see you again if you make it back to Newcastle, you will be made welcome with some real strong coffee.
Thank you for choosing the Amble in for your short break in Newcastle.
Best regards
Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed at the Amble in for a few nights over Easter.
The place is spotless, & Colm & Frances could not have been more helpfull.
Colm cooked a salmon & scramble egg each morning which was fantastic, & left fresh biscuits in the room each day , which was a nice touch.
Colm has put a lot of thought into what his guests would need / require & it makes the stay very comfortable .
Will defintily return, you won't find any better place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Hi Len and Mary,
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a fantastic review for us it. It was great to meet you and we really enjoyed our little chats after breakfast. It would be lovely to see you again if you make it back this way and maybe get to the top of Slieve Donard this time.
Thank you for choosing the Amble in for your short break in Newcastle.
Best regards
Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The Amble In is a lovely, well-appointed B&B in the centre of Newcastle. We stayed for a week in the Burren room. This double room is a good size, the en-suite is a fully separate room, and the place was spotlessly clean throughout. The bed was comfortable, the shower is good and the storage more than adequate for the walking holiday we had planned. There is a TV with most of the usual channels, and free WiFi in the room. One genius detail I have never seen in a B&B is the sets of towels provided were different colours so it was simple to not get them mixed up.

Breakfast had a good choice of cereal, porridge, a fry or any variation on this. The highlight of the morning was the conversation with proprietors Colm and Frances. Colm entertained us with stories of the local area, and as it was, this knowledge was invaluable for the week.

We stayed during the freak heavy snowfall over Easter. This meant our planned walks on the Mournes weren't possible. However, Colm had excellent alternative suggestions for other places to visit. His extensive knowledge of the routes and roads meant we had a better idea of where we could reach as various roads were still not passable.

As the Amble In is only a few streets back from the main high street, it was simple to pop up there to get sandwiches for lunch (the Cookie Jar is recommended), and finding a venue for dinner was easy enough. We also benefited from Colm and Frances' advice on this.

We still want to walk the Mournes, and hope to return to Newcastle in warmer weather. Frances and Colm made us feel really welcome, and their high standards of hospitality means we'll definitely book in again.

Room Tip: There are three differently sized rooms, check website for details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaiEnOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Hi Jonathan and Kia,
We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lengthy review for us it. It was great to meet you and we really appreciate the repair to our website and enjoyed our little chats after breakfast. It would be lovely to see you again if you make it back to Newcastle and maybe get to climb Slieve Donard this time without the snow.
Thank you for choosing the Amble in for your short break in Newcastle.
Best regards
Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Amble In for 3 nights over the Easter Bank Holiday and we had an absolutely lovely time.

Colm & Frances were fabulous hosts and their knowledge of the local area is second to none so you don't need to worry about knowing where to go or what to do.

Our room was lovely and although it looked that way, in the pictures on the website, it was even better in reality. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of food to suit every taste and really set us up for the day!

Amble In is certainly worth staying in and full of those personal touches that are hard to find in a hotel. Colm & Frances have a business to be proud of, it was a great little find. Thank you :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth8818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review for us, I am so glad you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed Newcastle and the surrounding area.
We are always willing to help our guests and glad you took advantage of our local knowledge.
Thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B for your short break.
Best regards
Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have stayed at the Amble Inn frequently on business trips to the area and we're always made to feel very welcome - the owners go out of their way to make sure you are happy and comfortable. Lovely rooms, comfy beds, great breakfast and set in a wonderful location for walks etc. in the Mournes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Hi Michelle; thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Tripadvisor community following your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you always enjoy your stay at the Amble In B&B and your visits to Newcastle and the Mournes, it is a little regrettable you are always here on business and don’t have the time to explore and enjoy the area.
It is a wonderful endorsement to read that you will return and we look forward to welcoming on your next visit.
Best regards Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed here for two nights in August 2011 and thought it was amazing. Lovely spacious room and great bathroom. Very updated. Owners Colm and his wife were so helpful and accommodating. The perfect hosts! It is centrally located for touring the area with many good restaurants, pubs and shops within walking distance. Had a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review.
We are glad your short break with us was so memorable. It is always both refreshing and encouraging to receive such high commendation as we are a small family run B&B constantly striving towards the highest possible standards. We can recall our chat about Calgary (your home city) when I was there it was but a “village”. I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future, and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B for your short break.
Kindest regards from Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed in early Jan 2013 while in NI to visit relatives. While we wern't able to lodge with family, we found the next best thing at Amble. The overall experience is summed up in the phrase "home from home". We enjoyed a 3 night stay in a spotless and very comfortable room. The highlights were the wonderful breakfasts and the warm, welcoming and helpful hosts, Colm and Frances, who are superb ambassadors for Northern Irish tourism. The local beaches, nature reserves and mountains make Newcastle a uniquely beautiful place to holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Hi Anne; thank you so much for taking the time to review our business.
We are delighted you enjoyed your family break in our Glen room, next time you have to see the spectacular views from the top of Slieve Donard, (it's only 850m high). Our business is built on helpful friendly service and we are so lucky to meet such lovely people in our job! We enjoyed our little chats after breakfast catching up on the good old days and family. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Best regards from Colm and Frances at Amble In B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.2 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#8 of 18 in Newcastle
29 reviews
2 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#17 of 18 in Newcastle
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble In B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble In B&B

Address: 14 Bryansford Gardens, Newcastle BT33 0EQ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: £30 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Amble In you will be assured of a very warm welcome to this recently renovated and beautifully decorated B&B in the heart of Newcastle, just 5 minute walk from the main street, promenade and the Royal County Down golf course. This welcome extends to Hill walkers, golfers and Geochachers, lots of caches in interesting places. Newcastle and surrounding area is steeped in history, 12th and 13th century Anglo-Norman castles, Churches and round Towers, Passage burial caves, Dolmens, Follies, Cashels, Souterrains and The St Patrick's Trail, or ride the last Steam train in County Down all within a 12 mile radius. Historic books and leaflets on the Heritage trail and St Patrick are available from our library. Come on hire a bike and see for yourself. Pick up and drop off service is available to golfers and hill walkers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amble In Hotel Newcastle
Amble In Bed And Breakfast
Amble In B&B Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing