We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Lots of Plusses"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Amble In B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amble In B&B
Ranked #2 of 19 Newcastle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Frankfort, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Lots of Plusses"”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great location for walking downtown and along the promenade; nice, new spacious room; great shower; private; Colm and Frances are friendly and helpful, they feel like friends now. He is native to the area and shared helpful information.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
68
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Amble In in February 2014 and very much enjoyed our stay with Colm and Frances. The bedroom was spotless and warm and comfortable and the breakfast very good. Our hosts were more than helpful and made us feel welcome. We look forward to meeting them both again and staying at their home. We would recommend their bed and breakfast very highly to anyone staying in Newcastle.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathryn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed with Colm and Frances from the 31st January until the 4th Feb 2014 and i must say they are very rare and outstanding couple. Ive stayed in hotels around the world and i must say not one of the hotels could match the relaxed and helpful way Colm and Frances care for the clients.

Would i stay again 100% yes
Would i recommend the stay 100% yes

Many thanks Colm and Frances for your very warm welcome and lovely stay.

Best regards
Michael

Room Tip: there all very nice ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband & i stayed in the Amble In B&B on the 26th October 2013, Colm & Frances where the perfect hosts, They had extensive knowledge of all the activity's that could be done and all the sight seeing area's and different things that we could do, We where made more than welcomed into there home, We had a beautiful clean cosy en-suite room an a very hearty tasty breakfast the following morning, we had a really lovely stay and we enjoyed the company of Colm & Frances they are so down to earth and a pleasure to have met them both,... We would highly recommend this accommodation and we will certainly be returning in the future.
Margaret & Dermot

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent three days in the Amble In and Colm was the perfect host. He had extensive local knowledge and shared it without prompting. He questioned us about our plans and then made suggestions to improve them. The accomidations were excellent as was the breakfast. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaghy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at the Amble Inn for 2 nights this week, along with our 5 year old daughter. I cannot praise their hospitality enough. Their knowledge of the area an willingness to help you find something enjoyable to do was unbelievable. Our daughter warmed to Colm and Frances so much that she wanted to move in! The rooms are of hotel quality in my opinion and I have a lot of experience in this industry. The room was clean, cosy and every little detail has been thought out. Breakfast was gorgeous too. Colm and Frances, it was a real pleasure to meet you both and thank you again for a lovely stay. We hope to see you soon.
Mairead and Gerard

Room Tip: We had a room with a double and single for the child - Shimna Room. It was ideal and has everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairead L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The best accommodation we had in Ireland.my wife and I stayed on 11/8/13. The condition and presentation was outstanding and then to finish the visit you get to enjoy Colm's company which is old fashioned Irish enjoyment.
Thank you so much Colm's for ensuring we had a great stay. The reason of our visit was to play Royal County Downs which was great but not as much fun as Colm.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilK206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 19 in Newcastle
185 reviews
2.0 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#11 of 19 in Newcastle
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 19 in Newcastle
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble In B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble In B&B

Property: Amble In B&B
Address: 14 Bryansford Gardens, Newcastle BT33 0EQ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Amble In you will be assured of a very warm welcome to this recently renovated and beautifully decorated B&B in the heart of Newcastle, just 5 minute walk from the main street, promenade and the Royal County Down golf course. This welcome extends to Hill walkers, golfers and Geochachers, lots of caches in interesting places. Newcastle and surrounding area is steeped in history, 12th and 13th century Anglo-Norman castles, Churches and round Towers, Passage burial caves, Dolmens, Follies, Cashels, Souterrains and The St Patrick's Trail, or ride the last Steam train in County Down all within a 12 mile radius. Historic books and leaflets on the Heritage trail and St Patrick are available from our library. Come on hire a bike and see for yourself. Pick up and drop off service is available to golfers and hill walkers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amble In Hotel Newcastle
Amble In Bed And Breakfast
Amble In B&B Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing