We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!”
Review of Coolgreeney House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coolgreeney House
Ranked #14 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My fiancee and I decided to stay here after some great reviews. It is certainly in an ideal location but we were made to feel out of place as soon as we checked in by the surly attitude of the landlord. We were only staying there for one night and we were excited abotu arranging our wedding plans in Newcastle. We were out and about throughout most of the day and arrived back around 8:30pm. We were as quiet as we could be sneaking upstairs as if we were back living at home with our parents (we are both in our late 30's). We sat having a chat for about 30 minutes about our plans, etc... I then jumped in the shower and almost immediately heard loud persistent thumping on the door. I rushed to the door because my partner was terrified and was greeted by the landlord saying that if we didnt keep the noise down we would be asked to leave. It was only because it was so late at night that I didn't drive the 2 hour journey home. We checked out 1st thing and were so disgusted with the attitude that we refused breakfast and actually went up town to a lovely little cafe to buy one.

I don't know what kind of people stay here but I definitely wouldn't recommend to anyone with children, those who watch television, have conversations...in fact i would 100% advise anyone to stay away from this B&B. I find it very hard to believe were the noisiest/ worse guests this man has ever had in his B&B, in fact we were paranoid that someone was listening outside in the hallway, so we were trying to whisper or keep our voices as low as possible. To top it all off, someone rang the door bell over and over again (which reverberates extremely loudly around the entire house) at around midnight, so we didn't even get a good night's sleep.
NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    12
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have just returned from a lovely weekend at newcastle and a lovely stay at coolgreeny with a warm welcome this is my 2nd time staying here and would definitely return. The breakfasts are delicious the room was perfect. The location was great in the centre from everything and right beside the sea. I would recommend if anyone was wanting to stay in newcastle to stay at coolgreeny

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlene f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We are just back from our 4th visit to Coolgreeny House, we were welcomed back with open arms like long lost friends.
It is always a pleasure staying there with Colleen and Colm they say Ireland is the land of a thousand welcomes,
well you could not be made more welcome to this spotless well ran friendly establisment.

You have a choice of 4 different cereals, fruit,yoghurt toast (2 different types of bread) as well as a perfectly cooked breakfast (also a choice of fry up, scrambled or poached eggs)

I mean what else do you need for a nice break than to be in a clean welcoming B&B such as coolgreeny house is. Colm and Colleen open up their home to become yours for the duration of your stay...

We really can't fault it and wouldn't stay anywhere else other than here.

Loved our stay as usual and looking forward to the next time

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186470Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

When my Daughter & I arrived in Coolgreeny in April we knew we wud love it the room was perfect looking out to the sea. The beds were lovely double for me single for her. Nothing was to much trouble for Colleen or Colm we loved it so much we went back with friends in July & just booked again for August. I cannot rate high enough I wish them all the best xxx

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Lovely location for a bed and breakfast although what let the place down for us was that the overall quality of the beds was extremely poor.Breakfast was also very poor both in relation to what was on offer and the cooked breakfast - --which seemed to be the only thing the hosts where interested in serving --- was fried to within an inch of its life.Sorry,but i doubt very much we would return which is a shame as the setting if very pretty and the location is central to the town and all it has to offer.At the very least we did enjoy the latter.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isobel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Cannot recommend Coolgreeney House enough.

From arrival Colleen is so lovely and welcoming. Rooms are spacious and so clean. On this visit we were lucky to get ground floor and sea view - could not have asked for anymore.

Breakfasts are so good - full cooked breakfast is a must with an option of toast, cereal etc also on offer.

You could not get better location wish as this is on the promenade and only a few minutes walk to the main street.

Defo worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacksBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed at Coolgreeney for one night in June with my grand daughter and aunt. Made to feel very welcome. We had a lovely room with a view of the promenade and the sea. Very clean. Lovely breakfast cooked fresh .Good central location. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 18 in Newcastle
23 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
190 reviews
1.9 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#12 of 18 in Newcastle
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolgreeney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolgreeney House

Property: Coolgreeney House
Address: 11 Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AG, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Coolgreeney House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing