We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another weekend in verys special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“another weekend in verys special place”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just returned from another lovely weekend in Slieve Donard. stayed in resort room which was tastefully and luxuriously furnished, with views of the sea. Breakfast was huge selection, and lots of fresh local produce. Particularly loved fresh orange juice, fresh fruit and porridge, and all the freshly baked breads and jams. Although also hard to resist the cooked food too! Staff very friendly and professional. Special thanks to Maria from housekeeping who went to great efforts to get me a small item I had forgotten, much appreciated. Enjoyed the pool area and the amazing views, although could have done with a bit more lighting in the pool itself.New sculptures in the hotel and grounds were interesting and fun. I think the hotel strikes the perfect mix of luxury, professionalism and friendliness. It is so grand but never stuffy, and is a great example of high standard Northern Irish hospitality.

Room Tip: worth paying for room with a view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snapy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,727
    562
    318
    182
    90
See reviews for
589
1,427
31
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stunning hotel - great food choice between hotel and Percy French located at gate lodge. The spa is truly amazing. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Didn't want to leave the hotel. Will be back soon . Recommend to anyone looking a get Relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykelly40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last weekend, fourth visit to the hotel, it never disappoints. We we upgraded to a superior room as we had informed them that it was our anniversery, all the staff were excellent and very friendly. The weather was horrendous but the spa was an ideal place to while away the hours. Excellent breakfast. Will be back again. Only downside is the price of drink, expensive and they don't stock Guinness !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan1walsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here over christmas. Nice hotel.
Expensive for what it is though. A glass of wine at the bar was GBP12 which is wildly excessive. We asked for a double room but were given two single beds pushed together. Its in the same price bracket as other spa/higher end hotels in Ireland but not the same value really.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife took me away for am evening to celebrate my birthday. She had booked an executive room with sea view which was perfect but bathroom was normal sized. We arrived late afternoon so had a few hours in the pool and jacuzzi. This was lovely and relaxing although there were lots of kids in the pool including a cot at the side of the pool!
We had booked an evening meal as part of the package which was 4 courses and the food and service was brilliant.
We retired to the hotel bar afterwards and there was no music or atmosphere at all. The service provides by the waiters was superb with special mention to Kieran who made great cocktails! If you want a bit of a buzz after a meal on Saturday night maybe head into town or maybe hope the hotel take on board these reviews and maybe get a local band or at the very least put on some background music!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenwjwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Thank you to the staff of the Slieve Donard for the most memorable experience for my family and me on the occasion of my retirement. We had six rooms on the 3rd floor which were superb and I appreciated the personal touch in our room to mark the occasion. Our dinner was delicious with plenty of choice including the additional dish for one family member and the personalised menu was a pleasant surprise. We were enthralled by the outstanding accompaniment provided by the harpist which, for a very musical family such as ours, made a special evening very special. All in all we were delighted with our stay at the Slieve Donard and have agreed that it will be the venue for our 40th wedding anniversary next year.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BandG-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for Christmas and we were really looking forward to it.could not have been more disappointed!! Food was shockingly bad ( stir fry for Christmas day dinner!)the atmosphere was similar to a funeral home,they made no effort to inject any Christmas atmosphere into the place. We paid £400 for a one night stay for a family of four and was promised entertainment as part of the package, well it's safe to say the bingo we were treated to did not live up to our expectations.one miserable game of bingo hardly worth the £400 price we paid. The whole thing was just dreadful.will never be back. It almost wrecked our Christmas day experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AoifeCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
0.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
23.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 18 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Donard Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Donard Resort and Spa

Property: Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Address: Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#1 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Donard Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the Mourne Mountains, the Slieve Donard stands in six acres of private grounds, and is one of Northern Ireland's most popular hotels. The luxurious ESPA Spa commands spectacular panoramic views of the County Down coastline and Mountains of Mourne and provides a perfect oasis of tranquility rivals any spa in Europe today. This superbly maintained Victorian hotel is equally suited to a short break, residential conference or grand event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Slieve Donard Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Donard Newcastle
Donard Hotel Slieve
Donard Hotel Newcastle Slieve
Slieve Donard Hotel Newcastle
Slieve Donard Resort And Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing