We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed on a Friday night for a family gathering. We had a resort double room in the newer spa wing. The room was large with lovely views of the sea and the Mournes. A seating area with a couch and easy chair by the windows gave plenty of room to spread out.The bathroom had twin sinks with an excellent separate shower.
A couple of small annoyances let the room down. The light on the bathroom vanity mirror didn't work, the safe wouldn't lock and the hotel information file was old and tatty with some very out of date information.
My partner had a spa treatment while I relaxed in the pool. The pool has a beautiful outlook over the sea, there are some loungers to relax on and a sauna and steam room - the showers only seem to run (very) cold, when I commented to a member of staff that there seemed to be no hot water he said rather dismissively that ' those are cold showers'. I looked pointedly at the sign that said 'Warm Shower' but that seemed to be lost on him!

We had dinner in the Oak Restaurant, the staff were accommodating and friendly, the food was excellent and a lovely evening was had by our large group.

We went down for breakfast at about 8.45 - there are some notices around the hotel explaining which times are busiest at breakfast so we wanted to avoid those. We were lead straight to a lovely table for 2 by the windows. Breakfast is buffet style, a huge selection of well presented and beautifully cooked items topped off with very good decaf coffee. The Hastings group put an emphasis on locally sourced food, with a booklet on the tables explaining where the food comes from, a nice touch.

We had a lovely night at the Slieve Donard and would definitely return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Neiltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,910 - 1,916 of 3,198 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have been to this hotel countless times and each time we notice improvements. The first major one was a few years ago when they built a new spa/ swimming pool. The 20 mt ? long jacuzzi which looks out over the sea and the Mourne mountains is an experience not to miss. Then they upgraded the main bar area which was long overdue. Over Easter we only stayed the one night for bed and breakfast + evening meal. It wasn't cheap but it was worth every penny. The staff in the main restaurant are a credit to the hotel and the food was delicious.
If you are staying for more than one night I would recommend you try the Italian restaurant a short distance from the hotel on the right going down the Main Street. I would tend to give the Percy French restaurant in the hotel grounds a miss. We always found it disappointing and felt it lacked something we just couldn't put our finger on. It seems to be a Hastings Hotel theme as the Cultra Inn is like the poor relative to the excellent Culloden Hotel near Holywood.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the Mourne mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avid_traveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I recently stayed at this wonderful hotel and had an amazing weekend. The staff are so friendly and helpful and the rooms were spotless. We were looked after so well and the breakfast was to die for. I live and work in London and there's a few hotels here that could learn a lesson from the management at this hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel to all friends and family and colleaguess.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuala H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Have recently returned from a 2 night stay in the lovely Slieve Donard, my first time staying in the resort. Staying at this hotel was more an experience than just a couple of nights in a hotel. the leisure facilities were excellent and the whole ambience of the place just something to be experienced. I have no hesitation in recommending to anyone and will certainly be back myself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amiga426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Second time of staying here. Paid for an upgrade from the basic room to the next room type up. Nice enough room 304 good size room with big bed 2 comfy chairs with table, dressing table with small wardrobe (6 hangers). Great view of the sea and mournes. Nice enough bathroom but shower over bath not separate, awkward towel rail at the end of the bath at head height made it awkward to get out of the bath after showering without hitting head on towel rail,small chip in the enamel of the bath and some bits of grouting needs redone. Also fan in bathroom didn't appear to work and room very warm as no air con. But all in all good hotel and room could maybe replace the 2 armchairs with a small settee. Breakfast quite good but would be nicer if it was served to you rather than self-service but then all hastings hotels are like that. Saying that I would have no hesitation in returning as it is a good hotel with friendly staff in a nice resort with easy access to the Mourne's, tullymore and silent valley etc.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 1STTIMEBERLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Slieve Donard Resort Spa. Very relaxing place to be. Food was great although I found the evening menu not as good as before. The staff were very friendly & so helpful. The bedroom could have done with some paint here & there but apart from that it was good. The only thing that I was disappointed in was all the nude statues that have appeared on the grounds. 1 are 2 would be fine but there must be at least 20, I really feel it takes the look off this 5 star hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mwjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Percy French described the area perfectly as the mountains of Mourne really do sweep down to the sea and provide the perfect backdrop for this lovely hotel. After many visits, the Slieve Donard Hotel is beginning to feel like home from home. Your every wish is anticipated. The bedrooms are very well appointed and the beds are amazing. The dining room has wonderful views of the area and the food is excellent. The staff deserve a mention as nothing was too much trouble for them. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front provide the best views of the mountains and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobiarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
0.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
162 reviews
18.6 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
0.8 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#8 of 18 in Newcastle
30 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Donard Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Donard Resort and Spa

Address: Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#1 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: £116 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Donard Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the Mourne Mountains, the Slieve Donard stands in six acres of private grounds, and is one of Northern Ireland's most popular hotels. The luxurious ESPA Spa commands spectacular panoramic views of the County Down coastline and Mountains of Mourne and provides a perfect oasis of tranquility rivals any spa in Europe today. This superbly maintained Victorian hotel is equally suited to a short break, residential conference or grand event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Slieve Donard Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Donard Newcastle
Donard Hotel Slieve
Donard Hotel Newcastle Slieve
Slieve Donard Hotel Newcastle
Slieve Donard Resort And Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing