We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

If I had the privilege of owning or managing the fabulous Slieve Donard hotel I would be asking WHY 100% client satisfaction or close too is not being achieved. There is obviously problems. With a new manager now installed I was hoping that the problems would be resolved.
I don't care how many courses or years of experience you have within the Hastings a Group. Common sense is required.
Lights not working, toilet seats loose , curtains falling off, broken handles on drawers. Food !!!!!!
Come on folk. Let's make this venue the number 1 in Ireland.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank nmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,935 - 1,941 of 3,246 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner have stayed at the Slieve Donard before. We love it, the spa is amazing, the staff are lovely (even if they can be a little clingy at breakfast), however the fact that there is no free wifi in the rooms is a little ridiculous, the prices charged are huge. It's so commonplace now that I did feel let down given the cost of the stay. Other than this, however, we loved it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank suzanneb396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour group and enjoyed our stay but one aspect needs serious improvement which is the service on evening meals. We were seated and our order taken within 5 minutes but after that it took 45 minutes for our main course which is very unacceptable considering there were only around 40 - 45 people in the restaurant. Would have given 5 but for the bad evening service.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great feedback, we are happy the majority of your stay was dine but we are sorry to hear about the service you experienced whilst dining.

We do apologise for this, the only thing we an suggest if the staff were very busy hence there would be a delay but if you wish to provide us with further details we can look into this for you.
We ensure all feedback is relayed throughout the hotel so each department know how they are performing.

If you wish to provide me with a detailed breakdown on your stay dates etc so I can look into this further please do not hesitate to email me at guestservices@sdh.hastingshotels.com
Thank you very much for your time.

We hope to welcome you back to the Slieve Donard Hotel in the future where we hope we can enlighten you to the service we aim to provide.

King regards,
Berni
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have stayed in this hotels a few times over the past number of years, more recently in May for work. The rooms are always spotless, spacious and beds comfy. We had dinner in the resturant on one evening and cant fault the service or taste, every course was perfect. The only negative I have about this hotel is their price of drinks, they were very overpriced. At £9 for a cocktail of standard size, i think is a bit steep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we only stayed one night but what a fantastic break. we had a family room on the top floor, views amazing. the spa and pool were sensational and the food was great. it is a big hotel so perhaps not as family friendly as say the burrendale, where we have stayed many times, but it was still a fantastic experience and well worth the extra expense. will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Having spent 4 days (3nights) in this 4 star hotel i have to say i was v disappointed by the experience. Everything was ok about the venue but not what i would have expected for the price. Some staff were amazing, friendly, funny & helpful, others it appeared that our being there was an inconvenience to them. Food as well was ok at times other meals werent finished as bland, to be informed by waiting staff that the chef was cooking meat to their own standards was a disappointment to our group as some requested rare others weel done this was than refused. Wont be rushing back. Xx

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior which had more room but also cost more, some rooms had baths others only sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexbear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Alexbear87

Thank you for the great feedback, we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

I am sorry to hear about how you were treated, this is not acceptable and we will ensure the restaurant manager is made aware of this as our customer service standards are very high.

Also I can advise we do offer the option of stating how you would like your meal to be cooked.
We ensure all feedback is relayed throughout the hotel so each department know how they are performing.

If you wish to provide me with a detailed breakdown on your stay dates etc so I can look into this further please do not hesitate to email me at guestservices@sdh.hastingshotels.com
Thank you very much for your time.

King regards,
Berni
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We travelled from Australia just to come here. What a hotel it is, grand splendour at its best.checkin was efficient, room was lovely even though we were at back of hotel. Breakfast is delightful. There was 2weddings last night and what a place for them. We will tell everyone at home to come here.
Then the best part we went to climb the mountain and unfortunately we are not staying tonight.
Love this place and the village of Newcastle

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jenf61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, Guest Relations Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Jenf61,

Thank you for the great feedback, we are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay. I t was a shame it was cut short.

We ensure all feedback is relayed throughout the hotel so each department know how they are performing.

Thank you very much for your time and we hope to see you back in the future.

King regards,
Berni
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
0.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
163 reviews
18.6 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
23.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 47 in Belfast
1,687 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#8 of 18 in Newcastle
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Donard Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Donard Resort and Spa

Address: Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#1 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: £139 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Donard Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the Mourne Mountains, the Slieve Donard stands in six acres of private grounds, and is one of Northern Ireland's most popular hotels. The luxurious ESPA Spa commands spectacular panoramic views of the County Down coastline and Mountains of Mourne and provides a perfect oasis of tranquility rivals any spa in Europe today. This superbly maintained Victorian hotel is equally suited to a short break, residential conference or grand event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Slieve Donard Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Donard Newcastle
Donard Hotel Slieve
Donard Hotel Newcastle Slieve
Slieve Donard Hotel Newcastle
Slieve Donard Resort And Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing