We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Organised! Big room with TV, soft bed!excellent staff and a beautiful view. I stayed with my boyfriend for a overnight and we really enjoyed our time there. Great drinks at the bar. A big swimming pool.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AlessandraAlves2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,805 - 1,811 of 3,127 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

My sister, daughter, her partner my grandson and myself have just spent the most beautiful weekend at this hotel. Everyone went wayout to make sure we had a wonderful relaxing time nothing was a bother. I misled my room card went to reception was greated by a lovely lady Paula who I must say could'nt have been more helpful coupled with her bubbly personality.

My grandson enjoyed is little swim in the pool whilst we adults chilled in the steamroom and sauna. Our whole experience was delightful and we shall be returning soon.

The rooms were excellent we had a nice view of Mourne Golf Club no noise considering there were two weddings at the Hotel during our stay. A last comment but not least the beds are so comfortable a very enjoyable stay throughout for all our party thankyou to all .

C Dickson

.

Room Tip: As I already said in my review our room was facing Mourne Golf Club very quiet and a pleasent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecole7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear ecole7,

Thank you for the great feedback, we are extremely happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay.

That is great to hear that your grandson enjoyed his swim and the rest of the party enjoyed a nice tranquil experience in the steam room.

We are glad Paula was able to assist you with misplacing your card, and we will ensure to let her know your kind feedback.

The beds are a main part of the hotel and we ensure to have the most comfortable beds to ensure our guest experiance a great nights sleep.

You are very welcome and we thank you very much for your time and effort to write this review. And we hope to welcome you back to the Slieve Donard Hotel in the near future.

King regards,
Berni
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just home from a weekend break with my sister, hotel was fantastic, service excellent, in particular Paula at reception...... friendly, helpful lovely person. Rooms were bright and airy, on the downside wifi in bedrooms would be a bonus.Breakfast had an excellent variety of locally sourced produce, however we found getting up earlier to avoid the rush was better for us. Spa and gym facilities are excellent, lovely views overlooking the beach, pure bliss. Gardens are beautifully maintained and a pleasure to walk around in the gorgeous sunshine. I would thoroughly recommend the Slieve Donard and we definitely will be back.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rrudenaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at Slieve Donard for 2 nights last weekend and would rate it 10+ if rating allowed. Absolutely outstanding hotel with the best-ever-team (special mention for Clare Faloona who went above and beyond), they cannot do enough to make guests feel welcome. The rooms, the food, the most comfiest of comfy beds, not to mention the beautiful idyllic setting all made for a truly wonderful and totally relaxing weekend away. Cannot recommend Slieve Donard highly enough. Superb!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear B A,

Thank you for the great feedback, we are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are delighted to hear that you would rate us 10+ if you were allowed. Our staff will be pleased to hear your pleasant remarks and we will ensure to notify Clare and her manager of her hard work and efforts, thanks for bringing this to our attention.

We are delighted with the feedback as we can inform all departments on how they are performing.

We thank you very much for your time. And we hope to welcome you back to the Slieve Donard Hotel in the near future.

King regards,
Berni
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed in a deluxe room on a golfing trip to Royal County Down in June 2014. Beautiful room with an ocean view & comfortable bed. Very friendly & accomodating staff, wonderfull breakfast. Didn't eat dinner in hotel, but charming village of Newcastle is adjacent to hotel with many dining choices. As you can see from my other reviews, I don't hesitate to point out hotel flaws. This is a good one & I would readily return.

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean view suited me very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rbesho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear rbesho,

Thank you for the great feedback, we are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and its surroundings and the lovely town of Newcastle. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we are glad you enjoyed yours.

We are delighted with your feedback as we can inform all departments on how they are performing.

Thank you very much for your time. We hope to welcome you back to the Slieve Donard Hotel in the near future.

King regards,
Berni
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here on a weekend break in June and had a lovely time. The hotel has everything you could wish for and the rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean. The walk in shower was excellent and there was a generous supply of toiletries. The bed was extremely comfortable and I had two great nights sleep! Breakfast was nice with a good variety of choice and the waiting staff were very attentive. In fact the one thing that stands out most from the visit was the standard of customer service as all the staff within the hotel could not have been more friendly, helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Slieve Donard for 2 nights. This hotel is simply amasing. The view from our bedroom was spectacular, bedrooms are spacious with all the confort you are expecting from a 4 star hotel. The staff is nice and very helpful. Breakfast was delicious! More than half of the breakfast offer is locally product!!
The SPA is also one of the main quality of this hotel: Steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, swimming pool. The perfect location to relax with a view on the mountains and the sea.
I definitly recommand this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy a nice and relaxing break from the routine!

Room Tip: I would advise to stay in a resort room, perfect to enjoy the SPA facilities as it is just the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairemoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Clairemoi,

Thank you for the great feedback, we are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are glad you enjoyed the view, nothing better to wake up to in the morning. We try to source most of our foods from local suppliers and businesses in Northern Ireland, so we are glad you enjoyed it!

We are delighted with the feedback as we can inform all departments on how they are performing.

Thank you very much for your time. We hope to welcome you back to the Slieve Donard Hotel in the future.

King regards,
Berni
Guest Services Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
0.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
160 reviews
18.6 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
23.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 45 in Belfast
1,645 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Mourne Lodge
The Mourne Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kilkeel
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Donard Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Donard Resort and Spa

Address: Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newcastle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: £117 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Donard Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the Mourne Mountains, the Slieve Donard stands in six acres of private grounds, and is one of Northern Ireland's most popular hotels. The luxurious ESPA Spa commands spectacular panoramic views of the County Down coastline and Mountains of Mourne and provides a perfect oasis of tranquility rivals any spa in Europe today. This superbly maintained Victorian hotel is equally suited to a short break, residential conference or grand event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Slieve Donard Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Donard Newcastle
Donard Hotel Slieve
Donard Hotel Newcastle Slieve
Slieve Donard Hotel Newcastle
Slieve Donard Resort And Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing