We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in the Slieve Donard in March to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel was impressive in itself, but the location is wonderful. Our room was facing both the sea and the mountains and was very comfortable. A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    561
    318
    182
    89
See reviews for
587
1,425
31
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Slieve Donard is a superb hotel situated in a stunning setting "where the mountains of Mourne sweep down to the sea". The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are of a very high standard and if your lucky enough to have a front facing room, you will have a view to remember. Attention to detail is excellent and the decor exquisite. I had lunch in the Lighthouse Lounge, where food was excellent along with the service and very relaxing. Breakfast is served in the Oak Restaurant and has something for everyone. The spa facilities are excellent with large picture windows which have the backdrop of the mountains and the sea. A divine experience that I want to repeat very soon.

Room Tip: Superior or spa rooms give the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almarbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear almarbelfast,

Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback, and thank you for the great comments.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for noticing our pride in our attention to detail, every little thing counts.

We try to ensure we have something for everyone, especially during Breakfast time and we are glad to see that being noticed. We also source almost everything locally which makes the fantastic comments we get great to hear but not just for ourselves but for the local suppliers also.

Any feedback we get we pass it onto the relevant parties to ensure they are aware of how they are performing, I will be sure to pass your great comments on.

We would like to take this time to thank you for your time and efforts to write this review and for choosing Hastings Hotels.

We hope to wish you back in the future.

King regards,
Berni McCartney
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed for an overnight meeting. Couldn't be better. Would recommend a walk around Newcastle and then a drive through the mountains of Mourne. Coast road is also a nice drive back up to the north. Also good pub in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coleraine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed B & B in early July as we did last year. A superbly relaxing way to kick off the summer. All aspects of our stay were excellent. Staff are very friendly and helpful, accommodation was first class and the breakfasts were the best that we have experienced anywhere. We were in the pool enjoying a swim and the views every day.
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel in the Slieve Martin suite with views of the bay and the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outandabout889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear outandabout889,

Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We are glad you had time to experience our wonderful pool, it and the views make it very relaxing. It is great to hear everything about your stay was first class.

Any feedback we get we pass it onto the relevant parties to ensure they are aware of how they are performing, I will be sure to pass your great comments on.

We would like to take this time to thank you for your time and efforts to write this review and for choosing Hastings Hotels.

We hope to wish you back in the future.

King regards,
Berni McCartney
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Slieve Donard is a top hotel in terms of location, views and amenities. From our very comfortable, and well appointed, room we enjoyed a wonderful vista across the bay. The spa with its massive swimming pool is a major asset to this hotel.

But, a few gripes. Most of the staff were very experienced and helpful, but there were a few younger ones in the bar and restaurant who did not seem to know what was what - they may just be temporary summer staff, in which case I am probably being unfair. The food was promoted as a gourmet meal, it was nice, but only adequate. We had a much better dinner in a local restaurant during our stay.

The biggest gripe, which really annoys me with some of these larger hotels, is the £10 a day charge for wifi in the bedrooms. There is free wifi if you are within twenty feet of the reception area. Worldwide there are hotels and guest houses of varying sizes offering free wifi as standard - and standard now is what should be expected. It is a basic service now, and we insist that our staff, who have to travel extensively, boycott any hotel that does not offer good, and free, wifi. I encourage everyone to report hotels that are still operating in the dark ages, hopefully to get these places to see sense.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was the first time that I had ever been for afternoon tea and it was an amazing experience. The staff were very helpful in providing me with a different sandwich to those on the menu, everything else that came was delicious. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoifec95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and my wife booked us a room in the new Spa wing , the room was very modern clean and had a sitting area and desk. So far so good...unfortunately the wifi was paid for and only free if you are a BTWifi customer, which I am . I was surprised that a 4 star hotel was still charging for internet in NI .

The breakfast was included and was very good with a wide choice and clean whie linen tablecloths and napkins.

Throughout the stay the staff were very helpful and there were plenty of them, this was a real positive.

The big issue was the noise from the room next door where we could hear the TV and the conversations, the new wing clearly had some sound proofing issues which made our nights sleep pretty broken and took away from the experience.

We did complain on checkout and were given a sizeable discount without too much haggling but we'd have preferred to have peace and quiet in the first place....they promised to look into it and blamed an open vent in the aircon......

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Sbz100,

Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback, we are sad to hear you did not get the rest you needed.

I do apologise for this. We are glad to hear the issue was looked into, when an Air Con vent is open it does allow sound to travel through it, hence why you were able to hear everything.

I will pass this onto the relevant parties to ensure this does no occur in the future.

We would like to take this time to thank you for your time and efforts to write this review.

Thank you for choosing Hastings Hotels. We hope to wish you back in the future.

King regards,
Berni McCartney
Guest Services Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
0.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
23.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 18 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Donard Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Donard Resort and Spa

Property: Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Address: Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newcastle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Donard Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the Mourne Mountains, the Slieve Donard stands in six acres of private grounds, and is one of Northern Ireland's most popular hotels. The luxurious ESPA Spa commands spectacular panoramic views of the County Down coastline and Mountains of Mourne and provides a perfect oasis of tranquility rivals any spa in Europe today. This superbly maintained Victorian hotel is equally suited to a short break, residential conference or grand event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Slieve Donard Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Donard Newcastle
Donard Hotel Slieve
Donard Hotel Newcastle Slieve
Slieve Donard Hotel Newcastle
Slieve Donard Resort And Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing